We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 pools and the sun”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“4 pools and the sun”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Spent a week at the Hilton Malta - we stayed in room on the third floor (ground floor for the outdoor pool and dining area) looking out towards the pool. We had a large deck which included two chairs and a table. Even though it was relatively close to the pool we still felt isolated because there was a garden between us and the pool area. We had a firm California king sized bed that wasn't the standard pillow-top mattresses we commonly see in North American Hilton's, but it was acceptable. The room had also had a bar fridge with sensors, but they left a few spots open for your own use. Beware: you can only fit small items like a few cans in this area.

We found that the price for bottles of water and other items was significantly marked up if purchased at the hotel. We often walked to the various shops near the hotel to stock up on wine, soda, water and snacks to bring back to the room.

The complementary morning breakfast had a wide variety of breakfast foods to suit any palate. My only complaint is the scrambled eggs in the buffet trays were strange - perhaps they were made from powdered eggs? Fortunately there's an egg/omelette station where you can get your fresh eggs any way you like. We had fresh fruit, fantastic muffins, porridge, cereal, and toast. Try the apple crumble muffins and the yoghurt! You won't be disappointed!

The pools were very clean, and the wait staff will happily bring you drinks and bottles of water which you can charge to your room. You can get pool towels from the pool area hut (near the breakfast area doors). There are two pools on the main level: one deep adult only pool and one shallow one for kids. Most people congregate around the shallow pool (it's beside the bar) so the adult pool is much quieter. At the back of this area there is stairs and elevator down one level to the rear two pools. Again, one is adult only. This area is further from the hotel and much quieter. There's also a bar down there so you won't stay thirsty for long! The pool chairs are comfortable and plentiful. I didn't see anyone reserving chairs with towels like I have at other resorts. Lots of seating with umbrellas so you can choose sun or shade.

The room staff come by in the morning to make up the rooms and in the early evening for turn-down service. They also keep you stocked with fresh towels, soaps and shampoos. My experience at other places is they typically provide two soaps - one for the shower and one for the sink. This hotel only provided one bar and body-wash for the shower. However, I'm sure if you asked they would give you a second bar for the shower.

We had trouble adjusting the temperature of the A/C unit which kept the temp to 23.7C. A little warm for sleeping, but we managed to get it adjusted lower after a couple of nights.

Overall, a good hotel and a fun time had by all.

Room Tip: We were in 326 which is on the pool level close to the breakfast area. It was very quiet considerin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CBBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,027
    1,052
    272
    79
    52
See reviews for
1,063
2,021
172
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just back from our stay at the Hilton, this was our 10th visit and it never gets boring. We arrived to a windy cold Malta on the 19th May, first time ever!!! But the Executive Suite made this easier to bear until the weather returned to normal the next day. Our room was lovely, we booked the Executive package and it was well worth it. The staff in the Executive Lounge are so nice and look after you very well. We had our breakfast in the Oceana Restaurant and afternoon tea in the Executive Lounge, followed by Cocktail hour. It is well worth paying the extra for this service! The hotel was really busy with lots of Conferences and weddings and the lovely Quarterdeck bar was off limits for a few nights, which was a shame, but the Marina is so beautiful and the restaurants are excellent, try the Spoon, fab chinese!!!
It was my birthday and I was spoiled by two cakes, one in the Executive Lounge and another in our room, very kind of the Hotel and much appreciated. The best place to spend my birthday.

Room Tip: Book an Executive Contemporary Room, they have fabulous bathrooms, massive shower and book a sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

A group of us stayed in this hotel in late May 2012 for a friends wedding (the wedding was not held in the hotel, it was where several of us were staying), and we had a great time there.

An initial disappointment was that the double room that we booked, was a twin room upon arrival. The reception staff made it clear that the hotel was fully booked for the first few nights of our stay and there was nothing that they could do to accommodate our original booking. However, we moved the furniture ourselves, and had a pretty comfortable week in our room. The bride and groom had booked through their wedding planner, and had requested a marina view room. They were disappointed with a view of some trees. It took two days and several requests before they were finally given a room with a view that they had to pay an additional nightly rate for.

We signed up for the hotel internet, which was €55 for the week we stayed, and it could only be used on one device at a time. I've stayed in cheaper hotels that offer free wifi, and it's consistently disappointing that so many of the bigger named hotels still don't. My tech savvy husband was disappointed that he couldn't hook his laptop up to the television, despite having the correct cables to do so. It seems that the hotel have hacked the TVs so that they can't be used with anything other than their own equipment. They do have DVD players in the rooms, so it is possible to watch your own movies rather than use pay per view.

We were woken up on the first morning by the sound of someone else moving furniture in their room. We don't know whether it was the room above echoing down, or the room below echoing up through the balcony arches.

On the plus side, everything in this hotel runs like a well-oiled machine. Breakfast in the morning was a full buffet, with everything from a hot bar, to an omelette station, and fresh fruit and breads, to smoothies and freshly squeezed juices. It was a delight to have breakfast in the morning, and it really was a pleasure to have such a full selection of foods to suit literally every taste.

Each morning, our room was made up during the time we were at breakfast, so we weren't disturbed on any day. We ate in two of the restaurants in the hotel, the Blue Elephant, and the Bottega del Vino - both of which were excellent. The Blue Elephant is quite expensive, and it is possible to have a meal that is as equally as good in other restaurants in St. Julians. Bottega del Vino is nothing special, but it has great variety, and is open for a large portion of the day.

I had two visits to the spa, and found both excellent, with several of the treatments being great value for money. However, I was a little disappointed by the therapists attempt to sell me spa products costing over €100 when leaving. I had been feeling incredibly relaxed, and it was a perfect end to a great week, but the hard sell put a little dampener on the experience. The hotel also has a very large gym and a hair salon next to the spa.

It is quite an expensive hotel to stay in, with food and drinks prices in the high end for the area, but I guess if you're looking for cheap, you're not saying in a Hilton.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinRugbyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazú, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I went to Malta on business and the people I was meeting with booked this hotel for me. Very nice place to stay, enjoy the ocean view. I would definitely recommend this place for travelers looking to enjoy the facilities (swimming pools, spa, etc), but for a pure business trip the hotel is a little bit "over qualified" since time may not allow for one to enjoy all those things that make the hotel as expensive as it is.

Room Tip: Ocean view recommended... ask about possible LIVE MUSIC events that may make it difficult to get som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braine-l'Alleud, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Overall I think this is a very good hotel and run very professionally. However I do have a few gripes.

1) Internet/Wifi. Come on Hilton, I am struggling to remember when I was last asked to pay for wifi at a hotel. Free wifi is more and more common now and asking holiday guests to pay for wifi is really pushing the money making machine a bit far. Ironically out of principal I refused to pay 110 euros for 2 weeks wifi and instead used cafes close to the hotel which means you lost money. Surely one of your goals is to encourage customers to stay in the hotel and use your restaurants and bars? Even if you had the foresight to offer free wifi in the bar you would have made more money out of us. I did however buy a three day wifi package towards the end of the trip and it was the worst wifi I have ever come across. My iPad would disconnect and reconnect sometimes every few minutes. It's either rubbish or has compatibility problems with Apple, because my iPad works like a dream everywhere else.

2) Noise from scraping furniture was a real problem at times. I appreciate that tiled floors are more hygienic and keep the rooms cool in the heat, but you can put felt pads under furniture to reduce the noise. They are cheap and extremely effective.

3) Overly aggressive notes on the mini bar threatening 25€ fines if you even dare to move an item, and an automatic charge for an item if you remove it from its place in the fridge! For goodness sake Hilton, what's with the tone? It's just a mini bar!

On a positive note, the staff at this hotel are fantastic, friendly, polite and professional. The hotel feels quiet and isolated from the bustle of St Julians. The breakfast service was run with military precision and was good quality. The pools and sports facilities are excellent. We purposefully booked a harbour room because we wanted afternoon sun and to be away from the noise of weddings. We were very happy on that side of the hotel. Aside from the few gripes which are probably more to do with Hilton HQ than the actual hotel, it is difficult to fault the running of this hotel and the standards of service.

We did visit The Westin just around the corner and are of the opinion that this is without a doubt the better hotel by far.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jaffaBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa M, Executive Office at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Jaffabristol,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback.

I appreciate if you could allow me to contact you personally by providing your email address or telephone number, so that we can elaborate further on your comments.

Kind Regards

Philippa on behalf of the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We travelled with our 3 year old and found the staff all very helpful. Our room was upgraded to an executive suite with access to the executive lounge. This has free wifi, free drinks and food at certain times and Kirsten was a life saver( colouring books and paper for our little artist). Good breakfast buffet and nice Thai restaurant. Good central position too.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to the executive rooms... its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valk18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tickton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel approx. 3 times a year for the past 5 years, most recently at the beginning of this month.
I cannot say anything negative about it. It is completely wonderful, as are all the staff.
The food is yummy.
We have tried other hotels for a change, but always regretted it.
It's perfect!!!

Room Tip: I prefer the Marina view rooms, which are also the cheapest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing