We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good for a short or long sta”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good for a short or long sta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Unfortunately only in Malta for 2 nights for work but fortunately our company has a deal with the Hilton. I have been to the Island before, on holiday, and stayed at another excellent property in St. Julians, I think the quality of hotels is a credit to Malta.

The Hilton is a large hotel, it caters for the conference/convention market but it does not suffer because of that. The room was large and comfortable with a pleasant balcony overlooking the marina. The king sized bed almost vanished into the background and all the required facilties were present. Breakfast was excellent in a substantial dining room overlooking the vast pool area. The location is top notch, right beside the Med and a short walk into St.Julians or Paceville.

Just a couple of minor issues. Check in was under-staffed when I checked in not helped by the constant ringing of the phone (why is the phone more important than the actual person standing in front of you?) and conference goers who felt they were important enough to but in whenever they felt the need. The lady herself in reception was polite but the process took a good deal longer than it should. A small thing but the TV clearly was not working in the room - evident by the message on the screen that surely someone would have noticed - and the helpful maintenance guy had to be called.

To finish on a positive because it was a positive experience, it was great to see a whole host of satelite channels available on the TV as standard. No extra and annoying charge required.

Recommend (a) that you visit Malta and (b) stay at the Hilton.

Room Tip: All good, sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank middleageoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear middleageoe,

Whilst thanking you for your comments, I have forwarded your feedback related to your check in experience to our Front Office Manager. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.After all it is only through such comments that we are able to monitor and so improve the services we provide to our guests

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,978
    1,044
    270
    76
    50
See reviews for
1,051
1,987
170
581
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

As you can imagine we where pretty hyped about our honeymoon to not only Malta but HILTON i mean come on who wouldn't want their honeymoon in the Hilton?!
Well after reading some reviews on here before actually booking we came across another review about someone's honeymoon and well it sealed the deal for us! Yes I know that each holiday will be slightly different... but you'd expect the treatment to be the same? we had sent several emails regarding our stay and telling them that it was our honeymoon (mainly due to the fact it was booked in my maiden name) with my husband requesting some little things as a surprise for me (i did not know this at the time)

OK so here's a little look through our 4 night stay at this very hotel!
We had gotten married on the Monday and drove from Bournemouth to Gatwick at 11pm that same day to make the checking of 4am. A very tiring journey considering such an eventful day! well anyway we landed in Malta at about 10:30am Malta time, arriving at the hotel in about 30 minutes. so naturally being exhausted from lack of sleep we went to check in and was told our room was not yet ready and to come back in an hours time. so we wondered off and had a drink. an hour later we came back and was then told that check in wasn't till 2:30pm...its was 3 hours away! we were told we could have our bags stored in the baggage area... it took the bell boy 30 minutes to come take our bags from us. 2:30 we went back for them to have some sort of issue with finding our room... another 40 minutes... as you can imagine at that point we stared to fall asleep the receptionist came over to us and told us the bell boy would bring our bags to our room to save us any more time waiting. no apologies or anything to make up for this...oh well...nor at any point were we asked about our stay or anything mentioned of the honeymoon... surely after our emails and being told it was marked on our booking the receptionist would of seen this?

once arriving in our room and doing the usual snoop that you do, we were a little shocked and disheartened with the bathroom as it was not of the quality you would expect from such a well reviewed hotel.one more thing a splatted fly above the bed remained there for the whole stay?? my partner was then upset that the bed had no rose petals on like he had requested - a small request for such a big thing our honeymoon that's all he asked of - i mean its not like we were demanding a free upgrade that was so kindly requested to the previous reviewers - although that would of been lovely but we cant all get special treatment :D lol

we don't really want to give a big list of bad aspects but felt the above needed to be mentioned. after all i believe if you hold a high expectation of any hotel no matter the star rating you will get let down. how ever i do feel that staff need a little more training in how to be more approachable and after one scenario where i could not finish a meal the waitress asked if everything was ok with my meal i smiled and said yes thank you it was lovely for her to turn round and say but you didn't finish it.... im so sorry that i could not eat the big potion that was your lunch menu...

so enough with the bad we will finish with the good!
the food was good quality and ample for prices set.
the pool areas were well maintained and very peaceful to lay by.
our room was spacious with a big balcony facing a lovely view of the clear sky and sea!
on our last night i really wanted a hot chocolate with marshmallows - they did not have these in the hotel but sent someone out to purchase some! and gave me the bag!!!
was handy being able to sign the bills to your room how ever ... you should REALLY keep an eye on your tab as you really forget what spending! - tis true!
the room service was excellent...you get an actual table wheeled in for use!!!

our only regret is that we didnt have a longer stay! - regardless of the lack of honeymoon stuff... lol

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xNatalieJx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear xNatalieJx,

Thank you for both your constructive and positive comments about our hotel.
These were shared with the team and will help us more to focus on the important issues of guest service, expectations and personal attention.

We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your first year anniversary.
Kinds regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have just returned from a 7 day holiday at the Hilton in Malta. We booked and paid in adance on a special offer for a Relaxation Suite which included full breakfast in main hotel, use of the executive Lounge which included afternoon tea, canopys and drinks and free WiFi.

Our room although a long walk from the reception was in the new block and had fabulous sea views, huge balcony and an extremely nice sized room and a huge bathroom with bath overlooking the ocean.

The breakfasts in the main restaurant were very good and cooked eggs to order were very good and a large selection of all foods on display and was always being topped up no matter how busy they were.

Our only disapointment was the executive lounge the afternoon tea sandwiches were the same every day and was boring and did not know exactly what was in the sandwiches as they all looked the same. The cream for the scones was most days very runny but in all the atmosphere in the executive lounge was very nice and I was able to use the free WiFi.

The staff were very friendly and always said hello and were curtious at all times and helpful. We felt very much at home here for a large hotel that they strived to make each guest very welcome and this is a credit to the hotel management. I wowuld not hesitate to return to this hotel if we visit Malta again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Milly088

Good Afternoon
Thank you very much for your kind comments which will be shared with the whole team.
We do look forward to welcome you again to Hilton Malta.

Your constructive comments with regards to the Executive Lounge food will also be shared with our Executive Chef for future reference

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I've stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world and this one is difficult to beat. All-round attention to detail, friendliness and professionalism made our 7 nights there a real pleasure. We've never stayed at the same place twice but here we might just make our first exception and book again. Enough said!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_n_Vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear David_n_Vanessa,

We value greatly such encouraging and complimentary comments, which allow us to focus on the important issues of guest service and personal attention. On behalf of all my staff, may I thank you for taking the time and trouble to share with us your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We arrived early in the morning expecting to spend the day resting after a sleepless travelling night , but the warmth of the reception staff and a welcome coffee in the luxurious executive lounge revived us. The magnificent views of the blue sea ,enticing swimming pools, surrounding St Julian sea front and adjacent yacht harbour made us get up and go. After a day swimming and sightseeing, we retired to the comfort of our spacious and well appointed suite before setting out for a dreamy dinner in the exotic ambiance of the Blue Elephant , the hotel's Royal Thai restaurant . Breakfast was superb. The staff throughout were professional , friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us...what a great introduction to Malta..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJtraveldiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear WJtraveldiary,

We, at Hilton Malta, are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and very pleased that we were able to contribute to a memorable stay.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to The Hilton Malta in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

we stayed just two nights, the pools and facilities were first class,staff friendly and service with a big Maltese smile.Breakfast was wonderful, you name it you could have it,freshly cooked bacon and eggs yummy.
The Blue elephant Thai resturant at the Hilton was a let down in contrast to the hotel the service was very impersonal and unfriendly,the staff seemed to resent being spoken too and the food was not very good,will not go to resturant again,hotel yes

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 552selwyn552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear 552selwyn552,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
Our aim is to offer our guests the very highest standards of service and cuisine together with superior facilities for our guests to enjoy.
It is only through such constructive comments that we are able to continually improve the services we provide to our guests.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira1981
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel based on the standard of hiltons I have stayed in before. Unfortunately the rooms do not live up to this standard or previous reputation I thought Hilton had. The room was large with a nice view, but the rooms are so tired and Dooley. As far as I can see most of the rooms in the hotel have not been updated since the hotel was built. The room had an old fusty smell due to the age of the furnishings and the air con constantly in use. The shower was weak, and the tap in the bathroom spurted water in all directions. The room was cleaned well, but it really needs updating. I complained at reception and was offered a "contempory" room, at a "very good rate of 50 euros per night".
It's not fair or good practice to have a two tier room system at a 5 star hotel. There are 5 and 3 star rooms in this 5 star hotel, but this is not made clear when booking. I would be hesitant to go to a Hilton hotel again.
The plus side is that the facilities are very good. The breakfast in the morning was good, but avoid the 8-10 rush hour slot as people are quite rude and impatient queuing when it is busy, I didn't eat in any of the restraunts as the quality of the restraunts in the marina was excellent. Zens japanese restraunt had amazing fish. Book in advance. Zavis Mediterranean opposite zens was also amazing and very good value I thought. Again book a table as many people were being turned away on the door sadly.
I would try another hotel to make sure the room is top quality which is what the Hilton would make you think you were getting. In my opinion the room is more important than the facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akira1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Akira1981

Thank you very much for your comments.
Further to your comments about the room, we understand that that particular style is not to everyone’s taste. On the other hand we have "contemporary" styled rooms which we would be happy to show you, should you choose to return to The Hilton Malta.

We thank you once again for your comments which allow us to focus on the important issues of guest service and personal attention.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing