We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out for bedbugs…”
Review of Boho Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boho Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Chill out for bedbugs…”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

First night, first bedbugs when I was looking for a relaxing week in Malta to escape the cold from Northern Europe in mid-November. I changed the room; there was some relief for some time, but my clothes were obviously still contaminated with these very unpleasant parasites. However, the staff denied and ignored the facts to me with the excuse of having only mosquito bits.

When I complained to the owner next morning, and I asked for washing my clothes free of charge, she threatened to throw me out by the police while I expressed my intention to write a negative review on this hostel problem of bedbugs. I was discredited by the owner of having a bedbug phobia, but finally I got my clothes (shirt and underwear) washed. Thus, I kept calm under pressure.

I thought that I got rid of the bedbugs, because parts of my clothes were washes. However, they reappeared around my neck (I have taken photos of the bits), and I could only get rid of them in washing my clothes, myself and my suitcase at home. I had nervous nights until being sure that I did not bring them into my own bed at home from Boho hostel.

It was a very annoying ignorant deterioration of my short holidays in this beautiful country of Malta! Next time to be avoided.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D0nald313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMalta, Owner at Boho Hostel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hello there,
We're so sorry, but we can't seem to find any 'Donald from the UK' showing up in our records as having stayed with us in November.
We're assuming you've used another name, so if you'd be so kind as to email us with your actual name and date of stay we'll be more than happy to look into the events that occured.
However, having gone through your other hotel contributions (as part of your Trip Advisor Profile seen to all), I can't help but notice that 3 out of the 4 hotels you'ven written on had the same title, 'Bed Bugs!', and I also couldn't help but notice according to your post, your actions followed the same pattern: You complain about bed bugs, have staff wash your clothes for free, threaten to leave a bad review, and finally get a refund.
So, with all due respect, I'm going to take this review with a pinch of salt and encourage readers to do the same.
Rgds,
Penny
Owner Boho Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    27
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
18
145
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Boho hostel was just what the doctor order, Penny the owner will go above and beyond to ensure you feel welcomed and comfortable. A great space with a lush garden to relax in, a short walk to St Julians Bay, a fully equipped kitchen, lockers, good showers and clean rooms. The best kind of hostel, with that friendly vibrant atmosphere which is a rare find these days. The staff are all great fun and will join in on a fun night out in Paceville.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Abi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Has to be the best hostel in Malta.. Spacious place with nice outside chill out area. Staff friendly and very helpful. Close access to St Julians bay and Paceville night life area. After staying in other hostels in Malta, this one is the best!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TravellingCurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I liked this place so much , it's cozy , friendly , the common areas are great to hangout and to get in contact with other travellers , you can get some people together to make barbeque and it's perfect for especially for solo travellers because you make friends in no time . I also liked one little detail a lot : sometimes people would forget shampoo or sun cream etc. or would leave it on purpose because at the airport they would take it anyway , so instead of throwing it away each bathroom had a shelf with stuff free to use for everyone. Bonus points: The young lady who runs Boho hostel is a real treasure !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank IngoTimmermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Boho is amazing place to stay! I loved the atmosphere there, it has a big common room and a beautiful garden which are great places for meeting other travelers and making new friendships. I have met a lot of new friends and we were exploring the island together. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the owner, Penny is very professional. They also organized a barbeque for all of us and I felt like we were one big family. I would definetly reccommend this hostel, especially to solo travellers!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This spacious villa provides the weary traveller with a great welcome, The atmosphere is friendly without being OTT, helpful, 'can-do' and above all very restful. Penny, the wonderful manager, goes the extra mile and beyond to help you get sorted, including travel arrangements etc - she's a real star. My fellow travellers were very friendly and easy to get on with. Great garden & verandah area. The hostel is clean and the kitchen functional. Opportunity to get that washing done (!). Mini super-markets are within 5-10 minutes walk, as is bus into town. We used to walk in to Sliema (the yacht club) in about 30-40 minutes. Swimming, bars & restos down in Balluta Bay (10-15 mins walk). Would I stay here again ? DEFO :)

Room Tip: I was in the all male dorm (max 6) facing South, away from the nearby main road - all quiet & pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GeoffJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

It is a great hostel. Agreeable and amicable with other travelers. Beautiful garden. Good situation to 10 minutes from the Balluta Bay. It was a wonderful experience staying there. Thanks Penny and Carmen!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,605 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Malti
Hostel Malti
#3 of 31 in Saint Julian's
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boho Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boho Hostel

Property: Boho Hostel
Address: Dun Guzeppi Xerri Street | Villa Cycas, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ10, Malta (Formerly Travellers' Point Hostel)
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boho Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're a Bohemian traveller, you've found your Bohemian hostel. Drop off your bags and relax in Boho; a hostel which is ideal for backpackers & solo travellers due to its genuine social atmosphere and backpacker vibe.Located in a lovely Villa & Garden, Boho offers the perfect escape from the city's main busy central strip, while still being only ten minutes away on foot from it.Blessed with a large garden and courtyard, and that ever-constant Maltese sunshine, Boho is simply a pleasure to wake up in and a lovely home-away-from-home to retreat to. What's more, it's a great base to meet other travellers to explore the island with.Being backpackers ourselves we know what you're after when you're staying in hostels, and being locals we know where the good stuff really is!We provide you with detailed Maps, plenty of info on Malta, and we can also help you plan your itinerary.We also organise regular activities like pub crawls, boat parties and beach BBQs.In other words, you're guaranteed a great time in an environment which is as chilled-out as it is fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Boho Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boho Hostel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing