We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location of this boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argento Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Argento Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location of this boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I've stayed in St Julian’s bay a few times but always on the cheap for a few days diving with the boys.
This time i wanted to impress my girlfriend with a lovely hotel in a nice location, Hotel Argento ticked all the boxes.
Less than a 20 min drive from the airport (thanks to my Sat Nav) we arrived at the hotel & found safe parking in the streets around by the hotel.
Yes there were stairs going down to reception so carrying your suit case up & down could be an issue for some but for us it wasn'tt a problem.
We were happily greeted by the reception staff & quickly taken to our room on the 3rd floor (303).
This was a lovely size room with fridge, flat TV (enough channels if that’s your thing); large storage, safe & a lovely view of the bay (head out of window & look right).
The bathroom was small but served its purpose (except shower screen seemed pointless & made floor into a paddling pool - not really a big issue just used lots of towels to block & mop).
The hallways to the rooms were all carpeted so no noise throughout the night or early mornings.
Breakfast was fine it had everything you needed & the chef cooked your eggs anyway you wished although he could have done with an extra hob to avoid queues of egg lovers waiting.
We didn't use the pool area because of being on a short break/lack of time but it looked very cool with a nice small pool (didn't look heated) with nice sun loungers around and fab view.
Free Wi-Fi was great all around the hotel which made facetime/Skype/emails/Facebook etc easy to use & keep in contact back home if needed.
The location was great
Turn right into St Julian’s bay for chic bars & restaurants.
Straight ahead for Hilton Hotel Bar, Bar 22 in the tower very cool looking over the marina (tip Sat is 10 euro but free on Sun), also some lovey restaurants New China house, IR-Rokna.
Turn left into main strip with all bars & clubs you could wish for.
If you have chance visit Mdina (Fontanella tea garden for tea, cake & views) & take car to Gozo (20 euro - pay on way back) to see the Azure Window.
There is also Popeye Village, Valletta (horse & carriage is about 35 euro for 40 mins), the Blue Grotto.
Malta is one of the best Diving locations around the world so if you have time go to any dive centre (Maltaqua is my favourite).

Room Tip: Room 303 had a lovely view & nice size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jon2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    316
    66
    19
    8
See reviews for
70
401
50
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Previous reviews reflect the location and quality of this hotel. Without rewriting the same experiences of others, I'm happy to say its a safe bet for quality, location , good staff and
Excellent access to the local restaurants or bus services. If you need details fire away..

To aid all us travellers who never get enough airport info, the departure lounge at Malta Airport is excellent. Really cool temperature, good price cafe's (I recommend the pea pies from the cafe jet express). Lots of shops to while away an hour and overall good pricing in them and duty free. To speed long check in try self check in the night before on your tablet , mobile or the hotel computer. Out check in length was runway length and slow but we slipped in a non waiting online check in desk and were through in a few minutes thanks to on l one check in.

Overall Airport Experience : Very Good :)

Room Tip: Room 510... Very large with two king beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morpheustravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
236 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Its all about the location. Good hotel, location was my priority and internet. Staff a bit rude..but manageable :) on arrival be prepared to clime the stairs with ur bags as they do not have staff to help you.... If you are planing to use the pool, bring your own towel or buy one round the corner as hotel will charge you 10EURO each time you use it (4 star hotel!). I stayed alone but there was not enough bathroom towels, or maybe 'enough' but they are so small that not enough for a lady like me with long hair..;) Couldn't style hair (use hairdryer) as the only plug in the room was too far from the mirror. Forget about TV as there are only few basic channels... No complaints over wise, rooms are clean and big enough and very modern and nice. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: I presume all rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zuikis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was just perfect! We don't like big resorts so went for Argento which was just what we like- smaller exclusive hotel which is not overly busy at the pool etc. the location really is perfect, possibly the best on the island! Our room was luxurious and clean. The rooftop pool and area is fabulous with a great view too. We had breakfast included in our stay and it was a great service. All round amazing holiday!! Thanks Argento!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overton, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Argento is a lovely peaceful retreat from the bustle of St Julians and Paceville. Very accessible to everything yet hidden away up a side street. The staff were excellent and very helpful whenever we asked for anything. The modern styling throughout the hotel was well done and well maintained, the room spacious, facilities good and breakfast well presented and of good quality. Overall excellent value for money and a welcoming place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed pretty well located, not too much noise anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themotorcycleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We went to Malta for the first time at the beginning of April and I chose this hotel from the great
comments that had been already written and I wasn't disappointed.
The staff are the stars and nothing is too much trouble, everyone to a man is friendly and helpful.
The hotel itself is modern and spotlessly clean with huge comfy beds and a little Brit touch of tea/coffee/kettle in the room which you won't find in many other European countries - this coupled with room service every day makes the hotel a pleasure to stay in.
We only had breakfast in the hotel as we like to sample different restaurants in the locality
and the breakfast and matched up to the rest of the hotel i.e. couldn't be faulted.
The location is central to St. Julians and all the local buses and trip buses so couldn't be better.
The addition to make this hotel truly excellent is the lovely pool on the rooftop with it's wonderfull views,brand new loungers etc. and immaculate decking - it is a secret suntrap and a rarity in the hotels I sourced.
We are a couple in our fifties but there were young people, families and couples older than ourselves in the hotel.
All in all a superb hotel and one that I would happily recommend and return to.

Room Tip: I booked myself through the internet and asked for a high floor when booking - these requests are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshsioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Stayed at the end of march. Had a great deal for a weeks stay b&b. breakfast is okay but not great but the location is perfect for access to paceville, st Julian's and sliema. Definetley reccomend

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tidytraxmjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 stars 1,532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 stars 3,822 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#11 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 stars 3,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 stars 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argento Hotel

Property: Argento Hotel
Address: Qaliet Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta 3255, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Argento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is perfectly situated in the quiet residential area of Spinola Bay, right next to St Julian's promenade with its beautiful scenery, a large variety of casual and fine dining seaside restaurants, bars and shops. Malta's nightlife hub is only a short stroll away from the hotel. St. George’s Bay sandy beach is reachable on foot as it is only 500 metres away from the hotel.All 74 luxuriously furnished rooms including 5 junior suites at this 4 star boutique hotel in St Julians are equipped with air-conditioning, proximity door locks, free Wi-Fi, mini-bar, complimentary tea & coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, LCD HD TV, laptop safe deposit box, hair dryer, shaving point and smoke detector.A rooftop swimming pool and sundeck area enhance the hotel with breathtaking views over Spinola Bay. Fitness room is also situated on top floor. Cuisine for breakfast and dinner at Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is international. A Lobby bar compliments an elegantly designed reception area. Two multi-purpose rooms, The Astoria and The Savoy Suites can host a number of events including meetings and weddings. Complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity is available throughout all the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Argento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argento Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing