We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Il Pirata

Ristorante Il Pirata
Ranked #17 of 301 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sarpsborg, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

They didnt have enough menues (and the restaurant wasnt even full), so we had to wait for it. They forgot to give us the potatoes when we got the meat. They forgot to give us the check, and we waited for it for over 30 minutes before we got in touch with any of the people who worked there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Siriebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    181
    57
    28
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We ate here in late may. Waitress was very friendly and welcoming. Food was so delicious. I had a pasta stuffed with seafood and it was so good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gemma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
177 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“very good food, - service is well meaning but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We decided to eat here on a sunday as our first choice was closed, i wasnt entirely sure what to expect given the mixed bag of tripadvisor reviews but I was pleasantly surprised.

the feel of the restaurant is a modern design, and its a nice space, i ordered a pasta with maltese sausage and a goats cheese, my wife ordered an octopus salad, my daughters ordered calamari and another pasta dish.

Bruschetta arrived and was very nice, delicately seasoned and just right, we ordered a bottle of prosecco and ended up with a glass, this was quickly sorted but it did take a while for the wine to arrive !!!

when the food did arrive I have to say that my pasta dish was actually one of the best I have had in a long time, my wifes octupus salad was tasty and the calamari was also fresh..we all ate our food and asked for the the bill, twenty minutes later after a reminder we got it, all in all it was a very reasonable price, just a shame we had to ask.

So to sum up, good food and erratic but friendly service. - recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JONMCINERN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unwelcoming”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Having walked past and seen the restaurant buzzing a few times, we were drawn in to try it out for ourselves. We were greeted by a lovely waitress who showed us to a table (via the toilet which is bizarre!) and left us with some menus and sadly disappeared. We placed our orders and the food came and honestly wasn't half bad. I had a tasty Maltese pizza and my partner the ravioli. Unfortunately, the service from then on was diabolical. The staff were surly and disengaged, we weren't asked once how our meal was or paid any attention for the rest of our time there. We had a nice bottle of wine of which I wasn't adverse to having another of but it wasn't a nice dining experience and we definitely didn't feel our custom was valued so I was loathed to give them any more money. I wouldn't recommend...unless you can get a takeaway!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lyreco232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Meh!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We had seen this restaurant on several evenings, buzzing with people and the menu looked nice so we thought we'd give it a try. We arrived at this restaurant at about 7.30pm and were the only diners. Lots of staff milling about looking busy but not actually doing anything, moving tables round and then moving them back. The waitress wasn't listening properly to our order, and missed something. Then the staff were holding a meeting at the back of the restaurant, not five feet from our table. Extremely unprofessional! I have a suspicion my pizza was part cooked and 'finished' in the wood fired oven - it arrived with a 'soggy bottom' and at least a third of the crust was utterly cremated. My partner's pasta was cooked perfectly but the sauce was too orange - it couldn't possibly have been home made. The atmosphere was awful, not helped by the dreadful lighting.

Not somewhere I'd go for a second visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vincakent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Pirata also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Ristorante Il Pirata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing