We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, location and value for money”
Review of Gululu Restaurant

Gululu Restaurant
Ranked #62 of 318 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Price range: $11 - $21
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Good food, location and value for money”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

St Julian's is blessed with several very good restaurants and Gululu adds to that reputation. On our recent visit we ate late afternoon (tea time to us northerners!) and had two Mediterranean dishes - Ghagin Grieg (Pasta with minced pork) and Froga tat-Tarja with bacon (a pasta cake shaped like an omelette made from spaghetti). Both were really nice, tasty and well presented and good value for money if there was one criticism it would be there was a little too much to eat but some might not find that a problem. We would have given it a full five stars if the service had been a little quicker but perhaps we were not used to the pace of Maltese life so early in the holiday.
This is another restaurant that demands a visit from those staying on the island and it also provides an opportunity to sample food other than the ubiquitous Italian food that proliferates on the island.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwespyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    902
    383
    138
    107
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Environment”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I had heard about this restaurant and wanted to try it out for quite a long time. It's a very nice place. The staff are very friendly and professional. Will go back :) it's great since I believe in Malta we didn't have a restaurant just dedicated to Maltese cuisine :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank someonefab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“nice place with interesting food”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

loved the dates dessert. very interesting combination of spices and texture. the main courses were very tasty.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dakshyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sliema, malta
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good food!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went twice in a month. Service is excellent. Food is very tasty. May be a bit on the expensive side though - €10+ for a small starter portion of calamari. But I will still go again! Recommendable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pike7544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice diner in a nice atmosphere”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

At first we weren't sure by the look of it, but when we came in, the welcoming was warm and the staff found us a nice table . It is an easy going place but the food is really nice and the portion of a good size. Shame we didn't have room for desert. Staff was very helpful and discreet.
The location by the sea is great but despite this, the dishes aren't too expensive. Nice choice of wine as well. Good value for money.
Would recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miss4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gululu Restaurant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Gululu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing