We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vermell - CLOSED

Vermell
Price range: $16 - $32
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is our 3rd trip to Malta (St Julians) but our first visit to Restaurant Vermell, but not our last!
Staff in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful. Amy the front of house was very knowlegable about the wines and the food and really helpful with our choices.
Will definitely return to this restaurant , delicious food, good service, complimentary digestives on departure. altogether a wonderful experience and very good value for the money, not expensive for the fine dining experience

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    56
    19
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Divine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very good service. Hosts were really friendly and the food was simply delicious. Would recommend. We were offered 2 complementary drinks each and we were a table of 4.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Muccu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing dinner with very attentive service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Me and my boyfriend went there last Saturday for a romantic dinner. We were given a nice table downstairs, where we could enjoy the stunning view of the bay. We ordered 2 linguine with lobster for starters. It was the best we ever had. And for our main we ordered a local red snapper to share. It was very tasty and fresh. The friendly hostess recommended anice white wine to go with it. Staff are all very friendly and professional even though the restaurant was packed! Will definetly go back as it was good value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
1 review
“Awesome all-round experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Last Saturday was a very special night, since it was a family reunion. Some of us have not seen each other for years, and some kids never even met the rest of the family. It was a great night - that with the help of Vermell's waiting staff and chef it was ensured this was one of the best nights.

Kleaven and Amy prepared a set menu which had an array of scrumptious dishes, starting from various antipasto and fresh mussels. Next were a selection of three delicious pasta dishes, and then a mixed grill which was sublime. All topped up with a dessert, coffee and liqueur.

It was a great family outing, but I visited Vermell on previous occasions and I can guarantee it was an equally fantastic experience when I visited with a few friends and even on a quite dinner with my partner.

So thumbs-up and a 5-star rating go to Vermell, Chef Kleaven and all of his gang! You rock!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cec118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Glorious sunday lunch ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We went there last sunday. We were a table of 4 and opted for different dishes. For starters we had a fritto misto platter to share and caraccio di manzo. All were very delicious. For our mains we had 3 different types of meat, 2 tagliata di manzo, and Aberdeen angus rib eye and fresh irish T-bone. All were cooked to perfection. Can't complain about a single thing! Mouth watering food, friendly and efficient service and I cannot forget to mention the amazing view of Spinola Bay. Will definitely return. Well done, 10+!

Helpful?
Thank Clive V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermell also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing