We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice”
Review of Onyx Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Onyx Apartments
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We (4 people) stayed here for three nights in june. When we arrived we had to call the live-in receptionist, because there is no 24h reception. It was a little bit weird to fill out an extra sheet with all passportnumbers and names of all travellers, but the lady was quick and nice. Our room was on the second floor with balcony. My friends were really surprised that the apartment was so big and beautiful. It was a pity to leave after the 3 nights.
There was another lady when we checked out, really nice and with perfect english. We had to leave the room at 11am but we stored our luggage in an extra room.
Everything was clean and there was also a washing machine and a dishwasher in the apartment.
In front of the building is a taxi station, with was very comfortable. The buses were also ok, but a little bit hot and slow.
Right around the corner there is a foodstore and the stuff there was very helpful. The location of the apartmenthouse is perfect, just a few streets away from the partystreet and the beach.
We would definitely stay there again, but next time a little bit longer !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 155 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

As a group of young adults we decided to rent an apartment for the night in the onyx. As on check-in we were greeted by the receptionist, which did not speak very good English and she gave us handwritten registration forms to fill out. We were told that a 100 euro refund was needed as per damages, as apartment procedures. No receipt was given as they ‘’don’t give out receipts’’. Settled in our ‘maze shaped room’ and went to take a shower, to find out that there was no hot water and as they are apartments the reception was not in. After an ice cold shower the electricity started cutting off! Wi-fi was only working in 1 room.

When viewing the site of these apartments you think that you’re going to lay back and relax with a beer in front of the luxurious TV, turns out just local channels are available! The apartment was loaded with plugs, but how many work? Just 2.

Next day went to check-out at 11.30am, the rude Italian housekeeper went up with us to check the room, started shouting in Italian words (which is hard to understand!) and said that the apartment was not clean and that only 50 euro will be refunded back. Arguing in Italian, Maltese and English we figured out that she was accusing us of stealing her fruit from her personal apartment next door as our balconies had a Perspex glass between. No we are not ‘The Incredibles’ and cannot expand a hand under the glass dividing!! Shooting and rude words were said to us we during the ‘discussion’.

These people have no sense of customer care and will definitely not be seeing us ever again. Best award of ‘0% customer care’ should be awarded to the onyx staff !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Onyx scores very high on our most important metric: price/quality. The apartment is spacious (with 2 bedrooms!), has all the important equipment for a family with a small child, i.e. kitchen, dish washer, washing machine etc. for less than 100 euro/night! (At our last trip to Malta, we stayed in a suite at Westin Dragonara; it was smaller, did not have a waching machine and cost almost 3x as much.) Finally, the personnel at Onyx is very service minded! (I left my iPhone after me, it arrived to my office in Stockholm a few days later by DHL! I doubt that would have happened at a big hotel...)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a2a2a2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The compnay advertising these apartments describe them as luxury living. However neither I nor my friends saw anything luxurious about them. Apartment 103 was very noisy, with people in other apartments moving furniture and generally making noise.

Out side there was construction work being carried out on the floors below the building. No notification of this was given nor any sort of apology received due to the general inconvenience.

We were 3 adults and on 3 occasions we asked for a change of towels and bed linen. Only 1 change was initially provided therefore we felt compelled to wash the other linen. Upon doing so we provided a letter stating that we were not to hang any weashing on the balcony. We were thankful for the washing machine.

The apartments were very basic. We received a welcome letter informing us of the "complimentary" welcome pack and wi fi access. However we had paid for both...so definitely not complimentary.

A final note if you wish a maid service this also has to be paid for. Very average accommodation for a not so average rate.

Room Tip: Shop around for other accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ferryjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

on arrival to the onyx apartments you are greeted with a what looks like a construction site,but believe me you may aswell sleep on construction site because you might possibly get a better sleep!!!!every part of this apartment complex's floor is covered in marble....so any noise and i mean ANY noise can be heard.myself and my partner where on the second floor and could hear women with high heels,tables and chairs being moved constantly.one of the main problems in the complex is that some people actually live there and there is a constant movement of people...and some have a stupid habit of slamming doors at crazy time of the day and night,and because of the marble floors the noise of the doors slamming sounds like an atomic bomb going off.as for the construction that is going on within the buliding on the ground and 1st floor...work starts at 7am and goes onto 3ish,we could hear workers banging and dumping concrete into skips at 7am in the morning....not what you want to hear after a night in pachville.on top of all this there is the noise of the street and people below.in all the apartments themselves are fine,but are best suited to maybe a stag or hen weekend that are going to spend as little time in them as possilbe.myself and my partner like a night out but to be coming back to the complex at 2 or 3am and then to be woken up by construction work at 7am and then people moving all through the day isnt a good mix....in my opinion pay the extra money and stay in the near by hilton or georges hotel and get yourself a good nights sleep!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tbucko125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

The Good

An excellent apartment, finished to a very high standard and well equipped for self-catering. Light décor, white marble floors, and wood and leather furnishings. Apartment contained full-size fridge, freezer, oven, hob, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, and tumble dryer, flat screen TV with cable, and wi-fi. Our apartment was very spacious, divided into three distinct areas; bedroom/bathroom, kitchen/dining, and lounge; much larger than a standard hotel room. I thought that the apartment was excellent value for money.

Great location in the Portomaso area of St Julians, on the corner of Ross St and Church Street. Five minute walk to central Paceville and to Spinola Bay and the promenade, and plenty of bus stops nearby. The Portomaso Marina and the Hilton are across the road. Our apartment balcony looked out towards the Palazzo Spinola and the pedestrianised square below. Several supermarkets and convenience stores within easy walking distance; the closest is Arkadia beneath the Portomaso Shopping Complex.

We booked transfers directly with Onyx. This cost more than the standard taxi fares indicated by the guide books. However, the service was excellent especially given that we arrived 3 hours late and the driver was in contact with the building manager so that we were let into the building.

The staff that I dealt with were efficient and friendly.

I would definitely recommend this accommodation to family and friends, and would book here again.


The Not Quite so Good

Nothing that spoilt our stay; this is a new property and I hope that these things are remedied in the near future.

I booked directly through the apartments’ website. I wasn’t asked for a deposit at this stage, I was however contacted a week and a half before arrival date and asked for one. The only practical solution was a bank transfer which cost me an additional £25. I wasn’t prepared to send c/c details by e-mail and no other options were offered.

The two lower floors are being developed, with what looks like a new entrance (and hopefully a reception). It’s not clear how we would have gained access to the building upon arrival had we not had a transfer arranged through the apartment company. It’s also not clear how we would have checked out had a return transfer not been booked through the company. I was told the apartment number of the building manager, but I couldn’t find it. There was some noise from the work taking place.

There was some noise from the bar at street level next door. This may have just been our apartment as there was an open area behind our apartment down to the back of the bar (late night karaoke on Xmas Eve). I suspect that overall this was still quieter than central Sliema or Paceville. Also, on the night of our arrival there was a lot of noise from the neighbouring apartment, before and after their night out. Some noise also from chairs scraping on the marble floors of other apartments; made me realise that I was doing the same and so I tried to be more careful!

Any issues I needed resolving had to be done by e-mail, such as accessing the wi-fi. The building manager did not speak English (apparently only Italian), and I couldn’t find her apartment, and the phone wasn't working properly.

Bathroom and shower were a bit squeezed, because of the full size washing machine and tumble dryer, though perfectly functional.

The lights in the corridor worked inconsistently.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank MarinoDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,917 reviews
0 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#21 of 33 in Saint Julian's
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
954 reviews
0.3 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#20 of 33 in Saint Julian's
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onyx Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onyx Apartments

Address: Ross St. | Paceville, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $40 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Onyx Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onyx Apartments offer luxury units for rent in central St Julians, Paceville, ideal for families or persons on business. Our location is unrivalled, lying in central St Julians amongst entertainment and restaurants, yet away enough for peace and quiet! All apartments are equipped with one or two bedrooms and bathrooms, fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning/heating, washing machine, drier. LCD TV with full cable package, free WIFI, in room safe, direct line telephones and a video entry phone to add to the comfort of our guests. A private car park is available on site at a surcharge. Onyx Apartments in St Julians are finished to high standards, meticulously designed in a contemporary, elegant style. Finishes include solid mahogany custom made furniture, granite and marble stones, fine Italian fabrics, beautiful photography of Maltese scenery, soft lighting and false ceilings, drawn up by leading architects and interior designers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Onyx Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Apartments Hotel Saint Julian`s
Onyx Apartments Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing