We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hilton Malta”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
lancs u.k
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hilton Malta”
Reviewed July 6, 2008

After always dreaming about staying at the Hilton in Malta, we were quite dissapointed after arriving to check-in to find that our room was over-booked!! The problem was sorted out by us being transferred to another 5 star hotel for one night.Upon arrival back at the Hilton we found we had been up-graded to an executive suite for the rest of our stay.The rooms were absolutley fantastic,VERY modern and cool.The bathroom was huge,they even provide a plastic duck for the bath!!Housekeeping is impeccable.Restaurant's were very organised and the food out of this world.Pool areas were spotless and the staff very friendly,which goes for all the staff in the hotel,they make you feel very welcome and are obviously trained to a very high standard.The location of the hotel is ideal,central for buses or going for a stroll.Will definatley stay at this hotel again,its worth every penny!!

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff,food,cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Didn't spend long enough there!!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,076
    1,061
    275
    81
    53
See reviews for
1,075
2,048
175
600
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,001)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Just spent a week here, as part of a large family group. A really friendly, comfortable and welcoming hotel. The staff were charming and always helpful. The rooms are large, with excellent airconditioning. The beds are also huge and very comfortable - they could do with better pillows though. That however is the only half bad thing I could say. The restaurants were all good, particularly the Italian. The best value food is the "bar snacks" in the Quarterdeck Bar. The pools were great for everybody, no unneccessary rules, and all users seemed very polite and considerate. Thre was a good mix of nationalities. All in all we would happily go back.

  • Liked — Large, very comfortable room.
  • Disliked — The pillows!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank roland martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Booked through Malta Direct, who gave a very good service. Loved the Hotel and staff were excellent. Room was on 8th (843)floor with sea/pool view, with everything you need. Was impressed until that evening (Saturday) and the wedding reception took place right outside our room. Checked with reception and was assured that it would finish at midnight. We arrived back at our room to find a band had set up and were playing amplified music with speakers pointing at the Hotel bedrooms. By 1.30 I was about ready to take matters in to my own hands as the hotel did nothing about our complaint. Obviously others were complaining as it was switched off. Next morning it was obvious that others had also suffered. We were then subjected to corporate functions every evening that would take over large parts of the Hotel and be given priority over other guests.
Renovation work is still going on and from 8am you hear bangs and drills from the rear of the hotel. This would be tolerable had you not been kept awake by the wedding the night before.
We had weddings on both Friday and Saturday each week
Would I go back? NEVER. I feel that the holiday guests are the second class citizens and are to be tolerated as they fill the rooms. We have stayed in top class hotels around the world and this was the worst experience of them all.
Best Thing? Good aircon!

  • Liked — friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Noise at night
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 1dogman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

Yes, this is as good as the other reviews say. This was our first visit to Malta and it won't be the last.
The hotel location just away from busy Paceville and the busy main road is ideal. The sea views are fantastic. The service was very effiicient and friendly. The rooms very comfortable and large but perhaps a little dated and faded and in need of upgrading to be true 5* standard. (A new extension has just been completed so these rooms will of better standard).
Bus stops very close by mean getting about is easy and cheap but not necessarily comfortable.
Had no problems getting sunbeds even though hotel was full. No bed bagging at beginning of June. Weekends tended to be very busy around the pool.The pool staff were most helpful, I am sure they could sort out a sunbed if all were full. The sea view rooms experience noise in the evenings from weddings and conference open air eating in the grounds.( I would still book a seaview though). The marina views would be quieter but not as stunning. The fish buffet on Saturdays is good but don't expect lobster and book if you are not on half board as it gets busy.
Lots of restaurants within 5 mins walk from basic italian In-Roka for excellent pasta/ pizza to top quality cuisine at Baracuda and Zeris. Concierge recommended Buffalo Bills for steak and it was good steak but the service and setting not that wonderful.
I would definately stay here again as I think it has the best location. The Dragonara is that bit further out and nearer Paceville, the Intercontinental whilst a nice hotel is in a rather seedy area of Paceville.

  • Liked — Location/service/food
  • Disliked — The room was not really 5* standard
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sucal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2008

This was our fourth visit to the Hilton Malta and the hotel remains one of our favourite destinations for a long weekend.

We stayed in an executive plus room in the recently opened extension to the hotel. The rooms are very modern and well furnished with fantastic bathrooms, balcony and sea views.

The executive lounge in the hotel is located on the 9th floor with stunning sea views which makes breakfast in the sun or evening drinks that bit more special.

One reason why we like the hotel so much is the abundance of sunbeds round the hotels 4 swimming pools. It is nice not to have to get up a the crack of dawn to guarantee a place in the sun.

On each visit we look forward to eating at the Blue Elephant restaurant which is located in the hotel. The Thai food did not disappoint.

The hotel is next to the Portamaso marina and apartment complex which has a number of restaurants and cafes (including Italian, Chinese, Steakhouse, Japanese) if you fancy a change from eating in the hotel.

Taxis to and from the airport cost about 20 Euro and take 20-30mins which makes transfers no hassle at all.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MattJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

this was our second time to the Hilton in Malta and once again it lived up to its five stars. The staff are still the same. Courteous and welcoming. The food is superb and the hotel is spotless. Sometimes when you return to a hotel it is not quite as good as the first time. Well this was not the case here.

I would highly recomend this hotel

  • Liked — the indoor pool
  • Disliked — the lunchtime menu at the pool.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sscottishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2008

The Hilton is set in a fab location and it's a beautiful 5* hotel but it does let itself down slightly on a few things. Let me start with the rooms, we stayed on the 6th floor, had a great view of the marina, had a larger than average balcony, great size room but I felt as if the soft furnishings could be a little more upmarket for a 5* hotel (usual blue and yellow bedspreads!), the bathroom was a good size but I didn't feel it was 5*. (we previously stayed at the Intercontinental which in my opinion is a better hotel). The breakfast was very nice indeed, plenty of choice, however, the table presentation was not 5* standard (place mats, mugs and paper napkins). We ordered sandwiches for lunch a couple of times which were tasty but were served in a plastic box, ok for round the pool but not when we sat at a table at the Mekhani beach club! Don't get me wrong this is a lovely lovely hotel and the location couldn't be better, the staff are very very helpful and really very nice people but I feel that when you stay in a 5* hotel you want those little extras that make it a bit special. I would stay at this hotel again but if I had to pick between the Hilton and the Intercontinental in St Julians I'd probably opt for the latter.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — table presentation
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,875 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing