We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Holiday Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Holiday Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was our fifth visit. A superb five star hotel with staff happy to help we had impeccable service & fantastic experience as usual. We had our usual suite with a balcony and spectacular ocean views with all amenities. Large pools are well maintained. Breakfast is an experience especially with a table outside in warm weather. The contemporary part is spacious with an open bright design. The hotel has many high quality restaurants.
Our only issue is noise (on occasions horrendous) from weddings, discos and meeting functions. The hotel has a maximum decibel noise level. Anne Marie Scicluna, Guest Relations Manager and Matthias Welzel Operations Manager made our stay enjoyable. Thank you.
We will certainly visit again next September and in the future hope to get the wider family.

Room Tip: 1. Choose a high floor to enjoy the views 2. Complain about excessive noise if need be
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Said M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Said M.

Thank you!
Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am glad that I was of service to you. I look forward to welcome you for your sixth visit. Should you need anything prior to your arrival, please feel free to contact me directly on annemarie.scicluna@hilton.com

With regards to the noise issue, discussions for the next summer season are ongoing and we are planning to change / relocate the place of such functions. On the other hand, we always try our best to keep the noise at a minimal level but if there is room for imporvement, we will act accordingly to make sure that our in house guests are not disturbed.

Thank you again and see you soon!
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,978
    1,044
    270
    76
    50
See reviews for
1,051
1,987
170
581
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Catania, Sicilia, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Pretty much everything you expect from a Hilton. Attentive staff, outstanding ammenities, nice decor. We visited in JAN so weren't able to take advantage of the lovely pools - but can definitely see how nice these will be in the summer. The breakfasts were outstanding, we also ate at the hotel restaurants Bottega del Vino and The Blue Elephant. The Blue Elephant was especially nice. We took advantage of the heated indoor pool and sauna. There is also a spa and large workout center with classes available. Our balcony had a gorgeous ocean view. Well situated so that one can walk anywhere in St. Julians. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. The only negatives were the room had the worst bed pillows ever and my personal opinion that if you pay to stay at the Hilton you really ought to have free WiFi in your room. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Joseph T

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. We look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back in summer.

Your comments with regards to the pillows have been noted and were shared with our Executive hoursekeeper for any improvement needed.

Thank you again!
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had an amazing stay this past February. While it wasn't warm enough to swim, we enjoyed the indoor pool. It was great that they offered "kid free" hours so that I could go and swim laps easily (it's an 18 m pool which while not 25 is still long for an indoor hotel pool!) All the gym facilities and classes are free to guests, so bring your exercise kit! Service was friendly and helpful from the cleaning service to the concierge. I left my guide book at the lobby bar and the waiter figured out my room number and left the book at the front desk for me. I noticed only two downsides. 1. Since the floors of the hotel rooms are tiled (nice and cool on the feet) you often hear the people walking in the room above you. 2. The carpets are beginning to show their age in the hallways.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Traveling_Emily.

Thank you so much for your comments.
We do hope to welcome you during the summer period where you can enjoy our outdoor facilities also.

On another note, your comments with regards to "soundproofing" in rooms have been forwarded to the respective department for any necessary improvement.

Hope to see you again!
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently spent a week at the Hilton Malta in St Julian's and loved it, We had a lovely large suite with amazing views over the harbour. We also had access to the private lounge which included breakfast and afternoon sandwiches, well worth the extra cost. Lovely service, extremely friendly, we did have one small problem with the room, which was rectified within 10 minutes and by way of apology we were given a free meal for the Blue Elephant. I always find it's not so much the problems you may experience at these hotels but rather the way in which they are dealt that make all the difference.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zhark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear zhark

Thank you for your write up.

As you said in your comments, we do our best to live up to the guest's expectations but on few occasions some issues do occur.
We do hope, however, that our response to your issue has been a quick one and that it did it restored your faith in our hotel.

We look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the very near future.
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip but would love to return for leisure. Fabulous hotel worthy of a full 5 stars, the setting is gorgeous, facilities are immaculate and staff are welcoming and happy to help with any request, particularly staff on the front desk and concierge services. Impeccable service and I rarely see that anymore in travel. Had a large room overlooking the ocean with a balcony and all amenities, needless to say the view was spectacular and worth every Euro cent. Huge bedroom with sitting area, large bathroom, good air conditioning/heating system, very comfortable and clean. Large pool area overlooking the ocean and separate gym/health club all well-maintained. Buffet breakfast ample, worth having at least once if not included in your rate, try to get a table outside in warm weather or sun. Easily the best hotel on Malta and worth a splurge.

Room Tip: A higher-floor, oceanview room will be one of the most beautiful views from a hotel room you will ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Sarastravels

THANK YOU!

Thank you so much for your comments on our hotel. It is an honour for us to read such.
Our aim is to offer immaculate service (with a smile).

We look forward to welcome you back for your next trip, holiday or leisure.
Should you need any help prior to booking or would need any more information about our hotel, do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed four nights during the 'winter' season - a lovely escape from the cold with beautiful weather. Staff were generally pleasant - all were polite, some quite friendly. However, one big prerequisite for hotels for me is that they are clean... the room (bed) itself was clean but the bathroom... well, we were unimpressed. We actually went out to buy cleaning products.

We also ate a couple of times at the Blue Elephant, lounge, bar etc. Overall we enjoyed the food / drinks, bar one occasion. We ordered a club sandwich which came out with accompaniments (tomato sauce and mayonnaise) that looked like they were… reused. Needless to say, we didn’t touch the sauces…

I suspect this lack of… attention to details? may be due to the time of year (off-season, perhaps understaffed, or temporary staff?) but I would not choose to return to this hotel again – especially if in summer it costs three times the amount.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FMEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear FMEdwards

Thank you for your comments.

I am very concerned with regards to the cleanliness issue. There can be no excuse for poor cleanliness and I am sorry your room was not in perfect condition as is our standard. This matter will be reviewed by our Head Housekeeper and her team.

Should you wish to contact me directly to discuss the matter further, do not hesitate to do so on annemarie.scicluna@hilton.com

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
188 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Last weekend I made a return long weekend trip to the Island of Malta, and was happy to get a great deal at the Hilton Malta. I booked during the Any Weekend Any Where sale at a rate of ~100 Euro per night. February is the off season in Malta, and I always find places more enjoyable in the off season. The cost for sure was great, not only for this fantastic hotel but also flights on Air Malta and a rental car (mini SUV) for 4 days with insurance for $85 USD.

Being off season and a Hilton Diamond I was surely taken care of in a wonderful corner suite. The rack rate for this suite in the winter season is around 600 Euro according to a posted price list in the lobby.

The Hilton Malta has two types of rooms and suites; Classic and Contemporary. The hotel was build in two stages, the main section of the hotel has the classic rooms. Back in 2008 I had a classic room and found it too be very nice.

This time my suite was in the new side of the hotel, a very modern room. Both times the view from the room and balcony was stunning, nothing like waking up to the sunrise over the Med!

The suite was great, I was welcomed with some candy and a welcome note from the GM. The next day freshly made cookies were in the room, along with a card for a free bottle of wine. This was a cool idea, you could pick your type of wine and if you wanted it; sent the room, picked up at a bar, enjoyed at a bar, or with dinner in a hotel restaurant.

We had dinner in the Med themed restaurant “Bottega del Vino”. Easily got our free wine (2 bottles as our group had each gotten the card in our room) and enjoyed the food. The prices were not bad at all, compared to other restaurant in the area there was not much of what I call “hotel inflation”. With the free wine with dinner it was a good deal for the quality of food and portion size.

I travel a lot and I do have to say this is one of the hotels you walk into and know you are in a special place, the hotel has a very open and bright design, you feel special right when you walk in! Every member of staff was great from the door man, front desk staff, housekeepers, and restaurant staff. Friendly, helpful and welcoming, hands down great service.

The concierge, Mr. R. Fenech was great he spent around a half of an hour giving tips and planing our day. Made great recommendations and could tell what we wanted to do.

The Hilton Malta also has a good executive lounge located on the 9th floor, the lounge is open all day with soft drinks and light snacks, from 6pm-8pm there is an open bar with hot and cold food items. One night the hot item was rabbit; a local favorite. Service was good in the lounge, and there was not problem finding a seat. I would rate the lounge as average to good compared to some other Hilton Executive lounges in Europe. There is a second “lounge” for executive guest, this is the Executive business lounge with computer and lots of working space!

The hotel is packed with restaurants and bars, there is a Thai restaurant that I did not try but the place looked very cool and very neat looking circular bar with nice views of the port. (some other venus were closed due to the off season)

There are many outdoor pools and one indoor pool. The outside areas were just perfect, a very nice looking area to enjoy the sun. As this was off season and was only around 62F the pool area was not used much.

The location of the hotel is great in the St. Julians area, easy access to public busses that can take you to most locations on the island. If you get a car Parking is FREE for Hilton guest in an underground lot. You are at the most 45 min to any place on the island and about 35 min to the ferry port to Gozo.

This hotel is on my own personal favorite list. Service is great and the little things do make the difference. Well-maintained property with a great location!

Room Tip: Get a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear dcl80

Thank you very much for your detailed description of our hotel.
We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you again. Your comments are highly appreciated.
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing