We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
derby
Level Contributor
129 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hotel is lovely and worth every penny! The spa is great and the staff are lovely in the bar in the lobby the lady who served us was nice and the cocktail is amazing!!! HIGHWAY TO HEAVEN. The hotel is in a good location and has plenty to do on and off site.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear karry096

Thank you!
It is a pleasure to be compared to heaven. We do our best to offer excellent service and to meet and if possible exceed our guests expectations. We are glad to have succeeded this time round.

We look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back for many more times
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton MAlta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,917
    1,030
    265
    75
    48
See reviews for
1,023
1,961
163
567
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (973)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

On a recent visit during November we had the good fortune to stay at this Hotel. This was our first trip to Malta and this was the ideal location. It is well placed for a good selection of nearby restaurants & shops. There is also a lovely Marina a short walk from the hotel with Bars and Restaurants. There are easy connections to the Airport and Valletta. This is a first class hotel with great facilities. Hotel the staff could not have been more helpful friendly and polite, across all areas.

We were well looked after by everyone. As a diamond member we had access to the lounge where the team were so helpful and ensured our trip was memorable. I would highly recommend an executive room to secure access to the Lounge. We had a lovely room with excellent sea views. The spacious room was immaculately clean, well decorated with the usual high quality bed and bedding.The public areas of the hotel were all of a high standard as was the restaurant and bars.

We are already planning a return visit to further explore this exciting Island

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BS-SGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear BS-SGS

Thank you very very much for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel. It is a pleasure to know that your stay with us was first class.
On behalf of the Hilton Malta team we thank you for your kind comments and look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon.
Do not hesitate to contact me directly, should you need any assistance with your future booking.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I arrived in Malta airport with only one small carry-on luggage, so I decided to take the bus to the hotel. The bus number is X2 and the fare only costs 2.60 Euros and took approximately 45 minutes to arrive. The bus driver was friendly when asked where to get off. He even reminded me that it was my stop. Ross was the bus stop. Walking to the hotel took no more than 5 minutes. This is the exact same bus stop catching the bus back to the airport. Unfortunately, the hotel receptionists told me otherwise which caused me to run around the area expecting the bus to run the opposite side from where I’ve arrived. In fact, it was the same exact stop where I’ve arrived. Good thing there was another friendly public bus service attendant who confirmed the X2 bus goes in a circle back to the airport. Returning to the airport took over 1 hour, so be prepared.
Being a Hilton Diamond member I was directed to check in at the executive lounge for check-in. The lounge has a breathtaking view over the ocean. One great thing about the lounge is that it served variety of great local wines. I was expecting Milanese wine to be fortified but I had some great dry wines during my short, three days on the island.
I was given a room on the 7th floor. Getting to my room on the first attempt was a challenge. Even with exact direction from the receptionist, I doubled backed a couple of times before finding the right direction. The hotel complex is quite large and has a newly build section which my room was located. My review is based on the new room. One could tell that it is quite new because there was still smell of fresh paint in the hallway corridor. The room was fabulous given the view of the ocean and a balcony to sit and relax in. The bed was very comfortable and large. Separately shower and bath was great. Everything about the room was fantastic. The only issue I’ve encountered was I was bothered countless times by someone upstairs wearing high heels constantly clucking on the hard floor. It was very annoying. Otherwise, the room offered everything one would need to relax and enjoy the view. I did not have noise coming from adjacent rooms.
Internet connection was on and off at times. I found early morning the connection speed was much faster and reliable. HDMI connection to the TV is on channel 76. I must have spent a half an hour trying to figure this out. Calling the service hotline didn’t help either. The hotel had a DVD player connected to the tv and if you have your own portable media player the HDMI output channel is only available on channel 76. Input button on the tv and remote does not work.
The outdoor pool area is huge with multiple pools for adults and children. There is also Beach Club which is great place for kids to run around and play with sand. Unfortunately, the outdoor area was completely closed because it only opens during spring and summer seasons. The indoor pool is the only one that is open. There is also sauna and steam room.
Breakfast was great. The hotel offered wide variety of hot and cold food. All western type.
Casino is located next to the hotel. You must bring identification during the first visit. They will offer a card for future visits.
There is a great local supermarket where the bus stop is, also there are plenty of restaurants within the area.
This is a fantastic hotel to stay in during Malta. Booking a club room is highly recommended because you get access to the lounge.

Room Tip: Book a executive room. Ask for a new room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TP2WXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear TP2WXC

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us and pleasue do accept our sincere apologies for the wrong information provided at reception. Your comment has been forwarded to our front office manager who joins me in apologising.

We are very pleased that apart from the issue mentioned above you otherwise had a great stay and look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

The rooms are very very noisy with :
* TV sounds going from one room to another
* tiled floor in the rooms, so noise for every single walk and chair move in the rooms up or besides !

Staff unfriendly

One of my most horrible stay in hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear chris c
I was so sorry to read your review.

I would greatly appreciate if you contact me on annemarie.scicluna@hilton.com as I would like to better understand and address the shortfalls you have mentioned.

Kind Regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

It's a hilton so is situated in a cozy spot off the water. Overall very good but no included wifi this was disappointing for. 21st century 5 star hotel. Otherwise good and one day when we return to Malta I hope to stay again and perhaps try the jet skis they had down at the marina they looked fab!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicktorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Nicktorian

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

The season for jet skis is from June up to September so we look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back at that time of year!

Feel free to contact me directly for any assistance with your future bookings.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippeville, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This Hilton is definitively well located, closed to Peaceville, "The Place" discos and bars, and with a view on Portomaso, with a large choice of restaurant within a walking distance. The hall, the restaurants, the commun parts are surely very well decorated and in accordance with the 5 stars when the rooms are with very different levl of quality, depending of the type (contemporary or classic style) and the location within the hotel. The service is good and professional, trying to meet your needs when it is possible; the restaurants are offering interesting diversified cuisine (Thai, Italian, International), but you can also easily find better opportunities quality/price within a walking distance from the hotel. The Exececutive lounge is proposing pre-dinner free alcoholic drinks (very limited choice!) and appetizers from 06.00 pm till 08.00 pm only and is open to kids...which make the place not so quiet and relaxing than expected.

Room Tip: To ask specifically either for classic or contemporary style, to avoid rooms to much distant from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickDebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear PatrickDebus

Following your recent stay here at Hilton Malta, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to write a review on your stay with us. It is our philosophy to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of service at all times.

Mr PatrickDebus, your comments with regards to service in our Executive lounge have been shared with the respective team.

We thank you once again for communicating your thoughts and do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back many more times.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Lovely hotel. Food, service, room all brilliant although my shower did not work properly!!! Would have benefitted from water machines in the hotel as water in the room very expensive. Confusing trying to find the spa but lovely indoor pool and usual amenities. Short walk into the town and loads of bars, restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms are all nice but you pay more for one with sea view, however the harbour view is stunning and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CP012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Pam C

First of all, I would like to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced in your room. The issue you mentioned with regards to the shower not working, should have been checked thoroughly prior to your arrival and I am so sorry this was not done.
I do hope this incident did not affect your enjoyment of your visit and look forward to welcome you for many more times.
I thank you once again for your time and comments

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing