We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - lovely summer stay.”
Review of Argento Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argento Hotel
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I traveled to Malta in June 2012, and stayed in the Argento Hotel for 1 week on a package deal. It was a great location, with easy walking distance to the bus, nigh life, and the town.
Our room was lovely, with plenty of cupboard space and perfectly clean and tidy.
The pool was lovely on the roof, as you got a lot of Sun up there and the service from the bar was faultless.
The staff at the reception were so accommodating and were able to tell my friend and I all the places we should visit and how to get around the city. They were all so friendly and polite.
I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone to stay at in Malta.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 955 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

visited for 3 nights in September, great central location in st Julian's for restaurants, bars, up a quiet street with convenience store 50 metres away and bus stop just beyond. New, modern, clean hotel. Rate included breakfast. Room was large although did not have a great view, rooftop pool with lovely deck area to relax. Staff pleasant and helpful. Would have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel apparently used to be called The President but has been completely refurbished. The overall effect is now very clean but almost clinical, with no planting. It's conveniently located up a side street from the local bus stop and close to corner shops and restaurants. Both St. George's and St.Julian's bays are within easy walking distance. All the staff we encountered were polite and friendly. Your view will depend on where your room is, obviously - in 402 we could see interesting back yards with a view of the sea if you poked your head round the corner. We enjoyed watching the cats playing in the gardens below.
In the bathroom it looked as though the management have taken some comments to heart so there is a high-level position (but not adjustable) for the shower head and certainly better water pressure than in some 4-star hotels I've stayed in in Wales. The toiletries were basic and the towels a little hard.
In the room air conditioning could not be set lower than 77F, which I guess is fair enough. There is a small fridge that can be stocked for a price or used to store your own chilled beverage, and it seems the tea/coffee is also a meant to be a chargeable option, but we weren't charged. Television choice was severely limited. The free wifi worked OK with the Blackberry and Kindle, and there is free Internet access in the lobby. There was a hair drier in our room and a safe in the wardrobe. When the battery on the TV remote died the manager was up in a couple of minutes to sort it out. There were 3 pillows for 2 beds - we should have asked for another.
Breakfast offered a range of hot and cold food, with fruit, cereals, dried fruit, mini Danish pastries, different types of bread/toast, cold meats and cheese, chilled fruit juices and mineral water; a fried option (omelette/fried egg/bacon, but not necessarily all on the same day); an espresso machine (does cappucino and latte) and a hot beverage machine.
The swimming pool is on the roof and up some steps - take care. Large enough to cool off in, but the surrounding area is a little cramped with sun loungers so not that suitable for kids to run around in unsupervised. Outside the pool area, the roof is decked and provided with umbrellas, showers and sun loungers, with toilets and snack and drink vending machines in the lift lobby area. We found it a decent place to relax and read but a bit sterile. The roof is also visited from time to time by the staff to see if anyone would like something from room service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Argento Hotel in September, and I very much enjoeyed my time there.
The hotel is a recent build, hence the room was immaculate and very well furnished. The service from staff was very good, and they always came to the rescue when pressed up for information. The view we had from the room was very poor, but this is not fault of the hotels, rather then poor building planning in Malta.

We were only ever able to make one morning breakfast, which we found to be very poor due to a lack of variety. What was on offer was good nonetheless.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again if ever in Malta again, and would gladly recommend to other travellers headed to Malta.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agent_Cormac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at this recently renewed hotel. The staff is very nice and helpful, tasty breakfast and I especially love the cosy downstairs area where you can watch TV or read the newspapers on a cosy sofa, the lovely decor in the rooms, very comfy beds and the pool area is so relaxing, complete with modern showers. The view is breathtaking, overlooking the bay of St. Julian's. It is perfect for business people and anybody else looking for a quiet place, but close enough to the boulevard, endless restaurants and bars and nightclubs (especially handy if you have teenage kids). You can have a lovely walk along the boulevard, take a romantic trip on a luzzu ...etc. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anybody.

Family Roeleveld (August 2012)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MALTAHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at the Argento in july and we enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean and modern, and the overall impression was great. The hotel pool at the rooftop was nice as well. We found the breakfast a bit poor in variety, but OK. Definitely recommended hotel, especially if you like St Julians.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Great Hotel. Stayed there in July. Modern ,no fuss Hotel with clean lines . Comfortable room immaculately clean with balcony, TV, mini bar and a great bathroom. Breakfast was Buffet style with plenty of options ,served in a calm and relaxed atmosphere. Location cannot be better as only a few minutes walk from Paceville with its vibrant night life, bars, restaurants and clubs. Sandy beach only a few minutes away. Definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for a good ,central Hotel with excellent service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JACMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.5 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#11 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argento Hotel

Address: Qaliet Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3255, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $59 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Argento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is perfectly situated in the quiet residential area of Spinola Bay, right next to St Julian's promenade with its beautiful scenery, a large variety of casual and fine dining seaside restaurants, bars and shops. Malta's nightlife hub is only a short stroll away from the hotel. St. George’s Bay sandy beach is reachable on foot as it is only 500 metres away from the hotel.All 74 luxuriously furnished rooms including 5 junior suites at this 4 star boutique hotel in St Julians are equipped with air-conditioning, proximity door locks, free Wi-Fi, mini-bar, complimentary tea & coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, LCD HD TV, laptop safe deposit box, hair dryer, shaving point and smoke detector.A rooftop swimming pool and sundeck area enhance the hotel with breathtaking views over Spinola Bay. Fitness room is also situated on top floor. Cuisine for breakfast and dinner at Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is international. A Lobby bar compliments an elegantly designed reception area. Two multi-purpose rooms, The Astoria and The Savoy Suites can host a number of events including meetings and weddings. Complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity is available throughout all the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Argento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argento Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing