We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal of our holiday”
Review of Maltese Mama

Maltese Mama
Ranked #26 of 307 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal of our holiday”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This restaurant is quite small but a little gem! The food was absolutely spot on (i can recommend the bragioli!) The waiter we had was very helpful and extremely friendly, always approaching the table with a beaming smile. If we had more time in St Julians we would of definetley of gone back but we enjoy trying new places for every meal so we didn't (unfortunatley) We also had a couple of freebies complimentary of the kitchen which was nice. A MUST visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    223
    79
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“best meal that week”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

a lovely small restaurant where we had the specials lamb shank and the rock fish, well cookedbut i thought the fish at 28 euro was little pricey but the whole exprience was perfect.
great wine selection and great service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CorkKenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurrieq, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellency”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

A meal you cant forget!!!
The service is wonderful
The server Paulrick Was most pleasant.
this is the one of the most restaurants I came and can say that you can never be disappointed!!!
Its a restaurant you go once and you cant stop going.
they also give you a complimentary drink at the end of experiance.
There are no words you can describe it except excellent...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny18755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ok nothing special”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very similar to Kandles across the road, old Maltese style. Tuna fish cakes for starter excellent, the chocked ok, grandmas rabbit dry, potatoes ok but not as nice as Kandles.
Large group of guy's in which made atmosphere more like a curry house on a Friday night. 1/2bottle of white wine with meal left on table to get warm while other tables were put in ice buckets ( could be waitresses rushing around with large group in)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Having read the reviews we just had to give this a try. Not in the best of places - you could easily miss it. From walking in to leaving it was fantastic- warm, welcoming, polite, good service and very good food. This place got top marks from us during this visit - all the qualities you want to have on a romantic night out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonto40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maltese Mama also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Maltese Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing