We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank u all for a fab stay 10 out of 10!!”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 7 nights at one ov the best hotels we hav ever stayed at. The whole Hilton team made us feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Josephine was our housekeeping maid for the week x a special mention to her for her friendly and personal service checking on a daily basis we were ok for everything in our room. We were well and truly wowed by every aspect of our stay and cant wait to visit Malta again. All the team are a true credit to the General Manager...big Thank u Hilton Malta for your hospitality and we would recommend to everyone. You will not be let down!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet_M186410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Janet_M186410

We are humbled by your positive comments. It is such write ups that motive us to strive to do even better.
Your kind comments about Josephine have been duly sent to our human resources and she in turn will be recognised for her excellent work in our “awards for excellence” meeting.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Do not hesitate to contact me directly for any help with future bookings.


Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,305 - 2,311 of 4,821 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

me and my husband and or 2 children went to Malta for a break, one of or friends who lives in Malta recommend the hotel as one of the best in Malta.Me & my husband have stayed in Oberoi hotels in India, and I can say hand on heart Oberoi are better!
upon arrival we waited to be checked in and or bags was taken to our room with the man waiting for a tip! which I think is rude as it makes you feel very uncomfortable, which some 5 star hotels tell you not to tip. and they don't expect it either.
We had an executive suite, which was nice big enough for a 6 yr old and 3 yr old. we had a balconcy which over looked the pool and across to the casino not for away. the view was lovely, down side when you looked down there was a car park which at night on weekend got a bit noisy from merry locals. and also some old boats.we had a super bed. the children's bed was a sofa bed, which was flimsy and had a gap at the sides where springs where dangerous for young children as limbs could quite easily get stuck. so I had to place pillows over them for safety. the room was kept clean and who cleaned or room done a great job considering that children do make a mess!
with 2 children as young as they are you would expect some talking and happiness in a hotel that I must say isn't for children! my children aren't bad well mannered and I am not bad. I am telling the truth!
when the children spoke around the pool laughed or walked, people gave dirty looks. manly older couples.I felt as though we shouldn't be around the children's pool! which had couples around with no children yet it was as though we wasn't supposed to be there. the children's pool is very small! and up to the kids knees! there is also a play area which is sand with a plastic play house and small side, which was Ok. although the sand was like snow grit in England!!
we went to the hotels restaurants which had a vast amount of food. The bottega del vino restaurant had a children's menu was brilliant classics like spongebob pizza, the stuff children from England would eat! and well priced.The others never which is very disapointing as some children won't eat big expensive meals! breakfast in the morning had many variety of breakfasts from pastrys to toast, fruit,omelette made in front of you and you could personalise.one thing there name tags for the hot foods was wrong. still and sparking water mixed up, and sausages my husband doesn't eat pork and they had chicken sausages and it was pork! not good.
The hotels car park is free when vailded by the hotel and is underneath the hotel its self.
had no trouble with parking there dispite being told 1st come 1st served.
there is also a supermarket on level 3 to.
the staff where ok friendly 'good mornings' and 'afternoons' all around although some staff looked as they was forced to be polite.
The indoor pool isn't very big. no lifeguard was around, unsupervised as I asked because there was serveral children bombing in the pool, when there was couples with small babies in the pool. there was signs stating it, but no supervising parents. life guard would be advised!
overal good for couples not familys

Room Tip: rooms on the pool side lose sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear mammakayz

I was so sorry to read your review. We pride ourselves to be a hotel that caters for all types of business.

I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me on Annemarie.scicluna@hilton.com to have a better understanding of the shortfalls you have mentioned.

I thank you once again for your time and look forward to hear from you.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed 4 days.
Changed room given another with a palm tree blocking view. Told hotel full, yeah right ,in November ( didn't appear to be full ) we are blue hilton honours.
Again hotel charging for wifi,this practice has to stop,it is source of much irritation.
Minibar in room is primed to charge if u lift anything. Ie a charge of €25 if u remove stuff to put in ur own, outrageous .
In November , no sun after 3 pm ,as hotel shadow blots out sun. Obviously not hotels fault but be a ware
Now good stuff , excellent facilities, good pools( not heated an freezing) great gym an indoor heated pool,nice public areas. Room comfortable,uk plugs. Staff courteous enough an helpful
Lots of nearby restaurants( recommend the avenue(3 mins walk) ). The sightseeing buses(€17) hop on hop off ,is right outside hilton. Nightclubs cinema 1 5 mins
Overall area is not impressive, rather grotty (apart from adjoining Marina). But then malta is not cotedazure or Amalfi .
But nice break an beats UK in November.

Room Tip: Don't unpack, check what they're giving u first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear DavidL

Thank you for your time. Such criticisms are more than welcome and are accepted in a positive way as they permit us to monitor and so improve the services we provide.

Your feedback with regards to internet and min bar service has been most valuable and will be shared with the respective team.

I fully understand your disappointment with regards to your room allocation.I kindly ask you to contact me directly on annemarie.scicluna@hilton.com as I wish to investigate futher about your experience.

I look forward to hear from your.
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

There are several good things about this hotel such as:

-friendly, professional staff
-location, on local bus route to Valetta, walkable distance to Sliema, plenty of restaurants
-food (only ate at pool and at the bar)
-room and beds, comfortable, nice linen, great views

However the downside is:

-very large and very loud reception and restaurant, not inviting
-only 2 of the 4 outdoor pools open in November and the main pool is in the shade from 2pm, other sunnier pools were closed, nowhere else to enjoy afternoon sun.
-poor spa experience from both of us although we had different therapists
-indoor pool showers are moldy and not very clean
-although the room was nicely tidied the general cleanliness standard was not great

Not terrible but not brilliant either.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeemBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear KeemBay

Following your recent stay here at Hilton Malta, I am extremely sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations

I have shared your remarks with the respective departments for their attention and any action required.

With reference to the pools being closed, our Summer season starts from July and ends in October. Any other additional days are all dependant on weather conditions.

i do hope to have the chance to restore your confidence in us in the near future. Do not hesitate to contact me directly for any assistance should you be returning to Malta.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Wanted to stay at this hotel for many years so we booked on for a couple of days to chill out and relax. It didn't start well when we were given a different room to the one we had booked, so had to return to reception and change rooms. The room was very large and well furnished but the phones didn't work so had to walk down to reception again to report it. We did see rooms been re painted and during most of our time there we could hear furniture been moved around. We did complain to reception and the duty manager but no one admitted what the noise was or even seemed to care. I found the staff not very helpful even though most other reviews say that they are very friendly and helpful. We have travelled around the world and stayed in lots of very good hotels, this one looks very grand but it lacks atmosphere and is very bland. The hotel looks very impressive but our stay was an anti climax and would probably not stay again - still many other hotel in Malta to try out

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear SarahB5


Thank you for taking the time to share your views about your stay with us at Hilton Malta. Monitoring guest comments is vital for our continued success

Dear SarahB5, I would be grateful if you could contact me directly on Annemarie.scicluna@hilton.com as I wish to investigate further with regards to your experiences during your stay in our hotel

I look forward to hear from your good self
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

What a fantastic hotel with excellent rooms, facilities and food but more importantly the friendliest and most helpful staff I have come across in a hotel.Without doubt the best Hilton I have stayed in.The hotel was immaculate and the choice of food and eating places was second to none. Worthy of its five star rating.

Room Tip: Certainly worth paying that little bit extra to have an executive room and the use of the executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dougie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Dougie R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel. It is always a pleasure when guests take the time to commend us.

We look forward to welcome you back very soon!
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

This our 10th stay at Malta Hilton, we wouldn't stay anywhere else on Malta, the Staff are brilliant, all areas of hotel inside and out are excellent, room was as always first class with a great view, two minutes outside the hotel you have a choice of hundreds of quality eateries, we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Geoff H

We are grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us, and delighted that we have evidently managed to make your stays at Hilton Malta memorable. Your comments motivate us to strive to do even better, which we hope you will be able to judge for yourself when you visit us again.

It is gratifying to us that you consider us your home in Malta, and we will do our best to ensure you always feel welcome, comfortable, and cared for when you are here.

Thanks again, and warm regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,049 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,706 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $137 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 413 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivaled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with either a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing