We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent produce, tastes and 1st class service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 1927

1927
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Alloa, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent produce, tastes and 1st class service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

If going to St. Julians, this restaurant is a must. For around 25 Euro a head (including wine) the produce is 1st class and cooked by a chef who really tastes his food. The use of herbs combined with quality produce is fantastic. The chef knows his stuff and the waiter and his assistant couldn't have been more attentive. You have to wait a little while on your food (this is pointed out on the menu) all this means is "food is fresh". If you can't wait, go to McDonalds.
Well done Restaurant 1927 you put much more expensive places to shame.
Please also try the adjoining bar for reasonable drinks and hospitable service.
Rab and Audrey, Scotland

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AK230959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    154
    39
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good honest, authentic local food at prices that are good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

After a train wreck of a meal at La Dolce Vita the previous night (100 euros for two indifferent courses with only a glass of wine), we played safe with 1927. There we had three enjoyable courses and two bottles of wine...for 70 euros. The food is honest, authentic local fare. The tortellini I had was delicious. The service was friendly and informative and when the kitchen was running behind they dished out tasty, complimentary bruschetta. Recommend.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tpsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

I'm finding it hard to understand why this place is rated so highly. When we were there, the food was no better than good, the service was friendly but a bit amateurish, with dishes being delivered to the wrong table on more than one occasion, and the decor was tired and in need of a refresh (and that includes the seats and tables).

If you want a really nice meal for just a little more, with exceptional service, go round the bay a bit, and just before you come to the Meridien hotel, there's Peperoncino - everything that 1927's not.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, quality food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

On honeymoon we went to 1927 after reviews seen here. We were not disappointed! Amazing food! Cheap and the best meals we had during our 2 week stay (we were so impressed after our 1st meal, we made reservations to return). Both visits were great. Nice relaxed atmosphere. Food cooked to order, free maltese nibbles while you wait on your food. Lovely friendly staff! Highly reccomend 1927 - just book to save disappointment!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amandablain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very Good "Real Food"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Don't be put off by the appearance of 1927 or where it is (just up the road from McDonalds and next to a local Band Club).

We were staying in the Hilton and have walked past this place a number of times without being tempted (what a mistake).

Very good, really honest food. One of the best meals that we have every had in Malta (and we must have had hundreds).

Not only that but the value for money was outstanding. Two courses for three people inc a bottle of wine was just under 60 euro. Unreal.

The only advice I would give is that if you don't book then it is unlikely that you will get a table. All the time we were there they were turning people away.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKsouthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1927 also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to 1927? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing