We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got to be one of the best hotels in Malta”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Got to be one of the best hotels in Malta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed over Xmas, 7 night break with my wife. The Hilton Malta has nice view over looking the sea and it's an ideal place to shoot a Sunrise. To get a good sunrise view you need to be on the left side of the building facing the sea. So I emailed the hotel to see if could reserve a room to my liking. Got a quick reply from Kirsty informing me they've updated the booking.

The room was great. It had two balconies and was on the best location they could offer me so I was really pleased.

Great location, many restaurants bars to choose from close by. Bus number 12 & 13 goes to Valletta, Five min walk to St Julian's bay. There's a supermarket one min walk from hotel.

We had Xmas buffet lunch and it was very very good. But their daily breakfast wasn't that great.

About the room.
The TV kept resetting going back to channel one which advertised a tour bus operator company probably the hotel has some connection with. It was really annoying.

Tiny shower cubicle (Room 848)

Wife ordered room service twice. First during the day the pizza was well prepared and everything tasted good. So good she ordered the same again on another night. Disappointing the dough was too dry and rocket salad weren't marinated and whole pizza lacking flavor. She complained, that was it.

Free WiFi at the lobby but not enough seating.

Overall we had a pleasant stay. Shame I cannot give five stars for reasons the TV issue and the room service.

Room Tip: Want to see the Sunrise get a room on the left side facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khedara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Khedara

Greetings from Hilton Malta!
Whilst thanking you for the detailed information about your stay with us, at Hilton Malta, may I kindly ask you to accept our sincere apologies with regards to the issues mentioned I can assure you that all of your comments have been thoroughly dealt with at an operational level, None of the situations you describe should have occurred.

Should we have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our hotel, I kindly ask you to contact me prior to your arrival to make sure your stay is flawless.

Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,978
    1,044
    270
    76
    50
See reviews for
1,051
1,987
170
581
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

hotel and staff great nothing was to much trouble, had to pay for wi fi, but overall great place to stay food wonderful, great pools and spa treatments are out of this world, leaving you so relaxed. every thing was spotless where ever you went in the hotel,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear William S

Thank you very much!
Thank you for your kind comments. It is our main priority to offer first class service and we are glad to have succeeded another time.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for many more times!
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We called in to the Hilton on Christmas day, lunch was in full swing, the band was playing and the sun was shining on the Quarterdeck Bar terrace.
We enjoyed some drinks in the QBT, overlooking the marina, soaking up the sun shine - magic !
Then we went through to the lobby bar and enjoyed the Xmas afternoon tea, the usual sandwich selection along with some seasonal sweet treats and a pot of tea.
Tremendous value for 21.50 euro ( normally 16.50 ) for 2 people.
Always enjoy staying or visiting the Hilton - whichever country we are in - Malta Hilton appears to be a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiarainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Kiarainn

Greetings from Hilton Malta!
Thank you very much for your comments. Our food and beverage team join me in thanking you and look forward to have the pleasure to see you again at our hotel.

Kindest regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayshott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Good location. A little faded and impersonal, would not go back but not a disaster. Wke up in the morning and room could be anywhere in the world with ' formula fittings and furniture'. O.K. but not on my main list to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear graham044

I am very sorry to read that we have not lived up to our name and provided you with a great stay! I would be very interested in determining more specifically the nature of your concerns and kindly ask you to contact me on annemarie.scicluna@hilton.com with further details.

I look forward to hear from you.
In the mean time, I wish you a great year ahead!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a week's break over Christmas. In our 50+ years of holidaying we have found that most good hotels can be described as "Great hotel, BUT....".
In the case of the Malta Hilton there are no "buts"! This hotel is not the best hotel in Malta, but in our view - one of the best hotels in Europe, without question!
From the accommodation and excellent food to the cleanliness of all parts of the hotel we were absolutely delighted with all aspects. The Hilton's greatest asset is it's staff, who are invariably efficient, polite, and cope with all their tasks with a smile.
We cannot recommend the Malta Hilton too highly - with the possible exception of the rather high volume of the background music at mealtimes (which we discussed with Yiannis Paraskevas on Saturday morning).
Thank you all for a lovely Christmas.
Kind regards,
George S.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Nigel H

Thank you!
We value greatly such encouraging and complimentary comments! It is always a pleasure when guests take the time to commend and praise our Team.

We wish you a great year ahead and look forward to welcome you at Hilton MALTA for many more times.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here in February for 5 nights 2 years ago. Malta was cold, windy and wet. I needed my winter coat. With the wind came a rough sea, woke up one morning to the waves bashing on the beach. It was too cold to venture into any of the outdoor pools (I recall one being closed).

Had a sea facing American sized twinned bedded room with a balcony - lots of space!

A variety of hotel eateries includes a Blue Elephant Thai restaurant. My first Blue Elephant experience - the food and service left me flat and I love Thai food.

The location is superb for walking to a myriad of other local eateries (fast food chains and lots of Italian Restaurants); the harbour and there is a supermarket about 5 minutes walk away.

The lobby area was always buzzing!

At night you could see the lights of Sicily and ships passing in the distance.
I would go back to this hotel but sadly it is in Malta and I found no appeal in Malta.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunDancerIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear SunDancerIII

Greetings from Hilton Malta!
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. We are very happy to have made your stay a perfect one.

Malta can be a very quiet place in winter but I can assure you that during the summer season it will be "buzzing" like our lobby area.

We wish you a great year ahead and look forward to maybe have the pleasure to welcome you back!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We had Xmas breakfast & a vast continental breakfast on display with a variety to choose from! Was a bit disappointed that in between meals, we had to wait for the cutlery. We didn't expect that service from a 5 star Hotel. Next time will go somewhere else!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray_Zammit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Ray_Zammit

I am very disappointed that overall you feel you would not return to The Hilton Malta.

The detail you commented upon has been brought to the attention of our food and beverage manager as this issue should have been easily dealt with.
Please let me assure you that we are committed to providing the very best of service to our guests and are very sorry not to have succeeded this time again.

I thank you once again for your time and wish you a great year ahead!
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing