We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 star room, 5 star facilities.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Akira1981
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“3 star room, 5 star facilities.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel based on the standard of hiltons I have stayed in before. Unfortunately the rooms do not live up to this standard or previous reputation I thought Hilton had. The room was large with a nice view, but the rooms are so tired and Dooley. As far as I can see most of the rooms in the hotel have not been updated since the hotel was built. The room had an old fusty smell due to the age of the furnishings and the air con constantly in use. The shower was weak, and the tap in the bathroom spurted water in all directions. The room was cleaned well, but it really needs updating. I complained at reception and was offered a "contempory" room, at a "very good rate of 50 euros per night".
It's not fair or good practice to have a two tier room system at a 5 star hotel. There are 5 and 3 star rooms in this 5 star hotel, but this is not made clear when booking. I would be hesitant to go to a Hilton hotel again.
The plus side is that the facilities are very good. The breakfast in the morning was good, but avoid the 8-10 rush hour slot as people are quite rude and impatient queuing when it is busy, I didn't eat in any of the restraunts as the quality of the restraunts in the marina was excellent. Zens japanese restraunt had amazing fish. Book in advance. Zavis Mediterranean opposite zens was also amazing and very good value I thought. Again book a table as many people were being turned away on the door sadly.
I would try another hotel to make sure the room is top quality which is what the Hilton would make you think you were getting. In my opinion the room is more important than the facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akira1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Akira1981

Thank you very much for your comments.
Further to your comments about the room, we understand that that particular style is not to everyone’s taste. On the other hand we have "contemporary" styled rooms which we would be happy to show you, should you choose to return to The Hilton Malta.

We thank you once again for your comments which allow us to focus on the important issues of guest service and personal attention.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,978
    1,044
    270
    76
    50
See reviews for
1,051
1,987
170
581
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have just returned from my second visit to this hotel and it didn't fail to impress us again!
This hotel really is a class act and when we told the staff it was our second visit they were genuinely flattered and went out of their way to impress us more! We had extra spa treats left for us in our bathroom by our maid and the bar staff bent the menu rules a little so we had more options than the designated snacks available, so we could stay in our favourite quaterdeck bar!
The cocktails are some of the best ive had anywhere.
We are about to book again for next June and will be taking my children this time and I can't wait to see the look on their faces when they see the pools!
The location is great for exploring the island further as it is very central, but quiet as well!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Emma M

Whilst thanking you for your loyalty towards Hilton, we look forward to welcome you again next June.

Your comments are highly appreciated!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Davids, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

we didn't actually stay here but called in for a drink as we were looking for somewhere to eat Robert the barman reccomended one of the hotel restaurants and said he had eaten there it was the restaurant at the bottom of the large internal staircase.We had a wonderful meal and the live entertainment (a couple of men playing a guitar and singing around the tables) was unusual but great,we visited the hotel for a drink on several occasions and have eaten at other venues next to the Hotel and all were well worth a visit as is the Portomaso Casino a lot of fun but takes a while to get registered the first time and take your passport.The bar staff here are brilliant and the quarted deck bar has wonderful views overlooking the marina. The Hotel is situated in a fantastic area and there is a lift just outside the Hotel that takes you down to the marina where you can have a walk to the Cavileri Hotel and then a short walk to the shops and local restaurants. Try this hotel you will not be dissapointed and watch out for Robert in the bar he is an obvious asset to the hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beejays60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear beejays60

We value greatly such encouraging and complimentary comments, which allow us to focus on the important issues of guest service and personal attention. On behalf of all my staff, may I thank you for taking the time.

We do hope to have the pleasure to, one day, welcome you to our hotel.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Overall the hotel is nice, clean and staff are friendly and helpful. However the decor in our room was somewhat outdated, and not inkeeping with the hotels overall look and feel. Particularly in the bathroom with the shower curtains.

we really enjoyed the facilities such pool and gym. Luckily the pool area was not very busy, (hotel was probably at 40% capacity) but imagine it can get annoyingly loud and busy during school holidays.

The hotel is at good walking distance to cafes, restaurants, bus station and small shops. We struggled to find good restuarants (stay away from the ones by the bay) so we opted for Blue Elephant one evening. We would recommend it. Also recommend the restautant at Le Meridien.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheerioshiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just came back from our 4 nights stay in this great hotel.

General:
Situated in quite but central area. Main tourist attractions (Valetta & Sliema) can be reached by bus (the station is within 2 min walk). There is a supermarket nearby (Arkadia foodstore). Lots of restaurants & pubs within short walk.

The room:
Stayed at 9th floor, had amazing sea view! The room was very spacious, bed was ok. For me it was too soft. The room is equipped well incl ironing board, coffee and DVD player (put cartoons for the kid :) ). Air condition was efficient as well.

Service:
The staff was very helpful and efficient, we've asked for the baby food for breakfast and the chef had prepared exactly what we've asked. They suggested to tell them in advance so they will prepare the food and everything will be ready for our coming.
We've asked for baby cot and it was provided incl bedding.
Concierge service was very useful, they can help you to plan your day efficiently (where to go and how can you get there).

Breakfast:
Excellent selection of cold and hot dishes, you can find all you want. Even in rush hours everything run smoothly and the stuff was friendly and helpful. We had BB so didn't try their other restaurants..

The only con is the internet cost, 12 Euro / day. Its just internet, we are in 2012 and not in 1992.. On my opinion, in 5* hotel of this class it should be complimentary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastacia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed for 1 night in early October and stayed in a lovely room in the new section of the hotel which was a modern dream - huge bathroom which has shutters that open out over the bed with views out to sea. Glorious and beautiful. I left the curtains open and woke to the sun slowly coming up over the sea. Wonderful. The food was fantastic, both dinner and breakfast. I'd love to return for leasure!

Room Tip: I liked the modern newly built area, but the older rooms have lovely old-italy style charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I and 2 friends stayed in the Hilton for 5 nights in early October. This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in and I have travelled throughout the world. The rooms are excellent, although a tad quirky (you can see into the shower from the main room, which is a bit kinky) the bed was sooo comfortable and everything is designed in the room to make life easy.

The staff are excellent and reflects the mood of all the Maltese people we came across....just so very friendly and helpful.

I can't really add to what has been said before but we did venture out form the hotel and explored local bars and eateries (Lulu's and Maltese Mama are very good, as is Buffalo Bills)
We also travelled by open top bus around the north of the island, took boat trip to Gozo and cruise around the harbour of Valletta. All recomended

Room Tip: We stayed on 326 which is in the contemporary part of the hotel. Part sea-view. It was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing