We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Basfords on honeymoon! An amazing stay! Oh yeah this one is a keeper!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Basfords on honeymoon! An amazing stay! Oh yeah this one is a keeper!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hilton Malta, what can I say this is a wonderful hotel. We stayed a week in Malta from Tuesday 17th September – Tuesday 24th September for our honeymoon and it was a week to remember! The location brill, food stunning particularly the blue elephant restaurant which is a must whether or not staying in the hotel (this is a little gem!), the room was lovely and clean with views of the sunset and sunrises and the pools of which there are four i think! perfect!

They do say it’s the staff that makes a hotel, and this hotel certainly has a plentiful supply of fantastic ones, its lovely to see a smile and no request was ignored. For my honeymoon (my first and only one i hope! i wanted to make it special.....Tanja organised a special treat on arrival with a card signed by all staff congratulating us with roses, etc - which made my new wife cry. Throughout the stay, the Hotel made us feel extra special, for instance, complimentary cake and champagne during a meal. I can't thank them enough.

So thank you Hilton Malta and in the very near future we will be back again! xx Andy & Leanne, Mr & Mrs Basford xx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelHopper_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear HotelHopper_A

Once again congratulations from Hilton Malta, may we wish you a long and happy life together!

It was our pleasure having you with us at the Hilton Malta and be part of such a special celebration.
We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back next year and should you require any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me on philippa.mifsud@hilton.com or anyone of the Team.

Warm Regards

Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,917
    1,030
    265
    75
    48
See reviews for
1,023
1,961
163
567
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (973)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our third stay at this Hotel which we book directly and always have prompt and courteous replies pre arrival.
This time we e-mailed & requested same Executive King Plus room with sea & pool view as last year as we liked it's location & private balcony. (Balcony style does vary throughout the Hotel - some have no shade, some are too open to your neighbours.) This request as met as was our request for an empty mini bar - at a charge of €25. For some reason this meant housekeeping left us with only a couple of glasses and no wine glasses but a corkscrew and ice bucket (ice machine on our floor). Wine & beer glasses were requested & supplied next day, then removed a few days later so requested again - then we hid them in the wardrobe! Supermarket close by for your own supplies of soft drinks, wine, beer etc.
Check in was swift and friendly. No offer of porterage to room. A £500 deposit required for extras - if you exceed this during your stay they contact you requiring more. Deposit for sunbed towels with a ticket provided to acquire them from kiosks.
Plenty of storage space in room but few hangers - again requested more & supplied swiftly.
Room well soundproofed, air - con hit & miss, pillows small & squishy (there is a pillow menu if you want something else at a cost of €3 per night).
No turndown service until bizarrely our last night when we were provided with fresh towels for the morning.
We used the alcoves down at the quiet pool for sunbathing each day which was very peaceful with a nice breeze. Ate lunch at the Merkanti Beach Bar where the staff were young and very personable. Not a huge menu but ok for our needs. Closed at night.
Ate in the Blue Elephant Thai 3 times during our 8 night stay - it is so good!
Also ate a couple of times at the Italian Bottega del Vino which is also good.
Disappointed that the Gazebo Restaurant had already closed for the Winter.
Popped into the Exec Lounge each night for drinks and nibbles between 6 - 8 pm. Bit of a battle for limited outside seating and not quite as good as we remembered it. No Concierge as in previous years either.
All in all a very good break.
5*? Maybe not but could be due to the fact that we went near the end of main season - 18th to 27th Sept.
The staff and location make it.

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newboldbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear newboldbobs,

Thank you for your review.

I was chagrined to read that you encountered some shortfalls during your stay. We shall be taking your comments on board and take the necessary steps to avoid reoccurrence.

The issues aside, I hope and trust that you have had a pleasant stay with us.

Your loyalty to the Hilton Malta is valued, recognized and appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Should you require any assistance with any future bookings please do not hesitate to contact me on Philippa.mifsud@hilton.com

Kind Regards

Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I would just like to say a huge thank you to the Hilton Malta team for an excellent holiday. We celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary whilst there and returned to our room on 2 occasions to find a beautifully decorated plate with 2 slices of delicious chocolate cake and the words Happy Anniversary waiting for us. On arrival, we requested a room change due to a small problem with the room, which was not a problem for the reception staff at all. They couldn't do enough to help and gave us a beautiful marina view room. The staff are always attentative, polite and courteous and nothing is too much trouble.
The egg chef remembered us from the previous year and made a point of welcoming us back which was just lovely. The breakfast staff in general are wonderful and very good at their jobs.
The pool areas are beautiful, well maintained and the perfect place to relax.
Thank you Hilton Malta for a wonderful holiday. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadnams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Jadnams,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent stay.

Our guests are our best advocates and we are glad that we have made your stay a memorable one.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Malta to celebrate such a special occasion.

It would be an honour to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our 12th return visit. The hotel facilities are excellent, the staff friendly and efficient and the hotel is only five minutes walk from St Julian's bay where there are some excellent restaurants. Added to which Malta is an extremely interesting and historic place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Christopher M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

I was pleased to read that once again you have enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Malta.

We truly appreciate your loyalty and patronage towards the Hilton Malta and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Well what can we say. my wife and I stayed here April 11-13 as a little treat for my birthday. On arrival we had been upgraded to a corner suite plus executive lounge access,bed/pillows gave a perfect nights sleep, sea view balcony great! plus fresh fruit in room.
The staff are fantastic nothing is to much trouble all are trained to a very high standard no slopiness at this hotel, congratulations to Clement Hassid on his hotel, reception staff, room attendants,waiting staff .
This is in my top 2 birthdays and we have allready booked for my next birthday.
Well done Hilton Malta.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AWOLSouthWestWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear AWOLSouthWestWales

I was delighted to read that we have contributed to such a special occasion.

We thank you for our generous comments which stimulate us to strive and do even better for our guests.

We look forward to your visit next April. Should you require any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me on Philippa.mifsud@hilton.com

Kind Regards

Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is the 5th time we have been to this hotel and it never fails to impress me and my wife. It's location is superb, the views from the rooms are fantastic. There are good eating options within the hotel especially the Blue Elephant. This is Thai cooking at it's best. A short walk from the hotel you have a range of restaurant's to choose from. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekDDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear DerekDDC

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

I was delighted to read that you had a fantastic stay at The Hilton Malta and enjoyed your dinner at the Blue Elephant.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

There is no doubt that this is a first class hotel with dedicated staff. This was my second stay in 18 months and I could well remember eulogising after my first visit. Unfortunately, this time there had been some staff changes and it was noted that the attention to detail in room cleanliness was marginally lacking. I stayed on the 8th floor and there was a stale smell which could have been alleviated if windows and doors had been left open during cleaning. For three days there was an all-pervading smell of sewers throughout the hotel until complaints were made. My travelling companion became quite unwell during this time. There seemed to be a new custom of a gathering of room maids on the hallway of the 8th floor above the front entrance, sitting on the carpet, chatting and making mobile telephone calls. It would seem more appropriate to engage in this (if necessary) in a staff room.
On the other hand, the food in the restaurant Botega was exceptionally good and the breakfast was as generous and beautifully presented as ever. The chef in charge of cooking the eggs deserves a medal for being so cheerful when dealing with so very many people!
I have no doubt that I shall return to the Hilton Malta and hope that the one or two issues will have been addressed.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marina are quiet with large terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TouagubaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear TouagubaK

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Malta as your holiday destination.

Your detailed comments are greatly appreciated as only through such feedback can we continuously strive to improve on the services we offer to our guests. I have already shared your comments with our Executive Housekeeper so that she can look into the matter further and take the necessary steps to avoid reoccurrence.

Should you require any assistance with your future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on Philippa.mifsud@hilton.com

Kind Regards

Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing