We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with no complaints.”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Arrived late for a weeks Autumn break and was met by a very helpful reception member. Key was quickly given and check in was under 5 mins.
We had booked a courtyard room. Room was big, clean and had fridge. Went out straight away and were given easy directions by helpful concierge.
We used rooftop pool every morning and it is a good size, clean comfortable loungers and great poolside service. Free wifi available here.
Front reception is a very nice place to relax. Lots of big comfy armchairs, free wifi and nice bar area.
Cannot fault the hotel as everything has been faultless and all the staff professional and courteous.
We still have 3 days left and will be sad to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montysadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are glad that you enjoyed all the facilities that the hotel offers in Autumn. Our newly added spa facilities are also a great way to end or your start your day in the hotel.

Enjoy the rest of your stay !!

Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here as wanted to get away for a quick end of Season break at a reasonable price. The overall ambiance of the recepetion, spa and rooftop pool were more than pleasant. All these features were definate plus's. Where the George suffered were the little details.The room finishes were slightly rushed. Our wet room shower always blocked flooding the whole room and you could tell that this had been a consistent problem. Additionally the cleaning left a bit too be desired. We Intentionally left a massive CobWeb above our bed,(Unfortunately it was still there at the end of our week long stay). By the end of our stay it seemed that the room staff simply made the bed and replenished the soap and Shampoos. That said we would definately reccomend this place, Its in a central location,at a good price and the staff were always helpful and personable. Just that little10%extra and would have been a 4.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigDollarRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are glad that you enjoyed the overall experience at The George however also apologise about the issues encountered in your room.

I would appreciate if you could forward your room number when you were staying with us to ma@thegeorgemalta.com so we could rectify the issues reported accordingly.

Thank you and regards,
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Me and my husband stayed four nights in George. The hotel is modern and stylist and the bed was extreme comfortable, however I had a bad experience in this hotel which made me feel the hotel is good at hardware but the service is not.
We made two separate reservations for our stay, first night stayed in the standard room and the rest stayed in the suite as we had late flight on the first night and we didn't want to pay for a suite for only few hours sleep. When we check-in at front desk, we already reminded the receptionist that we made two reservations and we understood room change would require on the second day. However I doubt why the receptionist still asked us to pack our luggages and check-out the first room and then to do the re-check-in again at the reception on the second day. I don't know why the hotel can bother the guest to do two times check-in even they know we stay for 4 consecutive nights. Ok, fine! we followed their instruction anyway. The hotel staff promised me that they would move our luggages to the suite directly once the room is ready so that we could just simply pick up the key when we back to the hotel. However when we return to the suite, luggages were not there and still in their luggage room and we eventually moved back by ourselves.
After we moved to the suite, we realized that we left a little fabric Paul Frank on the bed in the first room after check-out the room, we told the receptionist about this and they said they would need times to check with the housekeeper and would get back to us, however no one update us after two days. We chased for the result on the forth day with the reception again, they said they were still checking and would get back to us.....but I didn't receive any positive or negative feedback until we left the hotel. We are totally disappointed!! There's no other excuse that other person else can take away my Paul Frank except the housekeeper as he/she is the one to clean up our room and she has to make sure to tidy up the bed before the next guest so I don't think she didn't notice about it. We also brought up the point to the receptionist that if there's any possibility the Paul Frank was wrapped with the bed sheet and sent to the laundry or it dropped into the edge of the bed, the receptionist said they needed to check with different housekeepers. I don't know why they need to do it, simply check with the housekeeper on duty on that day and on that floor, not too difficult, right? The hotel staffs were not helpful at all! The little Paul Frank has a special meaning to us and we didn't expect we can't take it back even we 100% sure it was on the bed.

Room Tip: room is quiet on upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HongKongSusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We apologise about this mishap and we can assure you that we have made every effort possible to locate the Paul Frank fabric. I would appreciate if you could contact me on ma@thegeorgemalta.com and help me understand what the fabric actually looks like. If you are sure that you left it in the room, we will ensure that we replace this for you.

Look forward to receiving your feedback.

Thank you,
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very central located modern and clean Urban Boutique Hotel. For more comfort I would advise a courtyard room as the rooms located on the main road can be somewhat noisy because of drunk people passing by.(mostly in summer) Flat screen and iPhone dock with speaker available in all rooms I've stayed in.
The selection of complimentary TV channels I found somewhat limited compared to the other hotels I've stayed in. All staff are very friendly and helpful.
Two disadvantages: For internet in the room there is an extra charge. Internet in the lobby is for free at good download speeds and there is no gym. Only a Spa and a very nice rooftop pool.
As for me, this is one of my preferred hotels in Malta.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are more quiet,but the view is very limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have just returned from 4 night at this hotel. We arrived at the hotel at 13.00 and the room were not ready yet, they told us that the room will be ready after 15.00 so we left our luggage and came back latter.
The location is good, The rooms and furniture in new condition. The stuff is pleasant and professional. The food at breakfast very tasty.
Thank you for great vacation in Malta!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have just returned from 10 night at this hotel pre-booked and paid for.
The hotel is lovely and the staff great too.
Sadly it is incredibly noisy - not just the background noise of traffic outside which you'd expect in this area but doors banging throughout the night, furniture scraping on the tiled floors and inconsiderate Italians who seemed to be attending courses locally.
The general noise we could have coped with (despite having requested a quiet room and been given one on the first floor just above the entrance and the noisy road) but Italians partying in the bedroom corridors late at night and shouting to their friends across the balconies in different rooms on the same floor made sleep impossible.
After the first night, having not slept, we explained the problem and asked if we could move to a quieter room ....possibly they don't have any quieter rooms?????....so the request was ignored. At th end of the week, having suffered continual noise and very little, disrupted sleep we asked reception to put a stop to the late night partying in the corridor. They did this (with poor grace and no apology) but must have mentioned to the people concerned that someone had complained because we then had to endure people banging on the door (and other doors on our corridor) at regular intervals throughout the night - just to make sure we couldn't sleep.
It was a relief to come home for a rest!
If we hadn't pre-paid for the hotel we'd have left after the first night. We told them this when we were leaving and the receptionist was very apologetic and said that they usually have earplugs but had run out and needed to order more.
Need I say anything else??????
It is a nice hotel but there are plenty of other nice hotels locally - I recommend you try one of the others.

Room Tip: There's nothing wrong with the rooms - if you take industrial quality earplugs with you then you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the george last year on our honeymoon and loved it so much we returned again this year with my mother and her partner. Again we had a fantastic 2 weeks. The hotel really is great. The rooms are large and spacious with a plasma tv and comfy super kingsize beds. The spa and pool areas are perfect and well maintained. All the staff are very friendly and professional, it really felt like returning to family. The george really spoils us and we know we wont ever find any where that will compare. We love the george and we will return again. The perfect hotel in such a perfect island.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amandablain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,975 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $96 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing