We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic spot” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Girasole

Girasole
Ranked #132 of 301 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Romantic spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

You know when you see those films of people having romantic dinners overlooking the harbour the sort of Tom Hanks/Meg Ryan type - and you think that's just in the movies, well, check out this place. The tables are packed in but cleverly wedged between pots of herbs - basil, mint, rosemary - so that as you brush by, you get a beautiful mediterranean scent. Quite a few things on the menu were "off" - although maybe because they were packed that night and we arrived quite late. Chef was a bit heavy handed with the salt but fish beautifully cooked.If you're a non smoker you'll probably find the next two tables puffing away, which can detract from the beauty of the place. Service was OK but a bit slow at times which, given the number of covers slightly strange, it's not a big place and there were plenty of them standing around. Bizarrely our taxi driver had no idea where it was so maybe it's not as well known as we thought.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Izzy180046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    56
    43
    23
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Atrocious service, never even got to the food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

It does offer a nice location over-looking the bay, but I would suggest trying any one of the other options.

As we looked at the menu shortly after being seated my wife and I joked about how pretentious and tacky it was that they had a 17 euro minimum food order listed at the bottom of the menu. We had no idea how seriously they took their minimum.

When the waiter, who seemed to be the manager, came to take our order, he cut my wife off after the first thing she ordered saying that this was a first course. Granted, but wouldn't you start with a first course. When she started to explain that she was a vegetarian and was therefore left with limited options he, again interrupting, said, "there is a 17 euro minimum, you must have three courses". At this we laughed, got up, left and went to spend our 17 euro per person elsewhere.

Be warned, Raffael (just below - their spelling) is owned by the same people and we received equally terrible service the afternoon before. No minimums, just lots of attitude. Sadly, we didn't realized they were under the same management before entering Girasole.

There are several good restaurants in the immediate area. Try The Joint a few doors down for good food with great service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice location, but food not up to standard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were a party of 8 for dinner and were seated overlooking the picturesque bay which gave great feelgood factor. Service was prompt and efficient, but staff were noticeably unsmiling. People who took goats cheese starter were unimpressed as it lacked any flavour and was very watery. My whitebait fritters seemed to be void of any fish so that will make them just fritters. Poor. My main dish, penne alla rustica with swordfish was fair enough, but none of the party enthused about their dishes. I'm being a little generous with 3 stars, but that was more to do with the setting than the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kevbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rip off quality and rubbish service dressed in a nice view!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Be very careful here! Our party sat down at a table with a nice view over the Spinola inlet, we were supplied with bread immediately without being asked and then asked for a drinks order even before we had a chance to properly view the menu. As we had a small child in our party as well as two not-very-hungry ladies we tried to order a few smaller dishes, but immediately were barked at by a very rude head waiter that we weren't allowed too because of their minimum price policy. After that rudeness we should have paid up for what we had had and left, but to avoid a scene we changed our order to make it "comply" with requirements. Then we waited..... and waited....and waited. Eventually just as we were about to do what we should have done in the first place - walk out - our meals arrived, but the quality and quantity was c**p to put it directly! This place is a rip-off dressed up in a nice view! AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T1tone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Misleading”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

The venue was very nice but the menu was very poorly explained and really misleading - no explanation of the menu policy until you'd started drinks - food was fine but expensive - poor value for money -three items wrongly delivered and generally disappointed - would never recommend to a visitor again.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ngarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Girasole also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing