We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - but . . .” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raffael

Raffael
Ranked #160 of 301 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location - but . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Rooms with large windows can seem very dank on cold wintry evenings. Fortunately, Raffael looks onto compact Spinola Bay with the lights from the road, across the bay combining with those on the (deserted) terrace and on the adjacent "LOVE' sculpture, to support ambience. Maybe this was why it offered that gauge by which I partly decide where to eat when in a new place - plenty of people eating there. The menu is fairly long and the beef olives offered something 'Maltese' - they were good beef olives and satisfied my curiosity, but didn't go beyond. Our waiter reflected the warmth we had become accustomed to experiencing from Maltese people - in contrast to his colleague, a lady with little charm. Maybe better weather brightens her mood as well as affording use of the terrace.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GridSystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    290
    241
    169
    187
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

After arriving late to our hotel we wandered down to Spinola Bay. A Maltese we had met had recommended Raffael's. Admittedly at night when you can't see the view, with only indoor seating because of the cold, the 'atmosphere' is lacking. The pizza however was not- great crisp thin crust, fresh toppings, nice and large. Very good red Maltese wine. It was a delightful casual meal.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NancyW260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Bad all around”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The only thing this place had going for it was the location. Service was bad and food was worse. When asked what was in the '3 fish of the day' the waitress said 'oh I don't know perhaps ---, maybe ---'. When asked if she could find out from the kitchen she replied 'I just told you what's in it!' When asked for some BBQ sauce on the side of the ribs I was told 'No, we don't have BBQ sauce', go figure. The ribs tasted strange - not horrible but strange. The burger was so bad we had to send it back.
This place had been recommended to us by a local so our hopes were high, sadly due to a change in management or ownership things have clearly changed for the worse.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy33London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Appalling Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Spent an awful Saturday evening trying to get served in this restaurant and there were only 3 other diners! One couple walked out in disgust. The blonde waitress and bar waiter were having a row and we were totally ignored. The other diner was a German tourist and said it was the worst service he had ever come across in a restaurant. We ate what was finally put in front of us and left.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sudha_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Location, What a shame”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I visited this restaurant last Saturday with friends. It got good reviews of Google. It was absolutely awful. The waitress had attitude. The menus dirty & lacking much selection in starters. The table cloth was dirty. The food was dumped on the table, the cutlery came later. The plates were cold. Once we had finished the starter, the main course was dumped down straight away. I was so glad I had a pizza. My friends had some sort of pasta that was straight out of the microwave. The ate what they could but didn't like it at all. I had been there 9 days & every other dining experience had been great. What a shame we decided to end our holiday at Raffael. Save your money, go somewhere else. Location great, Food lousy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raffael also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Raffael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing