We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get ready for winter!”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Hilton in Portomaso, Malta. It had already been recommended by two sets of friends, and certainly lived up to expectations. The room was large, clean and comfortable, and the hotel in general was excellent. Thankfully, the weather was also good so we were out and about a lot, but had we been stuck in the hotel for the week, that would also have been fine - the spa looked wonderful, (and there were various offers on during the week), the restaurants were varied and served excellent food (especially the Blue Elephant) and overall, it's a place I would be more than happy to return to.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BinksyNr_York_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear BinksyNr_York_UK

Good Morning
May we kindly ask you to pass on our thanks to the persons who recommended our hotel.
Thank you very much

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,838 - 2,844 of 4,886 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel during a trip to both islands (Malta and Gozo). We stayed here for 3 nights, having checked in on 6th October and out on 9th October 2012 and travelled as a couple. It could be noted that when we were picking this holiday we found it difficult to come up with good hotels on either of the islands – accommodation seems to be dated and a bit substandard in general. After quite a bit of research we decided the Hilton was the best option on for us on Malta we went for it. Overall we had a great experience here, with a few small niggles here and there.

Check-in was swift and easy and the receptionist was pleasant. We were more than aware in advance of our stay about substantial differences between room standards. We had booked what they describe as a deluxe king-size (in other words their old and dated rooms). We did hope that on check-in we might be able to avail of the 50 euro per night upgrade option some others have reported on here but we weren’t offered it. We came to Malta with one intent and purpose which was to sight see and so we knew we wouldn’t be in the hotel much. We were actually pleasantly surprised when we walked into our room. Although the décor is definitely old and dated, it was huge and really very comfortable and homely. We settled in immediately and knew it was going to be a good stay. It has to be said our view was to die for. It was possibly the best view we have ever had in a hotel. Fortunately we were given a room on the 10th floor and as well as a sea view and a pool view we could also see some of the Marina, St Julian’s Bay and Sliema. As well as our massive bed (much bigger than king-size) which was super comfortable, we had a small seating area, large balcony, plenty of storage and large bathroom with a shower and a bath. It is always a bonus when there is a tea-tray well stocked with goodies (including decaffeinated coffee) and an iron in the room. Minor niggles include a lack of hangers in the wardrobe and the fact that the curtains for the window were not ‘black-out’ and therefore light streamed in when the sun came up. We also prefer stairs to the lift and did use the stairwell in the Hilton most times, but they were stiflingly hot and a bit stinky to be honest.

Breakfast was tremendous – the choice was second to none. It was lovely sitting outside right by the pool to have breakfast. We weren’t so fussed on the internal breakfast room. Like the rooms, it also needs an urgent update. The carpets were a bit musty and the cushions on the chairs also need a pronto upgrade.

The pools looked excellent but we didn’t spend any time there. We took a couple of walks around the grounds after breakfast and liked what we saw. The pools were large and spotlessly clean – there were also plenty of sun beds and room for sunbathing.

We ate in the Blue Elephant on one evening and had an absolutely first-rate meal. The exterior seating area overlooking the Marina is very romantic and our meal was one of the best we had during our stay, if a little on the expensive side. The restaurant also offer good quality cocktails in their Thai inspired bar area. The quarterdeck bar, which is another place well worth a visit for the romantics reading but unfortunately the cocktails here were not so alcohol laced as the ones we had in the Blue Elephant. However, it was still lovely passing an evening on the quarterdeck balcony, watching life go by in the Marina.

The location of the hotel is great. We picked it purposely so we could easily access Valletta and all that Malta has to offer while being in the St Julian’s bay area. It is far enough away from Paceville and St Georges bay that you wouldn’t know they exist. Portomaso Marina is very smart with an abundance of good restaurants. Portomaso café, just outside the hotel is highly recommended by us with really reasonable prices and excellent daily specials. Spinola bay is stunning and a beautiful area to eat in the evening with plenty of hustle and bustle and just a few minutes walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the floor - the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TAmember13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear TAmember13

Thank you very much such encouraging and complimentary comments.
We try our best to focus on the important issues of guest service and personal attention.
On behalf of all the staff, may I thank you for taking the time and trouble to share with us your kind comments

Sincere regards
Anne Marie Scicluna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was dissatisfied in the beginning as the hotel had a problem in their reservation system when I arrived, and they moved me to another hotel nearby for the first night only, i came back to the hotel the second day in the morning and i received a warm welcome and an apology from the supervisor and they upgraded my stay to a luxury suit to make it up for the first night.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamal f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear KFarhat,

First of all may we say how very sorry we are that your stay started with a bad note. We do hope that we made it up for the rest of your stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience we might have caused.
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I recently stayed at this Hilton, and have stayed a many Hilton Hotels worldwide. This was one of the best, if not the best I have had the pleasure of staying in. Fantastic restaurants, with excellent menu's, great wine in a palatial setting. Doesn't get much better.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Executive (9th) floor, sea facing with lovely views across the marina and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear NeilJackson

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay so much and delighted that you consider our hotel as one of the best Hitlon's. We value greatly such encouraging comments.

We do hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you again

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Fist visited Hilton Malta 13 years ago when it was newly built, not even completed. The surroundings have now matured and the trees grown and quality is still on the same high level. Excellent staff and completely safe surroundings. Well recommended any time of the year.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the water. If not you will still see water in the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl-Henric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Carl-Henric N

Thank you very much for your kind comments
Our aim is to offer our guests the very highest standards of service and cuisine together with superior facilities for our guests to enjoy

We look forward to welcome you again to our hotel
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton in St. Juliens for a family wedding the first week of the school holidays. A time that was probably very busy for the hotel, but the staff were attentive and helpful. Go for a high floor sea view room if you can, as we did, the view out to sea is beautiful. We did not experience any noise staying at the front rooms of the hotel as some have mentioned, we were on the one from top floor maybe that is why? The 'Marina' view rooms (in my opinion) were not great for view as the Marina they overlook is more of an inlet with nothing much to see, just across a smallish stretch of water to Apartments and buildings. It has a choice of several bars, we liked the Quarter Deck bar for evening outside drinks and also the Executive Lounge is good. Blue Elephant restaurant in the Hotel is great for Thai/Chinese. If we go back to Malta we would choose the Hilton again.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor sea view room if you can, as we did, the view out to sea is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Mr Cambfan,

We value greatly such comments, which allow us to focus on the important issues of guest service and personal attention.
On behalf of all the staff, may I thank you for taking the time and trouble to share with us your kind comments.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Hilton's rooms are a good size, are comfortably furnished, and have welcome extras like an iron and ironing board and coffee and tea-making facilities. However, they are also a bit on the clammy side with the airconditioning, so that the clothesline over the bath (good) did not mean that clothes actually dried (bad).

The shower is in the bath and, although being very careful, my wife slipped as she was getting into the shower and bruised herself quite nastily. It was difficult not to flood the bathroom floor, too, with the shower curtain arrangement. (And why was the toilet BEHIND the bathroom door? It was difficult to get to at night without turning the light on and being disturbing.)

It makes a difference, too, which room you get. Having booked months earlier but with a late flight, we expected better than a room on the 1st floor - bearing in mind that reception is on the 5th! The view was mast-height of the very close boats in the marina, so if one had arrived or departed, it would have been very noisy. So, after some discussion, we were given a much nicer room at the same price, but on the much better 9th floor the following day.

A real criticism is the lack of free wifi, unless you're in an executive room and can use the lounge. Upmarket chain hotels like this KNOW that this is the pet hate of their clientele, but still don't give into the pressure: cheaper hotels supply free wifi easily enough, as we know. (We stayed in 8 European hotels on this trip, ranging from 3 stars to 5 stars luxury, and ONLY the Hilton held out!)

The property is attractive, with a seafront pool and a nice lobby bar, and the reception staff pleasant.

HOWEVER, we had nominated to take a specially-priced room upgrade when booking; we were told that one wasn't available, but we received the VERY strong impression that one was - the receptionist even wrote down the room number, which we could read - but we were not given it. In fact, we suspect that they were holding it in case someone more important came along.

Location? St Julian's is quite a way from the capital, Valletta - although there is a frequent bus service - but it's on the border of the restaurant/entertainment area of Paceville, and is handy to nightspots. It itself is very quiet, I hasten to add.

There's also a nice cafe nearby - the Hilton breakfast is quite expensive and the cafe has FREE WIFI - as well as a well-priced supermarket for your eating and drinking needs.

Taxis: the taxi from the airport is fixed-price, and you pay for it in advance at a counter just inside the terminal. The taxis from the hotel were also fixed price. This is VERY handy, as the one time we used a taxi AWAY from the hotel, we were scammed: my meter doesn't work; oh didn't you say you wanted to go HERE? Sorry! To go THERE will be MUCH more!

Room Tip: Make it a high floor and try to get a good view - NOT over the marina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacomb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,085 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,735 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $107 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 413 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivaled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with either a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing