We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer unadulterated luxury.”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sheer unadulterated luxury.”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just spent a very enjoyable 7 days at the Hilton St. Julians. From start to finish of my trip, it was simple brilliant. Check in staff were attentive and very polite. My deluxe room with king size was enormous, fabulous marble bathroom and super fluffy towels, How do they get them so fluffy ? Breakfast was top notch with a great choice. The breakfast team even started addressing me with a cheery "Good morning Mr Swallow" on the second morning, a very very nice touch. Outside, the pools and surrounding areas where spotlessly clean, sun loungers were plentiful and bar staff great at keeping you topped up with cool drinks. My only moan would be the price of a can of Magners - 8 Euro's, but when you consider the ambience of the place it was worth paying. Yes, this hotel is definitely 5* and I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris3249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,119
    1,071
    278
    82
    53
See reviews for
1,096
2,070
177
607
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,007)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I agree with the last reviewer in that we have now been to this hotel many times, and it is not as good now as when we first started going. The location keeps drawing us back (as it is so close to bars, restaurants, the marina, the bus stops etc) and we love Malta as an island. The executive lounge has definitely gone downhill as it gets too full and the quality of food has deteriorated. The staff are usually helpful. Be warned that if private functions are taking place then various public areas are 'shut off' from normal guests which is frustrating - this has included the quarterdeck bar. And you really do not want a room that faces the swimming pools, unless you want the loud music from wedding receptions disturbing you until the early hours. The lifts are so slow it is painful. And the spa is one of the worst we have visited - including bookings being made on the wrong date, being given the wrong treatment, and being unable to charge treatments to the room due to computer glitches etc etc. This may still potentially be worth a visit - but it is not the flagship hotel that Hilton would like to believe it to be! It is not brilliant value for money and the locals recommend other hotels instead of this one which speaks volumes.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite with two bathrooms which was beautiful but pricey!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thelittlecarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias W, Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Sue E,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Trip Advisor, I was saddened to learn of your disappointment with your experience at the Executive Lounge. We take great pride in our high levels of service and food quality, as you were able to experience firsthand during your previous visits. I would like to assure you that your comments have been noted and the appropriate action has been taken.
While I wish to once again apologise for the inconvenience caused with the noise disturbance, I wish you to be aware that all outside entertainment provided at the hotel is regulated to certain number of decibels acceptable for those hours of the night.
With regards to the Spa experience I have brought this matter to the attention of the Spa Manager so that this may be looked into further. I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me personally so that the Spa Team would be able to trace your booking.
Kind Regards
Matthias
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently stayed for 10 nights at the Hilton Malta and it was absolutely superb. We could not fault the hotel. The staff were really, really helpful, especially Mario the concierge and Mariella, the Duty Manager. We had booked a trip to Gozo with Captain Morgan's cruises through the Hilton Malta but the cruise company put us on the wrong cruise, which we did not enjoy. We came back to the Hotel and spoke to the Duty Manager and the Concierge, Mario who both took our complaint on board immediately. Mario was on his day off the following day but he still sorted out the problem and got our money back from Captain Morgan Cruises.
The breakfast service in the restaurant was extremely well organised and professional. Their Thai restaurant, The Blue Elephant was also superb. We would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: When you use the air conditioning in the bedrooms, make sure the fan is not on full as it blows very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoboPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport pagnell
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have been visiting the Hilton Malta since 2002, and have just enjoyed our 14th stay.
When we first stayed it was out of this world,especially not having experienced a hotel of this class previously. However, now we stay in 5 star hotels wherever we go and have something with which to compare. The Hilton is still a favourite but with some quibbles.

One aspect which has remained unchanged is the staff - they are all very helpful and friendly and a credit to the hotel. The rooms in the classic part of the property (which we prefer over the new wing) are now showing their age. The bathrooms in particular are now 4 star. There are no reductions in the rate to compensate, but we always choose to stay here because we think the views are far superior and the location less noisy. They are also closer to the restaurants, lobby, pool etc. The balconies of the new wing are all tiny and although many have a seaview it is not uninterrupted.

The hotel has a great feel about it. You quickly feel settled in and relaxed,and the size of the public areas helps create this. The food is still very good in the evening but some nights are better than others. The Italian buffet is one of the better ones. The breakfast though has deteriorated somewhat. Only once during our last stay did we see mushrooms, and the bacon, apart from our first morning, was horrible. There was no English mustard. The buffet is also poor compared to previous years. We enjoy cold meats, cheese etc. On many occasions the small selection of cheeses tasted and felt like I imagine cardboard would. The hams were mostly cheap and not enjoyable. Most days the scrambled eggs were like baby food. The egg station though remains excellent.

The fantastic quarterdeck bar is a wonderfull place to enjoy a drink or meal, inside or out on the unique decking overlooking the marina.Those who complain about the prices should compare the service and quality with other hotels locally. We did, at a 4 star facing the marina and the service, atmosphere and overall enjoyment meant we didn't return.

The pool area is great with a choice of pools and a pool bar. There is also a massage tent.
Families are well catered for, as are couples who want some privacy. Just head to the right of the bar. The executive lounge has a free bar each evening with a very wide choice of drinks and food. The free bar though opens and closes too early and is overun by childen. If the offer began at perhaps 7.30 until 9.30 it would mean those wanting a pre dinner drink would still be able to, and the kids would be in bed.

To summarise, the Hilton is still a fabulous hotel and we will continue to stay, but those reviewers who claim it is one of the worlds best are I'm afraid getting a little carried away.

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing for modern facilities, stay in the old wing for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jewelleryjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Do you want to impress your partner, then put a visit to the Hilton, Malta on your list.Stayed in many lovely 4* hotels, but this really is 5* luxury.We stayed for a special visit on the 21st September for 5 nights (wished it was longer) and from booking in to leaving the service and attention of staff was exceptional. We had a beautiful room on the 7th floor overlooking the pool and sea.As were sightseeing the hotel was in a great location with taxis on hand and the open top tour bus picking up outside the hotel, other buses just a short walk away. The breakfast and service was everything you could wish. Could not fault it and would definately return.

Room Tip: Sea/pool view a must just to see the sun risiing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxx099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day mini break at the Hilton St Julians Bay.
We had an enjoyable and relaxing time, exactly what we needed.
We will certainly return.
The room was clean and tidy. The view over the pool to sea was spectacular.
We had an early flight on Friday, and needed to wake at 06:30. Although this was early we were treated to a glorious sunrise and I would recommend getting up early one morning to see for yourself.
Breakfast was well presented with a vast choice. I though the bread selection was one of the most varied and tasty that I have come across. The egg station was also better than usual. Freshly prepared smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for a couple of days, and an unusual omlette of Bacon, (local) Goats Cheese and Chilli was fantastic. Ask for it.
Pool services were fanatastic, comfortable loungers and clean towels, variety of pools.
The gym & indoor pool/sauna were well equipped, and an excellent way to lose some of those extra pounds that are piled on over a break in Malta. One of the reasons we enjoy returning to Malta is the good food. We didn't eat in the hotel for dinner, as we enjoy wandering around the various local restaurants. There numerous restaurants within a few minutes Walk especially around St.Julians Bay.
Overall a great break, and looking forward to returning again next year.
Thank You.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend while visiting family, loved everything about it, would recommend to everyone,The pool area is great with lage swimming pool, also there is an infinity pool for adults,the rooms are fab with everything you need,the breakfast had plenty of choice and was very good. The hotel location is great plenty of bars and restaurants,buffalo bills at the marina is very good value for a three course and also meat & co. would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing