We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cooking and amazing value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maltese Mama

Maltese Mama
Ranked #26 of 306 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Linlithgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great cooking and amazing value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Visited tonight after searching for a Maltese restaurant on the web. Backed by decent Tripadvisor reviews we were only disappointed by me thing - we had the place to ourselves!

A very friendly welcome was followed by an excellent meal with good quality local wine.

I can recommend the local platter to start, the rabbit stew and the dish of the day which was succulent pork fillet in honey with pears - scrumptious!

Tiramisu to follow with coffees and a bottle of very good Pianoforte Cabernet Franc/Merlot made for a great meal.

More people need to visit this little gem in St Julian's/Paceville!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John2France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    220
    79
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely authentic Maltese restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

On our trip to Malta we visited Maltese Mama as we wanted to taste authentic Maltese food and had read other good reviews of this restaurant on Trip Advisor.
We're really glad we went here - the service was really good, food was amazing, portion sizes huge and it was really good value for money.
For starters we had a Maltese platter to share and were also given bruschetta and bread rolls. For mains we had a Rabbit special dish with 3 types of rabbit and a Fillet Caprese, then ice cream for dessert. We were also given a shot of Limoncello at the end of our meal, a very nice way to end.
The restaurant itself is very homely and it feels a little like you're stepping into a Maltese family home to have dinner.
The waiter, waitress and chef were all very friendly and we chatted to them throughout and after our meal. It started to rain very heavily as we were about to leave the restaurant and the waitress/owner? even offered to lend us an umbrella - very friendly indeed!
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this restaurant if you are in St Julians and wish to taste some hearty Maltese food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“so good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

excellent pasta, excellent wine, excellent risotto. Great waiters. Free limoncello on 2nd night we came

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Chutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect authentic local restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Recently came across Maltese Mama with my partner and another couple by chance as we wondered around St Julian looking for somewhere to eat on our last night. It was a toss up between here and the place over road and we were extremely glad we chose Maltese Mama. It's run mainly by the husband (chef) and wife (waitress) with, we believe, help from the wifes father, and they all could not do enough for us. A complimentary starter (not guaranteed every time!) was a pleasant surprise with the remaining starters, mains and dessert all top notch and great value. Absolutely worth a visit and please ignore the negative feedback as we could not pick fault.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant restaurant - lovely staff very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Fantastic comfortable restaurant with great food. The only down side was the portion sizes. They were just too big (I know you could just leave it) but the starters were big enough for the main - the main was big enough for at least 2 people. But what you did get was excellent and the host was wonderful so attentive (even though we were sitting outside). Great restaurant..

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_Uk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maltese Mama also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Maltese Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing