We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary trip.”
Review of Argento Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argento Hotel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

It was our first ever trip to Malta,and won't be our last due to the friendliness and hospitality of the Maltese.We booked The Argento because of it's glowing trip advisor reviews,and were not disappointed.The staff are a credit to their hotel-helpful and courteous,and they appear to enjoy their job despite the long hours some of them put in.
A special shout out for the housekeeping staff as the place really is kept so spotlessly clean you could eat your food off the floor...if you so wished!
Would definitely recommend the location if you want to be somewhere central to exploring Malta,and being close to the action.We hired a car,but be warned it can be problematic and timeconsuming seeking an available space to squeeze into(but we always managed somehow.)
Our rooms were large,spacious and airy,and we slept like babies in extremely comfortable beds,followed by a hearty breakfast(All Hail to the omelette Kings behind the counter)to set us up for a day's exploring.
The only very minor quibbles we had were the views out the room balconies overlooked a kind of uncared-for- looking mish-mash of buildings(that we affectionately nicknamed Gaza Strip)-but the quality of the room made up for this.
Also we'd opted for evening meals(which were generally good and tasty,-the slow-cooked lamb in red wine was to die for)but found the dining-room lacked somewhat in soul,ambience and atmosphere in the later hours-but we're sure that can be worked upon.The charming staff made up for what was lacking anyway.
Many thanks too for the lovely card and the bottle of sparkling wine in a bucket of ice that was given to my sister and her hubby on their pearl anniversary- very much appreciated!
All in all a memorable holiday and we'll definitely return.The weather may have been coolish and inclement,but the warmth of the Maltese people is really what sticks with us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alibats61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 926 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

We are a group of 7 friends from Ireland. We stayed in Hotel Argento for four nights in February 17 to 21st.. We would highly reccomend this lovely hotel. It is spotlessly clean . The bedrooms are large, bright and airy. The decor is very modern. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They came out to greet us and help us in with our luggage. They booked boat trips, bustrips etc with pickup from the hotel. The breakfast is excellent. The chef makes pancakes and omlettes to order.The hotel is situated within 5 mins walk of excellent restaurants and the waterfront.You wont have seaview but you will get evrythingelse you would expect from a 4 star hotel. There is a bus stop at the end ofthe road. You can buy a day ticket onboard which will brng you to anyplace on the island for €1.50. Overall an excellent hotel and very good value.

Room Tip: The duvets are a little too hot but you will find blankets in the wardrobe for apleasant nights slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank valc456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed for two nights, arriving late at night.

We took a taxi from Malta airport. The journey time was 10 minutes and we paid the flat fare of €20 by visiting the taxi office in the arrivals hall of the airport.

Check-in was easy and we were warmly welcomed on arrival.

We were allocated an oversize room with two double beds. The room was clean, fresh and comfortable.

There was an excellent breakfast buffet included in the rate. We especially liked the friendly short-order chef who cooked pancakes and omelettes to order.

We have stayed at the Argento on a number of occasions and we are always impressed with the comfort, service, value and location, not to mention the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bellagi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I am always looking for a bargain and this hotel did not disappoint.
I will start with the good bits.
Location:
The hotel is located about 1 minute from a bus stop which can take you directly into Slima or Valetta. It was very handy that there were ticket selling staff at the time, but you can also buy your ticket on board the bus. It is definitely worth saying that you can get an all day bus pass for 1euro, 50! It gives you access to any bus, all day- wow! So with that in mind, you can plan your own itinerary and go where you want to and not necessarily go on a hop on hop off. Don’t get me wrong. If you’re a fan of the hop on hop off then go for it, but you can catch a bus to Valetta and then change at the bus terminal to any where on the island for 1.50 a day instead of 15.00- no brainer!
Also worth a big note is that there is a bus which goes to the airport! Yes indeed. It is the X2 and it costs 1.80. If you want to be brave and want to catch it from the airport to the hotel, then it can be done. I’m afraid I’ve forgotten the number of the bus stop, but once you’ve arrived in St Juliens, there is a bus stop in front of the bay. “Cuba restaurant” will be on your right hand side. The next bus stop is yours. It will go past the hotel road, but just walk down to the HSBC and that’s the little road to the hotel. The journey takes about an hour.
You should try to get a bus time table online.
The hotel is located about 1 minute from many restaurants and the bay. There is a bank at the bottom of the road with ATM (Just in case). There is also a supermarket close by. It is about a 5 minute leisure walk. I cannot remember the name of the supermarket, but the directions are as follows. Out the hotel, down the hill. Turn right walking down the other hill on the main road. Walk straight down the road. After about 2 mins you should see a sign for a buger restaurant. As the title of restaurant is a bit of a profanity you fill in the gap "Bad (another word for donkey ) Burgers" on your right. Keep walking straight but do not take the hill on the right. Up ahead there is a sign for the supermarket on a banner on a walk over in the air. It’s a small one but you won’t miss it. The walk over leads to a church (this is useless info). The supermarket is on the right hand side.
The Actual Hotel review:
My favourite thing about this hotel has to be the wide variety of things to eat at breakfast. They serve a buffet continental breakfast and there is a chef who will cook eggs to your liking. There are also some pastries (which I stocked up on) and breads and even cakes! If you love your breakfast, you’ll be happy there.
The rooms are rather surprisingly large. From the outside the hotel seems small, but the room sizes are decent. I have been to way worse. There’s tea/coffees & kettle etc. You’ll find your basic amenities in the bathroom and there is a safe.
On to the bad bit…
If you are unlucky like me. You will get a room with a view of someone’s back yard and it ain’t pretty! Just keep your curtains drawn. That’s all I will say.
The one thing which really disturbed me was the wind. It was a particularly windy weekend that we stayed there and it was incredibly windy. The first night I did nothing about it and woke up grouchy, but if you open the door slightly, it won’t be as loud. I think that is the major let down for me.

I am quite happy to stay at this hotel again and possibly in the summer so I can use the pool.
Malta is a very beautiful island and I will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Traveller10162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

It was areally nice hotel , made even better by excellent staff . my room was cozy and very clean , and a good size . Nice ameneties and bathroom . A great location , very easy to find restaurants , and near bus stops , i really enjoyed my stay , would go again , highly reccommended .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesu r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights during our trip to Malta in the winter. Very comfy place, warm and clean. We got a good off-season price.
Parking is on-street and you battle for a space if you have a car with you.
Staff were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was about average.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splat2million
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Nice and friendly staff.

Nice clean lobby.

Rooms: nice size, comfy bed and pillows, room #404 had a slight view of the nearby bay area.
The room had a flat screen TV, mini fridge, hot water pot, hair dryer, as well as a good amount of storage space.

The bathroom is a good size and there was ample hot water. The towels were a bit thin and rough, but not unbearable.

It would be nice if there was a rug in the room since the floors are tile.

Good location: near grocery stores, the bus stop (including the pick up location for sightseeing buses), shopping, lots of restaurants, lots of places for leisurely strolls.

Advice: take the bus to/from ferries and to/from the airport. The buses run frequently and it's only one and a half euro for an all day pass. Additionally, since the hotel is conveniently located on a popular bus route it's easy to get around. Finally, if you have several bags or large bags AND you're on the bus, the hotel staff could assist you on the walk up and down the slight hill to get to the hotel. They did that for me and I'm so appreciative of their assistance.

Room Tip: room #404 had a slight view of the nearby bay area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim-ohradiogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,975 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,049 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,705 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argento Hotel

Address: Qaliet Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3255, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $65 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Argento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is perfectly situated in the quiet residential area of Spinola Bay, right next to St Julian's promenade with its beautiful scenery, a large variety of casual and fine dining seaside restaurants, bars and shops. Malta's nightlife hub is only a short stroll away from the hotel. St. George’s Bay sandy beach is reachable on foot as it is only 500 metres away from the hotel.All 74 luxuriously furnished rooms including 5 junior suites at this 4 star boutique hotel in St Julians are equipped with air-conditioning, proximity door locks, free Wi-Fi, mini-bar, complimentary tea & coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, LCD HD TV, laptop safe deposit box, hair dryer, shaving point and smoke detector.A rooftop swimming pool and sundeck area enhance the hotel with breathtaking views over Spinola Bay. Fitness room is also situated on top floor. Cuisine for breakfast and dinner at Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is international. A Lobby bar compliments an elegantly designed reception area. Two multi-purpose rooms, The Astoria and The Savoy Suites can host a number of events including meetings and weddings. Complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity is available throughout all the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Argento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argento Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing