We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food for a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gululu Restaurant

Gululu Restaurant
Ranked #59 of 306 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“Great food for a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful view bundled with great food and unique "Maltese ftiras" pizzas. Goof prices on the food and great staff. The chef was also glad to see that we took interest in his art and started doing smart tricks with the dough. The music tempo was changed after every single song which didn't make a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattdegiorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    836
    348
    125
    98
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burgas, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place, outdoor seating, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We got at this restaurant by chance without first reading any reviews. We had the lampuki fish which is one of Malta traditional dishes - I did not like it. It was fried and served with delicious popatoes. The fish was either not well seasoned or itself is not tasty at all. Octopus on the other hand was very good. We sat at the fist table nex to the water and enjoyed a bottel of Maltese rose wine -avarage quality. Service was good and prices were reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank renig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great wine, good service - a nice addition to St Julian's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The newly opened Gululu is a great addition to St Julian's range of restaurants. I like its indoor decor, as well as the outside seating. The staff are nice and helpful, the menu has a very good selection of Maltese dishes, and everything we had was excellent, including the dips! I had the rabbit - lovely! One of the best things about the experience was the Sicilian red we had (Cusumano - Nero d'Avola, which reminded me of the Soprano's neighbours by the same surname).
And the large three-coloured cat who wonders in and out adds to the relaxed atmosphere! I'll be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank voyagemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place for Maltese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We went with two Maltese friends for some authentic local food. The selection of dips was an excellent light starter to share. I had 'dirty pasta' which was gorgeous and my partner had the rabbit which was beautiful in taste and presentation with roasted veg. As a dessert the Wedding Ice Cream was lovely with candid peel in it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StornowayKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
156 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Understated, great food, good prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

found this place by accident and although it was very busy, they managed to find us a lovely table inside, which was air conditioned, but still had a lovely view of the harbour. The service was attentive and friendly, but not in any way stuffy. The food was really tasty and the portions were very generous. We had a selection of mixed starters, my husband had the pumpkin soup, which was quite spicy, but he said the best he has ever tasted. I had the rabbit, which was a huge portion and very tasty. The wine list was good with some reasonably priced options, but I went for local Maltese wine by the glass, which was a huge glass for only €2.50 and was actually very nice indeed. The chocolate dessert, which we shared was also yummy - even though we didn't really have the room for it! I think you probably need to book to get a table outside. It's definitely worth a visit. Our bill for 2 people and 3 courses with wine for me was only €42.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LakeComoExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gululu Restaurant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Gululu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing