We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well rated”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well rated”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at the hotel Last september upon reading some of the reviews recently I've decided to comment as I normally wouldn't bother. . Firstly we had a lovely stay in the hotel room was clean excellent facilities although we only used the outside pool and staff very helpful, so im wondering why im reading a few bad comments surely the standard hasn't dropped in the last 5 months? Me and my partner can't wait to come back and stay in this lovely hotel . Oh and extra thank you to the omelette chef very chatty and done the best ones I've ever had.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Helene S

Thank you!
Thank you very much for your encouraging comments.
Our aim is to take care of our guests as best we can and as one would expect in a five star hotel and we are very happy to have succeeded and made your stay a lovely one.

Should you need assistance with your future booking, please feel free to contact me directly.
It would be a pleasure to assist you.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,029
    1,053
    272
    79
    52
See reviews for
1,063
2,021
174
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (992)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Excellent location at Portamaso harbour overlooking St Julian's bay, near bus stop for Valetta and hop on/ off buses. amazing sea views from lobby. Great breakfast room with plenty of choice. Executive lounge serves tasty afternoon tea and evening canapes. Own casino next door. Room was lovely, great bathroom, but balcony didn't get any sun, which was disappointing, as sun was in short supply; lovely walk to Sliema along the prom. Next door to the nightlife of Paceville so lots of places to eat and shop. Margo's pizzeria down the road lives up to its promises!

The Blue Elephant Thai restaurant is pricy but worth it for food and ambiance.

Room Tip: ask for balcony that gets some sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMsept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear LMsept,

Thank you for sharing your kind comments about your stay with us,at Hilton Malta. It was a pleasure to read that overall you had a good stay.

We do hope to welcome you back for many more times!
Kind regards

Anne marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I haden't had the highest expectation about my trip to Malta but it turned out to be really good. The hotel helped a lot. Situated in the cosmopolitan St Julian's it is a great hotel, very relaxing, and in close proximity to bars, restaurants etc. recommended since it is fairly affordable for a Hilton chain hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Petefall

Thank you!
We are glad to have met and exceeded your expectations.
Thank you for taking the time to recommend our hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for many more times!
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The junior executive suite was very comfortable with all the amenities. We enjoyed the time we spent here. The breakfast was delicious with omelettes made to order. All the staff was very friendly. And the hotel was extremely well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Roland N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear Roland N,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the month of March 2014. We are very glad that the room and the service provided at the Hilton Malta has met your expectations and do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for many more visits!

Warm regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

A very disappointing 7 night stay in executive room 361 for a special birthday holiday with Sovereign. The hotel public areas are generally good with helpful staff -such as the two lovely people who work in the Executive lounge. The food during our stay was good.
The room we felt was rather ‘tired’ and in all honesty did not match the quality of other 5 star hotels in Europe we have stayed in recently. On the Sunday morning after breakfast our room had been serviced and the bed had not been properly made. We were certain that the bathroom floor had not been cleaned and the toilet floor was wet where the toilet brush stand was located. A quick check of the room revealed that it was not at all clean and a lot of the surfaces were very dusty. I moved the settee and found a ladies bracelet between the settee and the wall- presumably left by a previous occupant. We complained to the Duty Manager who brought a housekeeper to the room. I showed her the state of cleanliness and she then spoke to her colleague in front of us in Maltese -very rude. She asked us what we would like her to do – I thought she might be the one to come up with the suggestions for remedying the issue. Changing rooms was mentioned but the way it was suggested was not in the manner of someone who was trying to build bridges.The room was ‘deep cleaned’ including the replacement of all the curtains. A couple of hours later we were sent a small bag of cookies and a 750ml bottle of water with a note from the Duty Manager saying she hoped all was well! We met with the Sovereign Rep that evening and made a complaint .. The following day after breakfast and following the room being serviced again the Journey Ambassador came to see how things were. She checked the cleanliness of the room and ran her finger across the top of the bathroom door jamb. The result was a large piece of dirt the size nearly of a 20 cent piece being dislodged as per my picture. She then asked us if we could vacate the room so it could be cleaned again!! She intimated that no monetary recompense could be made as we had not booked direct and suggested we might like to have complimentary drinks and eat in any of the hotel restaurants gratis. We pointed out that we didn’t drink a lot and in any event were on half board and at that time were able to eat in any of the restaurants anyway. She told us that we could have a late checkout and I said could we also have wifi in our room for the remaining 24 hours which was done .I have delayed my review pending the outcome of my complaint with Sovereign. There response is: ‘ There is no excuse for poor cleanliness and we have made this point in the strongest terms. Whilst we would emphasise that hotel guests should not have to raise this type of issue, when they become aware of any issue we would expect the hotel management to arrange a resolution without delay and ensure the matter is addressed moving forward. When they became aware of your concerns, the hotel management arranged for a further thorough clean of your room. They also offered an immediate change of room and gestures of goodwill in the form of complimentary wifi and late check-out. We feel this was an appropriate response, however we have asked the hotel management to ensure future guests do not have to raise similar complaint.’
I will let you judge if you feel this is an adequate response for a dirty hotel room in such a prestigious hotel.
The Premier inn we stayed at in Gatwicjk on the way home was far cleaner and smarter than this hotel room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Olliesgrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alastair_morin, Front Office Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Olliesgrandad,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience in our property.

I am delighted to read that you had a nice interaction with our Executive lounge team member during your stay, I will be more than happy to share with them your nice feedback.
Regarding your comment on the room cleanliness, I sincerely regret that we did not live up to our usual high standards on this occasion and apologize for the various inconveniences caused.I am distressed to learn that we did not met your expectations and please be sure that your comments were taken with the utmost concern and will be forwarded to the relevant department.

I look forward to hear from you.

Warm Regards from Malta,

Alastair Morin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a week at this hotel. Although the hotel was clean and plush it lacked a soul. The restaurant for breakfast was large and together with the high ceiling made it very noisy. The breakfast it's self was very varied but sometimes the buffet food could have been warmer. The tea and coffee was never hot so spoilt breakfast. Staff were efficient and cleared tables swiftly. Chefs at egg station very chatty.

Lounge area was a little small and on the chilly side as the doors where forever opening and closing. Not a problem in the summer I guess.

Our room was a good size with a lively view if marina. First evening was noisy as there was a wedding on a verandah and the sound travelled. As there was bars below I think noise would be a problem in summer months. Guests / maids were very thoughtless dragging furniture across the room floors above us. Housekeeping a bit hit and miss. No towels one day, another day no face cloths. Also milk cartons not left one day. If you don't want to be disturbed by maid at 8-30am trying to get into your room to clean make sure you out do not disturb !

Did not eat in any of the restaurant's so can't comment on quality of food served

This area is ok if you want a throbbing resort with lots of bars and loud music. Wouldn't choose personally to stay at this location again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triangle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marika_121, Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear Triangle81,

Thank you for your constructive feedback after your stay with us back in March. We took your comments on board to discuss with the executive team, in order to do our utmost to improve our services.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards

Marika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Very welcoming hotel, especially by front of house staff - very pleasant & we managed an upgrade for just putting our name in the list when we booked - excellent idea! The room was wonderful, sea view & huge! Also kept very nice by Elizabeth - thank you! The only downside was that as hubby was poorly I thought I'd spend some time in the spa - the lady behind the desk was brusque, didn't even look at the bookings & said there was nothing available all weekend before I'd even finished my sentence - definitely needs a lesson in manners - €250 lost by them. Breakfast is fab, so much choice. The steam room helped hubby's cold a little but we didn't stay to swim as there were kiddies classes going on & were going to return after they finished but went to dinner (recommended by reception) at Gululu - FANTASTIC recommendation! Real Maltese food served by lovely staff. the weather was mild, but very very windy & chucked down most of Sunday - we'll be back in the autumn tho just to check out the rest of the island - & hopefully hubby won't be full of cold!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Missy M

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel. I do hope your "hubby" is feeling much better now.

I will be contacting the Spa Manager and will be sharing your comments for his attention and immediate action. Being a Hilton Hotel, customer service should be on our priorty list and am very sorry that your experience in the Spa was not as should be.

We thank you once again and look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon!
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing