We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room with a view”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium-Aalst
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“room with a view”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Enjoyed staying in low season in this hotel for 105euro/night in a room on -5 with view on the harbour. Service was impeccable. Did not do the breakfast as 20eure pp is expensive esp. when you have so man good alternatives in the nearby village.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xenohappenings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Personal Assistant at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Xenohappenings,

Thank you very much for your comments on our service.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back!

Kind Regards

Philippa Mifsud
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,168
    1,083
    284
    82
    53
See reviews for
1,138
2,085
180
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,012)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lithuania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights.
Everything was very good, exept:
no free wi-fi,
Pool area is open only till 19:00 (which is a pity, cause it would be a pleasure to swim in the evening, not only in summer heat).
And once two service guys came into our room to check air conditioning system (just opened the door themselves) while we weve quite busy... (you know what can a young couple be busy with;)... It was not a pleasant visit at all.
One more: we had a sea view room. The view of the sea was nice, BUT if you just look straight down from the window - you'll see lot's of rubbish and mess...

All the rest was Ok. We loved the "Pool for adults", because it was quite (no kids under 16).
Breakfast was good.
We really loved the design of the room. And the sound isolation was quite good as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias W, Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Olga S,

Whilst I can assure you that all of your comments have been thoroughly dealt with at an operational level, any attempt to justify or expand upon the problems you encountered would, I feel, be inappropriate. The situation you describe should not have occurred, regardless of how busy the hotel was. I would therefore like to offer my most sincere apologies to you.

Kind Regards

Matthias Welzel – Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The beutiful hotel is situated on the beach and all rooms have their own terasse facing the ocean an massive pool area.
All ammenities are top of the scale and the service was impecable.
It only took 5 minutes to walk to the city center where there was plenty of good restaurants situated around the harbour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MetteBaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias W, Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear MetteBaden,

I appreciate you your review on Trip advisor and I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit.

Kind Regards

Matthias Welzel – Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, Europe
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband, my 11-year-old daughter and myself booked 2 nights at Hilton for a short break. We simply loved it. We chose Hilton because they have special offers for the month of February. In addition to a good price for the room, we were given a free upgrade to a Junior Suite as well as free Wi-Fi access. The Suite was fantastic, with all the facilities one expects to find in a 5-star hotel. We had plenty of room, coffee and tea making facilities in the room, ironing facilities, bathrobes, slippers, and plenty of channels to choose from on TV. We got to use the indoor pool and we played board games in the room because they are supplied free of charge on demand. The food was excellent too. The selection available for breakfast is very good and we loved the afternoon tea. All the staff we met was very attentive and we even got a phone call to ask us whether there was anything else we needed during our stay. I must point out that I am giving a 5-point rating to value because the special offer for the month was a great deal indeed and the stay was worth every cent. All in all, I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flossy176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias W, Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Flossy176

Thank you for your very much for your positive feedback. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and I shall pass on your compliments to my Team.

Kind Regards

Matthias Welzel – Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire Moorlands
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I
This is an ideal hotel for seeing Malta. It is a great venue and has great food. Views over the Mediterranean from the balcony. Rooms are spacious and well-appointed. Wonderful breakfast that can be taken at leisure.

Room Tip: Look for one overlooking the Med.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_from_Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias W, Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Mike_from_Staffs
I thank you for your comments and look forward welcoming you back to the Maltese Islands and Hilton Malta.

Kind Regards

Matthias Welel – Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just back from a weeks holiday at the Hilton Malta with my better half.

This is classed as a 5 Star hotel and first impressions were very good with friendly attentive staff throughout our entire stay.

Our 10th Floor Executive Plus room was immaculately clean with a large bathroom although we found the walk in shower "insecure" underfoot due to its floor contour and floor cover material. The room size was good. Curiously although the bathroom had an his and her individual wash basin the hotel only provided one soap tablet and holder......................which puzzled us? The bath separated the two basins and made the one tablet ;proviision very odd indeed.

We arrived mid evening and then later found a very noisy family or group in the next bedroon which delayed our sleep until after 1am.

We awoke having has a bad nights sleep feeling pretty stiff from the VERY firm mattress which had a solid divan as its base without the additional support of a proper divan bed base.

Suffice to say during our whole stay we were not at all impressed by the poor bed and also by the complete inability of the hotel to come up with a solution to allow us to have a good nights sleep.

We have stayed in very good hotels (including other Hiltons) in Europe, North America and the Far East and we found this bed at the Hilton Malta very very poor. In fact one of the very worst beds we have ever slept on.

The hotel food was excellent and we found the little restaurant excellent on the 3rd floor. Restaurant staff were engaging and attentive and the food was first class. Thank you. Buffet breakfast was very good with a wide choice.

Afternoon Tea..........was switched to the Vista Lounge from the Executive Lounge...... cakes were very good..................pity the selection of sandwiches was not great nor was the choice changed each day. The Executive Lounge and drinks/canapes was very good. The hotel was well laid out with good views and pools.

Our one regret was returning home far more tired that when we left.......................we were so tired from the rock hard bed.........pity about the bed...............................suggest you go to a few European 5 star hotels to check out their beds.

Holidays are for rest and relaxation.............ours lacked rest.

Room Tip: Take your own bed with you and get a high floor sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancsTraveller186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Lancstraveller18...

Thank you very much for the detailed observations on our hotel.

We are very sorry that we have not reached your expectations with regards to our beds. Great care is taken when buying both the mattress and other bed linen. On another note, your comments have been forwarded to our Executive Housekeeper for her attention and for any improvement that might be possible.

Apart from the above, we are very pleased that you enjoyed the quality of food and service you experienced in our "little restaurant on the 3rd floor", namely, The Bottega Del Vino.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband for my birthday and overall did have a lovely time. We came here for his birthday in October and really enjoyed it so decided to return. We booked an Executive Plus room as we had previously and were slightly disappointed to note that it was a very different design to our previous room...perhaps this could be advertised on the website? Another area that let us down this time was the breakfast, the hot food was almost inedible, I was scared to eat the sausages as they seemed very undercooked. The scrambled eggs also made me feel rather ill and were a very strange texture! Breakfast was also rather shambolic due to an apparent lack of staff, and many of those that were serving appeared inept or were rather rude! Perhaps if they had opened up more sections and arranged for more staff to be working, everything could have run a lot more smoothly? Another area that disappointed was the Executive Lounge as there were a number of children being very noisy and the staff just ignoring this and the fact that they were running around and disturbing all the other guests. I realise this is a difficult thing to deal with but perhaps a seperate area could be provided? Another query is that on our last day a gentleman was given a free wifi code for all of the hotel from the executive lounge representative, is this normal? Should we therefore have been provided with one? Or was it just because he's a regular he gets preferential treatment? All other aspects of the hotel were up to standard but I hope that some of these issues will have been addressed before we return again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flobo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias W, Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear flobo5.

First of all may I say how very sorry I am that you and your husband left the hotel less than satisfied with the services you received during your stay, I am very disappointed that on this occasion your visit did not live up to your expectations. However, I shall speak to my Team and take the necessary action to try and prevent similar service shortcomings occurring in the future.

Kind Regards

Matthias Welzel – Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,955 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,422 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing