We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A restaurant from 'Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares'”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Raffael

Raffael
Ranked #158 of 306 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A restaurant from 'Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares'”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Microwaved / reheated pasta and meat balls = food poisoning.
Baked macaroni was very dry and the cheese layer looked like plastic. What chef / owner would pride themselves with microwaved / reheated food???

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aciica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    302
    252
    171
    196
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I give them 2 stars for location and nice ambiance. The food was mediocre. I got some tough lamb kebab, but the service was terrible. We had to ask several times before we could order and we were seated just by the bar.
We should have looked in Tripadvisor before we went there. Stay clear.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arne_Ryppen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My first Hobz biz zejt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

My boyfriend comes from Malta, and he kept raving about this "hobz biz zejt" for ages! I couldnt understand what all the fuss was about, until i came here! We decided to only have a bottle of wine(which i might add, they have a great selection of) and a starter as we were not hungry, and we ordered the hobz biz zejt. All i can say is: amazing!!!! True taste of malta! The waitron was friendly, and the atmosphere and location was great! I will definately come back here as soon as possible!! The only negative will probably be the toilets hidden so far away!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Worst dining experience ever, I walked out!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I were staying a short walk from St Julian's Bay. We decided to check out the restaurants in the area as it had a nice views and a vibrant atmosphere. We walked all around the Bay and decided on Rafael's, what a mistake!

Although the place seemed fairly busy, we were seated immediately on a outside table next to the wall of the building. There were only 2 of us so we didn't mind. We were provided with menus fairly promptly and ordered soon after. My girlfriend opted for the fried calamari whereas I ordered chicken kebab. We were both pretty hungry so we were looking forward to having some nice food in a romantic setting. After 45 minutes of waiting for our food and seeing customers who came and sat well after us a few eyebrows were raised. I called our waitress over which was extremely difficult as she would not entertain any eye contact, it was like she was trying to avoid us as she knew what was coming. I queried how long our food would be, she said she would check and let us know.

After five minutes of waiting and seeing the same waitress serve more customers, clear some tables etc I called her over again. I couldn't believe that she didn't come back and give us an update on the status. She came over, I again queried what the heck was going on. She explained that the food was just getting made now and that there was some issue in the kitchen. What a load of balls and the fact I had to call her over to explain this again just infuriated me. I explained that the service was not good enough and that other customers sat right night to us who sat down at least 30 minutes after us were eating very similar dishes to what we had ordered.

She then gave us 2 options, cancel the food or simply wait. I explained to her that I would have thought she would have offered us some more drinks for the inconvience. Neither of us drink so it wasn't as if we were after expensive wine etc, just soft drinks. She reluctantly agreed but the attitude was horrendous. Another 15 minutes passed and still, there was no food. I then went on the hunt for the manager. Apparently he was not available so I spoke with the most senior staff member who was unable to explain why customers around us who sat well after us got server extremely quick and we didn't. I explained to him that the service and customer service was extremely poor and that I wouldn't expect to pay the full bill. He explained to me that he would be unable to offer any discount as the computer system would not allow him. At this point, I was just fed up so i explained to him that he should do whatever he thought was right.

This place is not cheap either, its in a nice location in the bay and you obviously pay a premium for the however you expect the food to also be nice. Our food arrived and I have to say, it looked horrible. My girlfriends plate was basically a plate full of chips with about 4 calamari rings and for 16 euros I thought that was crazy. My food was similar, stacked high with chips and very little chicken.

Although we were starving, we just both wanted to get out of there so I explained to the staff member that we just wanted to leave and they accepted this.

Overall, service is terrible, customer service is terrible and although I didn't taste it the food looked terrible and is way over priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kurran_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
164 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Staff issues last year when we went”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The food was average, menu was a bit different, I remember a carbonara pizza of sorts, not much to say on the quality of the food. Maybe it was because we were focussed on the staff who seemed to be upset with management. We saw a bit of arguing which if i recall was due to working hours and so we became engrossed in watching it so it provided us with entertainment for the night. Not very professional. Perfect location, with good view but we have never been back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hanamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raffael also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Raffael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing