We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Had a lovely long weekend at the George for my birthday-rooms great and staff very friendly- will definitely be back and hopefully for longer next time! The area is lovely- lots and lots to see in Malta and lovely to explore. Restaurants are great and a lovely chilled atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jb4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    486
    160
    45
    17
See reviews for
132
566
48
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

just back from a week at this hotel was a last minute getaway booking with travel republic for a chill out holiday away from stress & to get some sunshine as cold and wet in scotland. Reception staff very friendly, mannerly and helpful nothing is too much trouble at all.Our room was on the 6th top floor extremely spacious and wide fantastic, beds extremely wide and comfortable, maid service daily. Bathroom has a fabulous walk in shower. Rooms have a mini fridge & wallmounted tv. British 3 pin plug sockets on the wall no need for travel plugs, Roof top swimming pool relaxing to sit on when the sun out lovely decking and toilets on the roof, the pool and bar are closed on the rooftop at present just because its winter season but could imagine this to be busier in summer months.We went bed and breakfast for a week plenty of choice for everyones taste in the morning from fresh orange juices, cereals, to full bacon, eggs etc to fresh fruit, yogurts toast cold meats and cheeses, wide selection of teas and coffees good service. We went to have a look at the spa facilities and the indoor pool also looks fabulous but forgot to pack a swimsuit so didn,t try them out.The main lobby and reception very comfy large colourful chairs/sofas to lounge about in and free wifi facility in this lobby area reception staff will give you their password just ask them, sorry don,t know all your names but josef and alexandra very nice pleasant helpful staff,The furnishings and colours of the lobby and rooms very relaxing i would recommend this hotel and will definately be back to stay here again. There are plenty restaurants and bars all within walking distance in the area but couldn,t wear high heel stiletto shoes not ideal for the uneven pavements, arkadia supermarket 2minute walking distance near hotel overall had a fantastic chilling out week at this hotel i made a good choice thanks to all the staff and the maids who cleaned our room.

Room Tip: for january not alot of sunshine but would request a room on 5th floor with a patio to sit out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abirrell2k7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel is stunning, since the moment you walk into the lobby it's a lovely. Friendly staff at the desk, we arrived late night and had a mix up with our rooms but it was all sorted for us. The pool bar was a great area for relaxing alongside the pool. The spa was fab too. All the touches to this hotel made it perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmykay90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Lovely hotel, wonderful location, close to the bus stop, next door -several nice restaurants.
Very kind and attentive staff-do not forget to ask for the bus routes!
Large comfortable rooms, breakfasts hearty and hot! We spent five wonderful days!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14011962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Positive points: rooms are big, beds are comfortable and bathroom equipments are top. ( from pressure of the shower to the top brand bath foam provided) - a plus, no doubt.
Location: very central

To be improved: honestly it would make a lot of a difference to benefit from a nice fresh smell when entering the lobby, there are tons of ambient deodorants with sticks to dig in one could choose from.
I noticed over my two nights stay, the same smell of close, food, indoors that was not pleasant at all.
Breakfast: 18 € per person does not make it tempting.
Check in: I settled my bill in cash and left a credit card deposit as a guarantee on arrival. Then changed my mind and asked to pay in cash when checking out, STILL keeping my card as a guarantee of course. The lady at the reception refused and she insisted in keeping both the cash and the card stating it was not possible to change. In my extensive traveling have never seen anything similar.

Check out on the other side was perfect.

Final suggestions: implement a few adjustments to keep retain all year / low season customers not to let them fall onto the temptation of trying new small boutique hotels appearing like mushrooms in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank loidina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is wonderfully situated near everything in st. Julian. The room was very comfortable as were the beds. Unfortunately there is a fee for wifi which hotels should not do. The pool area was great- very easy to hang out around but the pool is small.
There is an advertised happy hour which does not occur. When the staff was asked about it I was informed that in September there are not enough guests to make it worth while. Fair enough- but then take down the ads from the lifts. The pool bar never seemed to be opened although it was supposed be open every day.
The breakfast was hit or miss. It was not very good for vegetarians although very good for meat eaters. Some of the food was plentiful and some was finished quite quickly. The last day the coffee ran out completely.
Overall- it was pleasant. The rooms were nice and modern and beds are comfortable however the hotel needs to iron out the issues about the pool bar, happy hour and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mogotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitzbuhel, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Got an online deal for 3 nights, very helpful lovely staff, good rooms. Spa was excellent, would recommend to everyone and will definitely stay again. Is excellent location and close to restaurants bars and clubs. Shame I was there for work and on my own

Room Tip: Got an online deal for 3 nights, very helpful lovely staff, good rooms. Spa was excellent, would rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaPetchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hi Anna,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the hotel's spa and excellent location.

Our online deals are always the best way to book The George, well done for taking advantage !!

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,544 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
869 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing