We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed for a week in September and it was a great experience from start to finish.

The staff are attentive, the room (we had an executive room in the new part) was immaculate and well looked after and the facilities are extensive and excellent.

Breakfast was good and had a wide variety to choose from.

If you book an executive room you also get access to the executive lounge for breakfast and pre dinner drinks (which are free) and get great views out over the harbour from the balcony.

The only issue (if you can call it that) is the lack of an immediately accessible sand beach though there are 4 pools and a rocky outcrop (with a huge amount of fish to look at) you can swim off of to compensate. If your craving a beach there are a multitude of AMAZING sandy coves on the north east of the island which shouldn't be missed.

There are also a number of very well reviewed restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, anywhere from about 2 to 20 minutes walk so its ideally located if you want to sample some of the best food and drink the island has to offer.

It aint cheap but as with all things in life you get what you pay for.

If we return we wont be going anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block and book an exclusive room if you can.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tombpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Tombpain,

Thank you for your feedback which stimulates and motivates all of us to strive and do even better.

I was delighted to read that you had a hassle free and relaxing stay with us at the Hilton Malta.

Should you require any assistance with any future bookings please do not hesitate to contact me personally on Philippa.mifsud@hilton.com

Kind Regards

Philippa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,760)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Malta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,312 - 2,318 of 4,760 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you love busy airports ,then this is the hotel for you....The lobby at weekends is a hive of activity with hordes of people checking in and out....Service was good but definitely not 5 star....few went the extra mile....felt a bit squashed sitting around the pool ...room not the freshest smelling when I arrived.....Breakfast really top class....

Room Tip: Make sure it's sea view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaGhebresselasie, Director of Operations at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Stewross,

Thank you for your review.

I would greatly appreciate if you contact me on maria.ghebresselasie@hilton.com as I would like to better understand and address the shortfalls you have mentioned.

Kind Regards

Maria Ghebresselasie
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Whilst the Hilton Malta is a huge architectural monstrosity from the outside (like most high rise hotels in Malta), once inside the hotel is superb. The public rooms, lounges restaurants etc are lovely and the multi swimming pool complex is superb. The staff were uniformly cheerful and helpful. The vast legendary Hilton breakfast lived up to expectations, with just about every type of breakfast food and drink you could wish for, always busy but with very efficient and courteous service.

Our room was a very comfortable standard King Delux on floor three, which is the ground floor for the Oceana restaurant and the pool complex. We faced the marina, but there was in fact very little view from our spacious balcony, being on a relatively low floor and also hampered by the garden plants and hedges directly in front. But not a big deal for us.

We did not take dinner at the Hotel as our appetites could not cope with the five course dinner, at 33Euro plus drinks. On our return in the evening we did however regularly visit the Lobby lounge for a drink, which was very pleasant with the gentle live piano music; on one evening there was an exceptional music treat emanating from the floor of the Oceana restaurant, where a viola player and electronic keyboard accompanied a stylish female singer. She sang a range of lovely songs in French, all of which were unknown to me but were delightful.

All in all, a very pleasant stay and a good base for exploring Malta.

A few tips:
We found the local bus service cheap but horrendously and unsafely overcrowded. The Hop-on Hop -off service was great for a day, much less crowded, and included a wonderful 90 minute Grand Harbour Cruise included in the Euro17 fare; you can of course take the cruise on another day after the bus trip.
The cathedral in Valletta is a must visit and there are several WW2 museums worth a visit. We had a guided tour of the Lascaris War Rooms, where the guide was extremely interesting telling us about the 1942-3 siege and how the war rooms were built and operated; and you can stand in the room where President Eisenhower and General Montgomery directed the invasion of Sicily in 1943 and monitored progress on the giant wall map. The guide also explained to us about the giant "box" of anti aircraft fire that was created by 200 guns around Grand Harbour; afterwards we had to return to the upper Barack gardens overlooking the harbour to imagine what the "box" would have been like.
Mdina in the centre of the island is fantastic, with its narrow alleyways and small piazzas. A ready made film set!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaretandgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear margaretandgraham

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent stay.

I was pleased to read that our Team Members have assisted in ensuring that you had a hassle free stay and that our lavish buffer breakfast was much to your liking.

We do look forward to having you visit with us again at the Hilton Malta in the future.

Kind Regards

Philippa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

9th visit to the hotel in as many years. Staff are great and all are willing to assist with a smile. The Executive lounge can get busy at times.

We have met 3 couples on this visit that all say "having visited Malta many times, there is nothing new to see BUT they come back because of the Hilton" a great recommendation with which I fully agree.

To the Manager - Please congratulate the staff ., Reception, House Keeping and Executive Lounge - all have been Great!!!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear rotherbyboy

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I was delighted to read that once again you have left the hotel, satisfied with the services we offer.

Should you require any assistance with any future reservations please do not hesitate to contact me on Philippa.mifsud@hilton.com.

Kind Regards

Philippa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hilton in Malta, our first visit with our 8 month yr old son. The pools were great and there was lots to choose from. The hotel breakfast was fantastic, everything you would like and more... Freshly squeezed orange juice, to full English breakfast and plenty if local food to taste too. The cot in our room was a proper cot, not a travel cot. Very clean. I was ill On the last day of our holiday and the doctor came to our room and gave me the medicine, I didn't even need to go to a chemist. 10/10 much better than the five star phoenicia hotel !!!

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank sarahlowe1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear sarahlowe1982,

We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your review.

I was pleased to read that you and your family have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and I trust that you have fully recovered from your illness.

Kind Regards

Philippa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have always wanted to holiday in Malta and had the opportunity to do so this September. We booked this holiday last October and after reading the reviews from several hotels in St Julian's we chose the Hilton. After reading all the excellent reviews about this hotel I was a little worried that our expectations would not be fulfilled but we need not have worried. This is by far the most beautiful and well organised hotel we have ever stayed in. The room was large , the bed was huge and was kept spotlessly clean throughout our two week stay. Breakfast was fantastic, there is everything you could possibly want to eat, very well organised whatever time you decide to eat.
The Lobby Bar and Quarterdeck bar were a delight to sit in and have a few drinks. Yes the drinks are more expensive than bars and restaurants outside but this is a five star luxury hotel and you do not expect the drinks to be cheap. As has been mentioned from other reviewers the Hilton staff make your stay at this hotel so special. They are courteous, polite and really look as though they enjoy being there. Nothing is too much trouble for them, all of them were fantastic I have never met such lovely,pleasant people.
To round things up this was the best holiday we have ever had, Malta as a destination is beautiful and we will definitely return. Would we return to the Hilton? MOST DEFINATELY. We cannot wait to return.
Thank you to all the wonderful people at the Hilton who made our holiday so special and we hope to see you all again soon.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the Marina which was quiet and the view was lovely from the sixth floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubblyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear bubblyDurham,

Thank you for your fantastic review and kind recommendation.

We are grateful for your comments, which stimulate and motivate all of us to strive and do even better. We are humbled by your remarks and look forward to your next visit, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Should you require any assistance with your reservation please do not hesitate to contact me on Philippa.mifsud@hilton.com

Kind Regards

Philippa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Malta and its the best Hotel The rooms are excellent The pools are wonderful The food and the bars are great I would strongly recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting Malta We will back next year for the Battle of Malta 2014

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Austin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Austin C

Thank you for recommending the Hilton Malta as the place to stay while in Malta.

It is always so satisfying to receive such positive comments, as it inspires us to do even better.

We look forward to welcoming you back at next year’s Battle of Malta event.

Kind Regards

Philippa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,008 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,274 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $119 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing