We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Pleasure”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was our first visit to Malta. Right from our arrival at the front door the welcome was felt. My first visit to a Hilton and it will not be my last. Rooms were so spacious with great shower! Breakfast, everything you could want was there. Pools so clean and loved the adult relaxation area! While the hotel was full you would never have realised it. Lifts were prompt and quiet. Any query was dealt with promptly with a smile. Great holiday!

Room Tip: We looked over the marina, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjchou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,846 - 2,852 of 4,823 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

We loved this hotel from the start we were greeted by smiling friendly reception staff we had a small problem with our booking caused by our agent but this was sorted very quickly and with the minimuim of fuss the room was clean and just what we asked for, all staff greeted you with a smile whoever they were, all the food we had at the hotel was very good and value for money, all in all we had a wonderful time here the location facilitys and service were all five star.

Room Tip: pool veiw rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heffieCrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

just returned from 1 week holiday at the hilton. we would thoroughly reccommend this hotel. all the staff were so friendly, helpful and attentive. with four pools scattered among the grounds and plenty of sunloungers and parasols there was plenty of room. the hotel was kept spotless, and the food and variety were of a very high standard. top marks!

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the marina, always a pleasant place to sit and watch the goings on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just spent a very enjoyable 7 days at the Hilton St. Julians. From start to finish of my trip, it was simple brilliant. Check in staff were attentive and very polite. My deluxe room with king size was enormous, fabulous marble bathroom and super fluffy towels, How do they get them so fluffy ? Breakfast was top notch with a great choice. The breakfast team even started addressing me with a cheery "Good morning Mr Swallow" on the second morning, a very very nice touch. Outside, the pools and surrounding areas where spotlessly clean, sun loungers were plentiful and bar staff great at keeping you topped up with cool drinks. My only moan would be the price of a can of Magners - 8 Euro's, but when you consider the ambience of the place it was worth paying. Yes, this hotel is definitely 5* and I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris3249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I agree with the last reviewer in that we have now been to this hotel many times, and it is not as good now as when we first started going. The location keeps drawing us back (as it is so close to bars, restaurants, the marina, the bus stops etc) and we love Malta as an island. The executive lounge has definitely gone downhill as it gets too full and the quality of food has deteriorated. The staff are usually helpful. Be warned that if private functions are taking place then various public areas are 'shut off' from normal guests which is frustrating - this has included the quarterdeck bar. And you really do not want a room that faces the swimming pools, unless you want the loud music from wedding receptions disturbing you until the early hours. The lifts are so slow it is painful. And the spa is one of the worst we have visited - including bookings being made on the wrong date, being given the wrong treatment, and being unable to charge treatments to the room due to computer glitches etc etc. This may still potentially be worth a visit - but it is not the flagship hotel that Hilton would like to believe it to be! It is not brilliant value for money and the locals recommend other hotels instead of this one which speaks volumes.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite with two bathrooms which was beautiful but pricey!
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank thelittlecarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias W, Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Sue E,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Trip Advisor, I was saddened to learn of your disappointment with your experience at the Executive Lounge. We take great pride in our high levels of service and food quality, as you were able to experience firsthand during your previous visits. I would like to assure you that your comments have been noted and the appropriate action has been taken.
While I wish to once again apologise for the inconvenience caused with the noise disturbance, I wish you to be aware that all outside entertainment provided at the hotel is regulated to certain number of decibels acceptable for those hours of the night.
With regards to the Spa experience I have brought this matter to the attention of the Spa Manager so that this may be looked into further. I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me personally so that the Spa Team would be able to trace your booking.
Kind Regards
Matthias
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently stayed for 10 nights at the Hilton Malta and it was absolutely superb. We could not fault the hotel. The staff were really, really helpful, especially Mario the concierge and Mariella, the Duty Manager. We had booked a trip to Gozo with Captain Morgan's cruises through the Hilton Malta but the cruise company put us on the wrong cruise, which we did not enjoy. We came back to the Hotel and spoke to the Duty Manager and the Concierge, Mario who both took our complaint on board immediately. Mario was on his day off the following day but he still sorted out the problem and got our money back from Captain Morgan Cruises.
The breakfast service in the restaurant was extremely well organised and professional. Their Thai restaurant, The Blue Elephant was also superb. We would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: When you use the air conditioning in the bedrooms, make sure the fan is not on full as it blows very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoboPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have been visiting the Hilton Malta since 2002, and have just enjoyed our 14th stay.
When we first stayed it was out of this world,especially not having experienced a hotel of this class previously. However, now we stay in 5 star hotels wherever we go and have something with which to compare. The Hilton is still a favourite but with some quibbles.

One aspect which has remained unchanged is the staff - they are all very helpful and friendly and a credit to the hotel. The rooms in the classic part of the property (which we prefer over the new wing) are now showing their age. The bathrooms in particular are now 4 star. There are no reductions in the rate to compensate, but we always choose to stay here because we think the views are far superior and the location less noisy. They are also closer to the restaurants, lobby, pool etc. The balconies of the new wing are all tiny and although many have a seaview it is not uninterrupted.

The hotel has a great feel about it. You quickly feel settled in and relaxed,and the size of the public areas helps create this. The food is still very good in the evening but some nights are better than others. The Italian buffet is one of the better ones. The breakfast though has deteriorated somewhat. Only once during our last stay did we see mushrooms, and the bacon, apart from our first morning, was horrible. There was no English mustard. The buffet is also poor compared to previous years. We enjoy cold meats, cheese etc. On many occasions the small selection of cheeses tasted and felt like I imagine cardboard would. The hams were mostly cheap and not enjoyable. Most days the scrambled eggs were like baby food. The egg station though remains excellent.

The fantastic quarterdeck bar is a wonderfull place to enjoy a drink or meal, inside or out on the unique decking overlooking the marina.Those who complain about the prices should compare the service and quality with other hotels locally. We did, at a 4 star facing the marina and the service, atmosphere and overall enjoyment meant we didn't return.

The pool area is great with a choice of pools and a pool bar. There is also a massage tent.
Families are well catered for, as are couples who want some privacy. Just head to the right of the bar. The executive lounge has a free bar each evening with a very wide choice of drinks and food. The free bar though opens and closes too early and is overun by childen. If the offer began at perhaps 7.30 until 9.30 it would mean those wanting a pre dinner drink would still be able to, and the kids would be in bed.

To summarise, the Hilton is still a fabulous hotel and we will continue to stay, but those reviewers who claim it is one of the worlds best are I'm afraid getting a little carried away.

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing for modern facilities, stay in the old wing for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jewelleryjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,053 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,710 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $128 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 413 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivaled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with either a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing