We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“local food friendly place worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gozitan

Gozitan
Ranked #42 of 306 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“local food friendly place worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

we ate here once and would do so again the Rabbit stew was one of the Tastiest i have tried, portion size was huge so we were too full to try the desserts but will next time we eat here.
The two waitresses were attentive and friendly although the place was packed and the view through to the chefs working in a very calm and relaxed atmosphere was great. This is a small restaurant and could be easily missed on a busy street full of eating places but worth the effort to look it up.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    183
    64
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Province of Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tasty starter and dessert "on the house".”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Some of the best service we received on Malta.
My partner sampled the rabbit, which is a local delicacy on the island. I had the fish of the day, which was Sea Bream - both were excellent. Good choice of wines to suit all budgets.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovelylexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
176 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“very good food, excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

visited here with my family and we all thoroughly enjoyed the food and the service.. i had rabbit and my wife had an octopus stew, while the children had a spaghetti with what was definitely a home made sauce, and the pasta was actually cooked properly " al dente" - amazing for a kids portion!. at the start of the meal you will be offered some delicious bread and then a free platter of starters too.. all in all i cant really think of a negative.. recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JONMCINERN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, big portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were walking by and decided to have dinner here as the restaurant was very busy. And no wonder why. The food and atmosphere had a very homely feeling. The host was lovely. The only downside, if it can be considered as one, is that the portions were huge. You only really need a main dish. I ordered grilled chicken which was two big chicken breasts with potatoes and veg. However, well worth a visit, but go with an empty stomach.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IggyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“FABULOUS FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great food- but dont eat lunch that day & come hungry- portions are large & a great value. I had the suckling pig & it was fantastic- but a large portion. Place was packed- everyone happy & well fed!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gozitan also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Gozitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing