We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for all groups”
other travelers have booked this property
St. George's Bay & Paceville
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St. George's Bay & Paceville
Dining area and jacuzzi spa with zip-up winter gazebo St. George's Bay as seen from apartment outside walkway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
St. George's Bay & Paceville
Dining area and jacuzzi spa with zip-up winter gazebo
St. George's Bay as seen from apartment outside walkway
Spare bedroom with 3 single beds
Spare Bathroom
Dining Area, Kitchen, Lounge
Hallway and entrance to bedrooms
St. George's Bay
Neighbouring Villa Rosa
St. George's Bay by night
Eating arrangement in a tropical environment
Lounge area
Jacuzzi spa, with adjacent dining area; and side garden area with deckchairs
Jacuzzi spa, dining area and deckchairs
Jacuzzi spa with zip-up winter cover
Hammock swing & deckchairs
Barbeque, deckchairs and hammock swing in tropical setting
Main Bedroom Entrance & Ensuite Bathroom
Dining table which overlooks TV area with Ethanol fireplace
Spare Bedroom with door leading to private garden area
Open Plan Lounge, Dining Area, Entrance Hall, and Kitchen in background
Kitchen, Breakfast Table, Dining Area, and Lounge Extension in background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Crb22462
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“good spot for exploring”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the sand based on the reviews and the photos on the site
But unfortunately have to say overall were left a little disappointed with the apartment.
The main failings were the large construction project going on outside the apartment :( blocking the view of the beach completely twin this with the noise form the site a 7:00 on weekdays
Secondly the front curtains are very sheer and all the people who walk by in the evening can see straight into the living area which I found too intrusive
The en suite and shower doors are cracked and the shower tiles are showing signs of ware
The bedding in the master room is a little tired and could do with replacing
Unfortunately the rear space is overlooked from the flat above making it feel less private and losing its allure and the jacuzzi was a little problematic as we couldn't get it to warm up fully but this shouldn't be an issue in summer
The entrance to the apartment is through a dim lit Car park and the surrounding street couldd be a little seedy for some people's taste
On a positive the kitchen is well stocked with all the utensils you'll need for your stay and the TV is a great bonus and the apartment was presented in a clean state and Paul the landlord is a genuinely really very nice man and will help in any way he can during your stay starting with the free lift from the airport and if you looking for a fun loving area with great bars and entertaining on the door step this is the best spot to be and the supermarket 50 yds away is a fantastic help allowing daily provisions daily up till 22:00
Overall it's a good apartment if you need a base to explore Malta or use the lively areas entertaining to its potential

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina C
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for all groups”
Reviewed March 27, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Though my friends and I arrived as a bunch of young gentlemen, the owner was very trusting of us to treat the apartment and surroundings with respect in which we did. The landlord was very friendly and helpful with any issues. The location was perfect for us as the main nightlife was just a stones throw away and the beach was just as close! The apartment itself was spotless, comfortable and exactly what we were looking for!
Overall the location was perfect, the apartment was spacious and this made the holiday all fall into place!

I truly recommend!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonelsa...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Location, Fantastic People, Fantastic Apartment(s)”
Reviewed May 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed in both the 'Sands' and the 'Red' apartment in St Julians. Both apartments were spacious, well supplied and very convenient for all the local attractions. Both were fantastic and our 4 y/o boy had plenty of space to 'roam'. Views over the bay from the Red apartment are amazing. The hosts (Paul and Josanne) are 2 of the most accommodating and friendly people you could meet. This was our first trip to Malta but will not be our last.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hosts!
Liked least: Not being able to spend more time in the Jacuzzi
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niamhck
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Birthday weekend, great location, and hot tub fantastic”
Reviewed January 22, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A group of friends and I stayed for a long weekend in mid Jan 2015 celebrating 3 birthdays, the apartment is in a great location and the hot tub was fantastic to sit in with a glass of wine after a days (or nights) exploring! Paul and Josanne and Nathaniel were great and very fast to respond to queries.

They were also so kind as to leave a bottle of fizz for us to celebrate which was much appreciated as well as some additional credit for the electric meter.

Thanks to all for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub and the comfy lounge
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2015
It was a pleasure having you in our Sands apartment, and despite the weather, glad to know you made good use of the spa. As it's only lately that the weather has turned cold, it was interesting for us to know what our guests in winter really thought of the spa.

We always try our best in putting our guests' needs on the priority list, and so another big thank you for appreciating our efforts.

Sands is currently undergoing another facelift, and so tiles and parquet flooring that seemed us to be below the standards that this apartment offers, are being replaced at this time. The outside large aluminium doors, that lead to the pathway to the nightlife and beach are also being replaced - although the property was always considered to be quite (notwithstanding the proximity of the clubs and bars), we are now investing in double glazing and other sound proofing technology to make sure that our guests are treated exclusively in Sands.

We would also like to extend our invitation to these guests to visit us again in the future and to thank them for their lovely review.

With warm regards from all of us,
Paul, Josanne & Nathaniel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great apartment - but in need of some TLC”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We recently returned from a week’s stay at Sands. Paul and Josanne were really helpful hosts, arranging our airport transfers and explaining lots about the local area and the apartment set-up when we arrived. They were also quick to respond to our emails and calls when we had any questions. There was a really fast free wifi connection available. The apartment was very large, with lots of outdoor space (although this is generally quite shaded due to the trees and buildings nearby, so those wanting to sunbathe will need the beach which is just a 2 minute walk). It is located very near a large well-stocked supermarket and the main bars and clubs of Paceville. Some previous reviews had stated that you can’t hear the noise from the clubs, however you can hear some music if you’re sleeping in the living room.

We stayed in a particularly hot and sticky September and found that we needed more than the amount of electricity the meter was pre-loaded with due to needing the air con. As soon as we let Paul know this, within 30mins he sent over a new card for us to top it up. The air-con unit in the second bedroom did seem a lot weaker than the other two. There is a large hot-tub in the garden, however this had no heat source installed during our stay, so it was essentially a cold tub! For us, a cold dip was actually quite welcome, however in the months after September a heated tub would be better, so we’d advise checking that the heat source has been set up.

One issue we found inside the apartment involved the fact that both the door to the main bedroom and that bedroom’s en-suite door had been broken and not replaced. The bedroom had a door-frame and no glass, the en-suite didn’t have a door at all. For some groups, this probably wouldn’t matter greatly, however for our group of four women who prefer a bit of privacy, this made things a little difficult. We were advised that these might be getting replaced during our stay, however this did not happen. The towel rail in the en-suite had also been broken by the previous visitors and not replaced. We did feel that the towels provided had suffered from a few too many washes and were quite a way past their best; we’d recommend packing your own bath towels. Unfortunately there was no shower curtain or glass panel to stop water going everywhere when using the shower over the bath, so we were using spare towels on the floor.

Overall we think it’s a good apartment in an excellent location, it just needs some care and updating to be as fantastic as it looks in its website pictures. We do appreciate that our stay came towards the end of the peak season and that some wear and tear had occurred over the previous months, however we feel that it would benefit so much if the broken items could be repaired and things such as towels, bed linen and sun loungers were given a much needed refresh, in order to restore the apartment to the fantastic state it must have been when first available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2014
We wish to thank these guests for having stayed with us in September. Admittedly, we did have a few major issues with the weeks' previous guests, which unfortunately has still left us reeling from the damages sustained. The breaking of the two 10mm thick glass doors to the shower and the main bedroom still leaves us baffled, and although we tried tirelessly to get these replaced in the shortest time possible, we had no control over their production and installation. We would like to assure these guests that other repairs were also required to the apartment after the above incidents but it is never easy to fix, replace or repair damages in what is literally a 145 square metre apartment which the previous guests treated with indifference, to say the least. It is true that these lost their damage deposit, but quite honestly this barely scratches the surface of the damages sustained - and yet, despite the letdown, we still do not shy away from greeting new guests with open arms and a warm heart.

We have taken note of the items mentioned in the review and assure our guests that these are being attended to imminently. We also wished to thank the guests for having noted that we acted immediately on any issue that was brought to our attention during their stay, something which we pride ourselves of to help guarantee our guests' satisfaction.

September is perhaps the 'stickiest' month, with humidity scoring high during this particular month; in some cases, guests may feel that they require additional air conditioning. Sands is supplied with 3 air conditioners (one large one in the open plan lounge/kitchen/dining, and another 2 smaller ones in each of the 2 bedrooms).

We are now pleased to inform our guests that the heating system for the Jacuzzi spa has been put in place; earlier we had not seen the urgency to have this installed during the summer however this is now up and running, and for which the last guests (mid-October) informed us that they made good use of. The gazebo has now also fitted with 'xmas' lights, making the spa an even more enticing leisure to enjoy, not just during the day.

Once again, we wish to thank these guests for having taken the time to write their review and invite them again to visit Malta.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin3844...
France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hollidays”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were 8 friends from France, and we enjoyed all the week in the appartment.
Good localisation, nice & clean house.

Josanne & Paul were very cool with us and we will probably have a new week in this appartment later.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Localisation and Service
Liked least: Beach near the appartment
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B
1 review
“Adequate for our needs”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

After being in this area 32 years before we thought we would visit again to see how it compared.
It can be easy to mix a holiday review with that of an accommodation review but maybe I should separSt the two.
The Island has become very busy. Seemingly traffic everywhere with more than the roads can cope with in some places. Roads not wide enough for what is trying to get down them causing chaos at times.
Lots of building going on so more apartments will be making this island even busier.
Landscape very uninteresting and the dusty climate is evident as construction on the coast road to Buggibba coats the traffic in dust. However if you want it warm and dry then this is only to be expected in Malta.
The apartment is in a good location overlooking St Georges Bay. The block is separated by a lockable gate from a small car park just near to Party Town at Paceville. Just far enough to escape from the noise but near enough for joining it if you wanted. No shortage of clubs . bars and fast food outlets and a few good restaurants if you look in the side streets.
The door into our block was also lockable but didn't always shut and lock or was left unlocked by others as it seemed to be in need of some attention.
The apartment itself was open plan with a large lounge plenty of leather seating though this could feel a little sticky when you only had shorts on and the temp was over 30c.
The air conditioning was most welcome but being on metered electric you didn't want to use it too much as you would be unsure as to how quickly you would use the electric up so we only put it on mid evening to drop the temp down for a little after evening meal comfort.
Well equipped would describe this apartment with tv, video, wifi, Jacuzzi out back with gas bbq outdoor seating however you were always a little conscious of overlooking windows and an open gate from behind another apartment.
The electric hob and oven was easy to use but as we ate out a lot we really only used it once or twice. Maybe a decent set of kitchen knives would be a good addition to what was in there but what was in there should be adequate for most peoples needs.
No shortage of towels for the two bathrooms and the "his and hers" sinks in the en-suite, a nice inclusion.
Generally a great apartment but in need of a little tlc here and there. Some damp in the skirting board areas in particular the corner the far side of the tv. The odd door or two that doesn't quite shut as well as it should. One or two bulbs out if you want to pick faults but there are that many lights and switches to choose from it wasn't a problem.
The sliding doors at the front proved difficult to open, maybe the catches or locks need checking, so we didn't bother but might have taken advantage if they had moved and unlocked more easily. The view over the bay is slightly shielded by the plants across the walkway as this s a ground floor apartment but otherwise a great view across the bay.
The bed was comfortable enough and plenty of storage space to get your things put away and hung up.
Booking was easy and courteous replies made you feel confident of your booking.
Even a change to our collection from the airport was advised well and caused no problems, nor our return on departure.
Overall good service and a good apartment perhaps in need of some minor maintenance. Decent value for money in an area for maybe the younger crowd.
As for Malta, well its maybe losing some of its charm and the construction we saw means it isn't likely to improve any time soon

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing