We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here 6th to 9th September 2013 and had a wonderful relaxing weekend break. There is an adults only infinity pool set far enough away from the main pool which was extremely relaxing. All the staff were always very helpful. We ate in the Blue Elephant restaurant situated in the hotel the first evening and had an incredible Thai meal. The hotel is also within walking distance of many shops and restaurants so if you don't have a car it is not a problem. If we had to find a down side, it is that it's a huge hotel that doesn't seem to have any short cuts (you can't get through the hotel on every floor) so to get to breakfast we'd have to walk to one lift go down from 6th to 5th floor, walk along 3 corridors back to main reception then down another floor just to get to the restaurant. So this could pose a problem for disabled guests. We would, however, definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chillaxedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear chillaxedLondon

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback.

I was glad to note that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Malta.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,978
    1,044
    270
    76
    50
See reviews for
1,051
1,987
170
581
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed again at the Hilton with my Sister. We upgraded to an Executive room which was beautiful & spacious. The Executive Lounge was a real treat. The only disappointment was that we had booked gluten free food for my sister in the Exec Lounge & also at teh BBQ - But it wasnt catered for. The food & beverage manager did his best - but we decided to eat elsewhere. Location of the hotel, pools, staff, and the quality of the food is faultless but the lack of gluten free food was a disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morris100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Morris100,

Thank you for your review.

I was chagrined to read of the shortfall you encountered, with the lack of Gluten Free Food available for your sister. I do hope that you would look upon this as an occurrence rather than a normal way of conduct.

I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me on Philippa.mifsud@hilton.com so that I can update your profile for any future bookings and should you require assistance with any bookings please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards

Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights,with family,The room i had overlooking the marina had no shade on the balcony at all it was completly exsposed you couldnt sit on it in the day it was too hot and there is no privacy from rooms on either side,The room was nice and very well cleaned.The breakfast is good but no better then any i have had in any other 5 star hotel and what you would expect for the price,The staff however are outstanding and i would say they are the mainstay of the hotel,The staff at the poolside bar i cant say the same about,twice they had no wine glasse(plastic ones) and wanted us to drink wine from paper cups,even if you were struggling with the parasol you had to ask for help,The food there was really good though.but 15 euro for a smoothie,thats a bit overpriced.There was a man outside the toilets by the pool with a sweeping brush he seemed to be there every time i used the toilet and its a bit offputting,The hotel is stunning to look at in pristine condition,with fantastic views,but if i went there again i would ask for a different room

Room Tip: make sure the room you are booking has shade in the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madison62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear madison62,

We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your detailed review.

Your comments shall be reviewed and address by the respective Heads of Department.

Should you require any assistance with your future bookings please do not hesitate to contact me personally on Philippa.mifsud@hilton.com

Kind regards

Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very happy with overall experience. Best hotel on the Island. International standards. One of the best hotels in the world. The rooms were very well kept, the food at the hotel absolutely amazing. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Will highly recommend. Location is amazing. Truly a gem in the Mediterranean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Germaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Germaine B,

Thank you for your wonderful reveiw.

I was pleased to read that you have had a fantastic stay with us at the Hilton Malta.

Your kind recommendation is greatly appreicated and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Always stay here and never disappointed. From check in to check out it is just a great place to stay in Malta. the rooms are big and the beds are massive and so, so comfortable. Ambience of the whole hotel is just about perfect, great pool and amenities. Well appointed gym, steam and sauna. Breakfast has a fantastic spread. Have only eaten in the evening in The Thai restaurant in the basement which was first class.

Great place to stay fro business

Room Tip: choice of overlooking the bay or the pool - either works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Wayne S

Thank you for your comment.

I was delighted to read that you have enjoyed the facilities the hotel has to offer.

We look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I really don't believe all the reviews on here of this hotel, how can you say it warrants 5 stars, there is no comparison with the UK and USA 5 star rating??? My family and I went here for a week late August 2013. On arrival there is no one to greet you and take you to reception ( should be if it's a 5 star), got a cold drink when we where finally attended to at reception, tthat was nice. It goes down hill from here, went to our room, which was advertised by Travel Republic for the Hilton Malta as a triple room with the second bed being a "proper bed"....... Nope it was a "put you up" bed, every time you wanted to go out on the veranda you had to get across the "put up bed" to get out and hurt yourself for the pleasure of seeing the sea, was like tackling an a assault course! Was very dated, toilet was old and flush didn't work properly, light bulbs where not fully working, complained to the Hilton to be told "we have no such thing as a triple room" .......false advertising, the management of this hotel treated us like 2nd class citizens because we dared to complain! They blame each other, then blame whom you book with.... Hang on these companies are advertising your hotel, don't pass the buck! For then to be told, "we will contact the travel agent you booked with....... Don't hold you're breath, we have been back a month, they just say that to get you off their backs! The Buffett restaurant was monotonous us , same sort of thing every night, we where on Half board and could only eat in this restaurant for our paid board or get 25 quid per person to spend in other restaurants within the hotel....... Well £75 does not go far, why are you not told this before you book?? the good things about this hotels are the pools and the waiting staff, especially in the restaurant, lovely people, they cannot do enough for you. Even under lots of pressure . Well done restaurant staff.

Room Tip: Go for an executive suite, they are newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettyboop1813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaGhebresselasie, Director of Operations at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Bettyboop1813,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your stay. I was sorry to read of the shortfalls that you experienced during your recent visit.

We pride ourselves in exceeding our guest expectations; it is evident that on this occasion we have failed to do so.

I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me personally on maria.ghebresselasie@hitlon.com so that I may be able to look into your booking and investigate the shortfalls that you have mentioned on your review.

Kind Regards

Maria Ghebresselasie
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here. Lovely hotel, staff, very obliging. When I complained to the concierge
that I could faintly hear workmen in the hotel carrying out repairs. He asked me what time my wife and I rose in the morning and they were told to only start work AFTER that time! Do try the Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant right @ the bottom of Hotel, 5* also the massages, out of this world!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 869Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear 869Dave

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent stay.

I was pleased to read that our Team Members have assisted in ensuring that you had a hassle free stay and that the dinner at the Blue Elephant was much to your liking.

We do look forward to having you visit with us again at the Hilton Malta in the future.

Kind Regards

Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing