We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the first week in October and we had a fantastic time. The hotel is wonderful, large spacious bedroom with great air conditioning. During our stay we took part in a couple of fitness classes with two of the best fitness instructors I've come across, the living well facilities were a real plus point to our stay. The pool area was lovely and well staffed. Breakfast at the hilton is legendary and did not disappoint, we loved the omelette making. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. I hope we return again soon, I would come just to stay in the peaceful luxury of this hotel.

Room Tip: Watch you don't get locked out of your room on the balcony, if you close the glass doors you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selaronda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear selaronda,

I thank you for the taking the time to share your feedback.

I was glad to read that you had a fantastic stay with us and enjoyed a number of facilities we have to offer.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on Philippa.mifsud@hilton.com for assistance with any future bookings.

Kind Regards

Philippa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,004)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,475 - 2,481 of 5,004 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We experienced 2 nights of pure bliss. It was a much needed break in today's crazy lifestyle. The Service was excellent and so was the room. We were given a King Deluxe Sea view and we were impressed as soon as we walked in. We hardly wanted to get out of there. It wss our little piece of heaven. We had a terrace all around the suite so we could see the beautiful seaview from every room. The room was extremely clean, safe and luxurious. All the staff were so friendly, helpful and professional. Thank you for this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Glorianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Glorianne A,

Thank you for your review.

I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at the Hilton Malta.

We do hope that we would have the pleasure to welcome you back once again for another relaxing holiday.

Warm Regards

Philippa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were staying at the Hilton during a conference that was taking place at the hotel.
Before we booked a room for four nights I read that the Hilton in Malta is the best hotel in town/on the whole island. Sorry, but it is definitely not.
The week before we stayed at the Hilton we were staying at a B&B in the centre of the island of Malta. The difference between those two accommodations couldn't have been bigger!
This hotel isn't charming at all, the atmosphere is cold and anonymous, and the personnel is pretty arrogant. Of course, you're staying at a 5-star hotel, but that doesn't mean that you can't smile if a guest is smiling at you, that you can't be obliging, and especially not that you answer guests' questions in a rude way (I overheard a conversation between another guest and an employee)!
We stayed in very simple up to luxury hotels so far, but if the housekeeping ladies are the friendliest employees in a 5-star hotel there has to be something wrong!

At least the rest was OK: The breakfast was good (although I had better ones at hotels with less stars ...), everything was clean, and you could park your car in the car park for free (but careful: don't get lost there, it's huge! :)).

If you're only looking for a comfortable hotel (the beds are really nice) without atmosphere where the party locations are close-by, the Hilton will be a perfect place for you.
But if you want your stay to be special, if you want something authentic, a home away from home, then better look for a smaller hotel/B&B in one of the lovely old villages ... (or take a look at my other hotel review :))

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haarnasenwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaGhebresselasie, Director of Operations at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear haarnasenwombat,

We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback.

As hoteliers it is our aim to exceed our customers’ expectations and on this occasion it is evident that we have failed to do so. Your detailed comments are greatly appreciated as we can continuously strive to improve on the services we offer to our guests.

I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me on maria.ghebresselasie@hilton.com to better understand the shortfalls you encountered during your stay.

Kind Regards

Maria Ghebresselasie
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed for a week in September and it was a great experience from start to finish.

The staff are attentive, the room (we had an executive room in the new part) was immaculate and well looked after and the facilities are extensive and excellent.

Breakfast was good and had a wide variety to choose from.

If you book an executive room you also get access to the executive lounge for breakfast and pre dinner drinks (which are free) and get great views out over the harbour from the balcony.

The only issue (if you can call it that) is the lack of an immediately accessible sand beach though there are 4 pools and a rocky outcrop (with a huge amount of fish to look at) you can swim off of to compensate. If your craving a beach there are a multitude of AMAZING sandy coves on the north east of the island which shouldn't be missed.

There are also a number of very well reviewed restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, anywhere from about 2 to 20 minutes walk so its ideally located if you want to sample some of the best food and drink the island has to offer.

It aint cheap but as with all things in life you get what you pay for.

If we return we wont be going anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block and book an exclusive room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tombpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Tombpain,

Thank you for your feedback which stimulates and motivates all of us to strive and do even better.

I was delighted to read that you had a hassle free and relaxing stay with us at the Hilton Malta.

Should you require any assistance with any future bookings please do not hesitate to contact me personally on Philippa.mifsud@hilton.com

Kind Regards

Philippa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you love busy airports ,then this is the hotel for you....The lobby at weekends is a hive of activity with hordes of people checking in and out....Service was good but definitely not 5 star....few went the extra mile....felt a bit squashed sitting around the pool ...room not the freshest smelling when I arrived.....Breakfast really top class....

Room Tip: Make sure it's sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaGhebresselasie, Director of Operations at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Stewross,

Thank you for your review.

I would greatly appreciate if you contact me on maria.ghebresselasie@hilton.com as I would like to better understand and address the shortfalls you have mentioned.

Kind Regards

Maria Ghebresselasie
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Whilst the Hilton Malta is a huge architectural monstrosity from the outside (like most high rise hotels in Malta), once inside the hotel is superb. The public rooms, lounges restaurants etc are lovely and the multi swimming pool complex is superb. The staff were uniformly cheerful and helpful. The vast legendary Hilton breakfast lived up to expectations, with just about every type of breakfast food and drink you could wish for, always busy but with very efficient and courteous service.

Our room was a very comfortable standard King Delux on floor three, which is the ground floor for the Oceana restaurant and the pool complex. We faced the marina, but there was in fact very little view from our spacious balcony, being on a relatively low floor and also hampered by the garden plants and hedges directly in front. But not a big deal for us.

We did not take dinner at the Hotel as our appetites could not cope with the five course dinner, at 33Euro plus drinks. On our return in the evening we did however regularly visit the Lobby lounge for a drink, which was very pleasant with the gentle live piano music; on one evening there was an exceptional music treat emanating from the floor of the Oceana restaurant, where a viola player and electronic keyboard accompanied a stylish female singer. She sang a range of lovely songs in French, all of which were unknown to me but were delightful.

All in all, a very pleasant stay and a good base for exploring Malta.

A few tips:
We found the local bus service cheap but horrendously and unsafely overcrowded. The Hop-on Hop -off service was great for a day, much less crowded, and included a wonderful 90 minute Grand Harbour Cruise included in the Euro17 fare; you can of course take the cruise on another day after the bus trip.
The cathedral in Valletta is a must visit and there are several WW2 museums worth a visit. We had a guided tour of the Lascaris War Rooms, where the guide was extremely interesting telling us about the 1942-3 siege and how the war rooms were built and operated; and you can stand in the room where President Eisenhower and General Montgomery directed the invasion of Sicily in 1943 and monitored progress on the giant wall map. The guide also explained to us about the giant "box" of anti aircraft fire that was created by 200 guns around Grand Harbour; afterwards we had to return to the upper Barack gardens overlooking the harbour to imagine what the "box" would have been like.
Mdina in the centre of the island is fantastic, with its narrow alleyways and small piazzas. A ready made film set!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaretandgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear margaretandgraham

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent stay.

I was pleased to read that our Team Members have assisted in ensuring that you had a hassle free stay and that our lavish buffer breakfast was much to your liking.

We do look forward to having you visit with us again at the Hilton Malta in the future.

Kind Regards

Philippa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

9th visit to the hotel in as many years. Staff are great and all are willing to assist with a smile. The Executive lounge can get busy at times.

We have met 3 couples on this visit that all say "having visited Malta many times, there is nothing new to see BUT they come back because of the Hilton" a great recommendation with which I fully agree.

To the Manager - Please congratulate the staff ., Reception, House Keeping and Executive Lounge - all have been Great!!!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear rotherbyboy

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I was delighted to read that once again you have left the hotel, satisfied with the services we offer.

Should you require any assistance with any future reservations please do not hesitate to contact me on Philippa.mifsud@hilton.com.

Kind Regards

Philippa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#6 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $150 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 413 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivaled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with either a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing