We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty perfect ..........but !”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pretty perfect ..........but !”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Our 2nd short break at this lovely hotel for a relaxing three nights.
We find this hotel has everything we need on tap.
Our 'BUT' , which was raised AGAIN with the management , was the unacceptable complete closure for the whole day, of their main relaxation adult pool by the sea.
This was due to a private , very noisy , party hiring the whole area.
This also happened twice last year , in a three night stay , and meant that this pool was closed to hotel guests at 3pm.
Whilst there is an alternative adult pool ( over 16,s but often ignored ! ) by the hotel , this is a squashed area with little or no pool service, especially compared with the excellent service at the other larger pool mentioned.
If the readers of this 'gripe' have not been to this hotel then I would like to mention that access to the sea for swimming is very tricky and nigh on impossible if it's wavy. Hence the dependence on finding a quieter pool option.
We would like to consider returning to this hotel again in September this year , for another short break , but we will be confirming 'the pool ' is open first !!
This hotel has a wonderful dual aspect with either a sea or a fancy private marina view.
Lovely restaurants with the excellent ' blue elephant ' Thai sister restaurant from London overlooking the marina.
There is also a wonderful 5th floor bar overlooking the marina.
In summary , this is a lovely hotel and we recommend it highly. It's very child friendly but we would like some more consideration for hotel guests travelling without them and looking for relaxation.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robertlintott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaGhebresselasie, Director of Operations at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Robertlintott

I was disappointed to read that the closure of the pool area disrupted your stay.

Please do contact me directly on maria.ghebresselasie@hilton.com as I would like to discuss further the comments you have raised and assist you with your booking in September.

Kind Regards

Maria Ghebresselasie
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,075
    1,061
    275
    81
    53
See reviews for
1,075
2,047
175
600
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,001)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Had a fantastic week at the Hilton Malta. Being off season the weather wasn't too great but pleasant enough for someone from Scotland!

The staff are what really make this property. They took time out to help in any way possible and were just fantastic with my daughter.

We were upgraded to a suite and got the perks of the executive lounge with this so that was a bonus. Also used the Spa and the treatments were great and reasonably priced for a 5 star hotel.

Would not heisitate to stay again when I am next in Malta.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belafonte04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Belafonte04

Thank you for your wonderful review.

It is always a pleasure to note that Team Members have gone out of their way to ensure that you have a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Malta Hilton is a fantastic hotel with friendly and attentive staff in a great position for the restaurants in Spinola Bay, the nightlife if you or the youngers are inclined in Pacceville and for Sliema and Valletta and Malta generally. The 4 pools provide facilities for all. Not cheap, but for the quality of the hotel not expensive either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

We greatly appreciate your feedback.

It is with pleasure that we thank you for your comments and do hope that we would have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Malta

Kind Regards

Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I arrived back this evening from a two week stay in the Hilton Hotel Malta.We often stay in nice hotels so expect a certain level of service. I have to say that we have been treated like Royalty, from the general cleaners upto the the management.
I would need pages & pages to thank all of the staff.

A few I would like to thank are: Dennis (concierge) Janet (house supervisor) & a great big thank you to young Clint (Restaurant & pool waiter) great character.
However, these are only a sample of people who made our stay absolutely fabulous.
Our room overlooked the Marina, incredible!!
We later found out that the Portomaso area is an exclusive part of Malta with many celebrities & sportsmen & women owning properties in the area.
My wife & I came to the same conclusion that the hotel policy is to make the guest feel welcome at all times, but the staff actually are genuine in their attitude & friendliness.
Some reviews mention prices in the bars & restaurants,however I think that you must remember you are in a 5 star hotel.
We will certainly be returning to the Hilton Malta.

Well done to the whole team.

Room Tip: Best room 505, overlooking the Marina with large terrace! super!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chunky310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear chunky310

I was thrilled to read your review.

Thank you for all your wonderful comments; it is a pleasure to read that a number of Team Members have contributed to your exceptional stay.

Please do contact me if you ever require any assistance with your reservation. I may be contacted on Philippa.mifsud@hilton.com.

Kind Regards

Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Thai hotel shouts luxury, amazing service, fancy dining, lovely spa, hair dressers, food, central area and rooms.
We have stayed here many times now, in normal rooms which are good and suites which are amazing, we had one that was like an apartment from cribs.
The Hilton brand differs for country to country but this one is just out of this world. A real treat and a place we will return to over and over.

Room Tip: Suites are amazing here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Jane L

I was delighted to read that once again you have enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Malta.

On behalf of Hilton Malta, thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for assistance on Philippa.mifsud@hilton.com

Kind Regards
Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Lovely hotel. got a glass of juice as soon as we checked in which was very nice. got upgraded which was better. excellent service. breakfasts were amazing, soo much to choose from. the concierge was very good and very helpful. our room was cosy, large and well stocked.

We ate in the thai restaurant one night and the food wasnt great and i got a discount because of this. overall an excellent hilton and i will definately go back.

my other half loved it too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Habib R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Habib R

Thank you for your recommendation.

I was delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the facilities which the hotel has to offer.

In the eventuality of any future visits please do not hesitate to contact me directly on Philippa.mifsud@hitlon.com as I would be delighted to make the necessary arrangements for your reservation.

Kind Regards

Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aosta, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Went there for a couple of drinks before dinner - really nice to seat outside with the view on the inner marina!
Very convenient location, it is in Paceville, but it looks like being far away from it - it is quiet, romantic, relaxing.
Prices are fine, not more expensive than in Sliema.
Staff is nice and take care of you.
Will definitively go back there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anninafe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear anninafe82

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your drinks at our bar overlooking the Marina.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,873 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing