We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality + Service = Pleasure!”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just came back from our 4 nights stay in this great hotel.

General:
Situated in quite but central area. Main tourist attractions (Valetta & Sliema) can be reached by bus (the station is within 2 min walk). There is a supermarket nearby (Arkadia foodstore). Lots of restaurants & pubs within short walk.

The room:
Stayed at 9th floor, had amazing sea view! The room was very spacious, bed was ok. For me it was too soft. The room is equipped well incl ironing board, coffee and DVD player (put cartoons for the kid :) ). Air condition was efficient as well.

Service:
The staff was very helpful and efficient, we've asked for the baby food for breakfast and the chef had prepared exactly what we've asked. They suggested to tell them in advance so they will prepare the food and everything will be ready for our coming.
We've asked for baby cot and it was provided incl bedding.
Concierge service was very useful, they can help you to plan your day efficiently (where to go and how can you get there).

Breakfast:
Excellent selection of cold and hot dishes, you can find all you want. Even in rush hours everything run smoothly and the stuff was friendly and helpful. We had BB so didn't try their other restaurants..

The only con is the internet cost, 12 Euro / day. Its just internet, we are in 2012 and not in 1992.. On my opinion, in 5* hotel of this class it should be complimentary.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anastacia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,926 - 2,932 of 4,975 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed for 1 night in early October and stayed in a lovely room in the new section of the hotel which was a modern dream - huge bathroom which has shutters that open out over the bed with views out to sea. Glorious and beautiful. I left the curtains open and woke to the sun slowly coming up over the sea. Wonderful. The food was fantastic, both dinner and breakfast. I'd love to return for leasure!

Room Tip: I liked the modern newly built area, but the older rooms have lovely old-italy style charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DKirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I and 2 friends stayed in the Hilton for 5 nights in early October. This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in and I have travelled throughout the world. The rooms are excellent, although a tad quirky (you can see into the shower from the main room, which is a bit kinky) the bed was sooo comfortable and everything is designed in the room to make life easy.

The staff are excellent and reflects the mood of all the Maltese people we came across....just so very friendly and helpful.

I can't really add to what has been said before but we did venture out form the hotel and explored local bars and eateries (Lulu's and Maltese Mama are very good, as is Buffalo Bills)
We also travelled by open top bus around the north of the island, took boat trip to Gozo and cruise around the harbour of Valletta. All recomended

Room Tip: We stayed on 326 which is in the contemporary part of the hotel. Part sea-view. It was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed with 2 male friends, Hotel was superb in every way. Although we never asked or paid for it we had a sea view and Jacuzzi. This is the 5th time I have been to Malta and if possible I will always in future stay here, definitely worth the extra.

Breakfast, service, pool ... everything could not be faulted.

Room Tip: Grab a sea view if you can......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was in the Hiltons first for a business conference and then my friends flew out to have an extended girls holiday.

If I went back to Malta I will 100% stay there. It pretty much ticks all the boxes. The only thing I would say is that at times the reception area can be quite busy so you end up waiting to check in. Also the building blocks the sun so when you are in the pool past 5pm the sun would no longer be out.

Apart for those little things I would certainly recommend it as the place to stay in Malta.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emuobor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Several problems prevent me rating Hilton as a 5-star hotel. That said, it also has many qualities, so here is my + and -:

+:
Very nice poolarea, mainpool huge and an adult-only pool. Nice pooltowels
Executive lounge ok with excellent staff, cocktailhour from 18.00-20.00
Rooms have good size
Housekeeping is good
Breakfast (in lounge) adequate
Location is good

-:
Having booked an executive plus room, which is supposed to have seaview and spacious balcony, it was irritating that it was ignoreded, we got a room in the new wing with very restricted seaview and small balcony. Back and complain...got the right room then
No bathrobes in the room, had to make a new complain
Minibar electronic locked, but forget it, a simple Heineken is charged 6.15 euro. Put your on stuff in the fridge, go ahead, they will charge you 25 euro for that crime
No free wifi in room, only in lounge, and again very pricey, 12 euro a day. And you have to log on, again and again..
Weddings and large scale conference make restrictions, adultpool area not available, and in the evening when these arrangement is having outdoor dinner, spotlighs from the roof makes it unpleasant to stay on your balcony
Old wing has 3 star bathroom
Amenities in bathroom could be better, simple thing as cottonsticks were missing
No newspaper were delivered to our room, and noone asked if we wanted one. It seemed that you have to ask for everything, and that is not the way it should be.

Conclusion
It may sound very negative, but all in all we had a good time here. My recommendation is to book an executive plus room and ask for room on 9. Floor in old wing. Then you will have the best sea/pool view and are close to, and on the same floor as the lounge. 942 has 12 m2 balcony, close to lounge and quiet. Rooms in new wing may be smarter and with more modern bathroom, but they are far from everything, and the view is not the best.

Tip: the foodstore close to Hilton is very good. Instead of take the steps on your right, there is a lift going down to parking with entrance to the store.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

for a recreational stay.
This is the second time I've stayed here, and it remains impresssive.Plentiful, unobstrusive staff who are very well trained,effective and pleasant. Large pool areas with loads of beds and space especially at beach club level, although note this closed on the day we checked out (30 Sep).
Breakfast is excellent in the restaurant, and pretty good in the Exec lounge too. Gym is proper sized. Outdoor BBQ "event" dinner we went to was good, plenty of good quality food, didn't eat otherwise in hotel as so many restuarants nearby.
I've stayed at a lot of Hiltons, and this is one of the best - it will be interesting to see what he new Conrad in the Algarve is like to justify it's prices - how much beter than this will it be (or the Hilton at Vilamoura for matter which is pretty good, but not in the Malta class).
Only downside is the lack of enforcement of a dress code in the Exec lounge, and children in there, which I don't like.

Room Tip: You need a high floor (6+), with a sea (not marina) view. We were lucky enough to get a relaxation s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oscillator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,146 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $144 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 413 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivaled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with either a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing