We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Beautiful place. Very nice upmarket hotel. Close to all the restaurants and nightlife in Malta. Nice swimming pool. Very nice breakfast. Great staff who make you feel very welcome. I also liked the fact that parking was for free, which makes the stay so much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seat_0A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Seat 0A

Thank you very much .
It is our aim, as team members who work at the Hilton Malta, to make the guests welcome and to make them feel as if they were "home away from home".

We look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back,
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,966)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,770 - 2,776 of 4,966 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

This has been the best Hilton hotel I have stayed in ever! So grand from the outside and in, definitely one of the best in Malta. Staff were very friendly and facilities were 5 star. Pool area and spa were beautiful and clean. The hotel has everything you wouldn't need to leave it if you didn't want to. The only down side was the walls are really thin and there is so much noise at night from above, below, outside, hallway etc....we had to complain on 3 occasions because of noise disturbances during the night, but reception resolved this very quickly. We would definitely come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: It might be worth asking for a room on the higher levels to decrease your chances of a noisy night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Priya k

Good Morning and thank you very much for your kind comments. We look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back.

With regards to the "thin walls" all necessary action / changes is being done to minimise any noise disturbance to our in house clients. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention. Rest assured that this will not go unnoticed.

Thank you again.
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

All the staff were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed beautiful sea views from our room. The ensuite in room 954 is a dream, you can actually have a nice bath and look at the view of the Mediterranean sea. So relaxing. We went there for my birthday and I can say it was the best birthday ever. Thanks to hilton.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrabianca21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Petrabianca21

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are very glad to have contributed and made your birthday, one to remember.

We look forward to welcome you back.
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is rather a large one, overlooking the sea. It has a nice outside swimming pool and access to the sea. It has probably being built in the 80s and would need a refit. You have large breakfast room with a nice buffet. Often used for conference and convention. You are next to the Casino, which might be appealing for game lovers. Rooms are OK, furniture would need to be changed. In summary a normal 4 star property without any particular charm.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room (for a premium)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baodai999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Baodai999

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel.

The Hilton Malta was in fact rebuilt in the year 2000. It caters for both leisure and business clients (depending on the season). It has 404 rooms. Some are decorated in the classic mediterranean syle while others have a more contemporary modern decor.

Thank you again for your write up.
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The public areas look all very impressive but we were less impressed with our room. The first room we were allocated stank of cigarette smoke. The housekeeping staff must have noticed this but did nothing about it. When we complained at reception we were told that it could not be cigarette smoke as the Hilton was a non-smoking hotel! Anyway the second room we were given was better but was spoiled by several minor faults that again must have been noticed by housekeeping staff but had not been rectified. This is not the way things should be in a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear John A

We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share these detailed observations with us. After all it is only through such criticism that we are able to monitor and so improve the services we provide to our guests.

I have taken the liberty to forward your comment to our Executive Housekeeper for her attention.
Rest assured that this kind of attitude, the "laissez Faire" attitude is not normal practice of our hotel.

We thank you again and we do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back a second time round to make up for your first experience with us at The Hilton Malta

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Having spent six night here during March, I have few complaints about the property and the restaurants.

I was fortunate enough to be upgraded to a lovely room on the 11th floor overlooking the sea and I am very grateful. The exec lounge was comfortable and the Canapés and drinks on offer were first class.

We ate in one restaurant twice and the food was superb, as was the breakfast buffet (although it was not really hot).

The property was first class as was the service overall, one minor issue was the fact that there was no turn down service in the evening, perhaps this is because the Island has water challenges, but it would have been nice to have dry towels available in the morning after showering in the evening.

My serious complaint is the fact that having paid in advance, the front desk charged me again on arrival (I only found this out when checking my Amex statement). The hotel dealt with it efficiently and promptly by refunding the amount straight away. However, Amex charge transaction fees for exchange rate transactions and the debit and the subsequent credit have cost me almost £50. Something that the hotel have not dealt with efficiently or to my satisfaction, which is a real shame. So anyone who has paid for their room in advance beware.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notrevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Mr notrevo,

We value greatly such encouraging and complimentary comments, which allow us to focus on the important issues of guest service and personal attention.
I would like to apologise for the inconvenience in regards to the double payment . I have asked that careful and detailed retraining take place for all the Front Office staff in order to avoid any repeat of the incident you experienced.

We look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The rooms are not sound isolated: it´s possible to hear noise from the room side, the top, the corridor... The rooms are not suficient light isolated: at the first morning light, the room gets illuminated. The beds aren't good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AG1B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear AG1B

Thank you for your comments. We are extremely sorry you were disturbed by noise and we appreciated it that you brought this matter to my attention. It would help if you could contact me directly on annemarie.scicluna@hilton.com to provide us with more information about the noise disturbance i.e. noisy neighbours, sounds coming from any machinery etc.

I look forward to hear from your good self.
Kind regards


Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,036 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $146 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 413 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivaled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with either a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing