We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Julian's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Diamond Suites on Malta
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed in the Diamond Suites which is part of the Intercontinental Hotel. The room had a nice view of the hotel gardens in one direction but a view of derelict buildings if you looked the other way. The room was very quiet despite the area where the hotel is situated being very busy especially over the weekends. All the staff at the hotel were very nice and room cleaning service was excellent. The Intercontinental Hotel is massive and can be very busy catering for numerous companies using the conference facilities. The roof top pool is excellent and there is a nice small sandy beach situated at the end of the street. If you are reasonably fit the walk around the coast from St Julians to the ferry at Sliema is an excellent walk.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the garden are quieter and get more sun than the ones overlooking the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Diamond Suites on Malta, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable time at the Diamond Suites on Saint Julian's and we do hope to have an opportunity to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, ON
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at Diamond Suites with another couple and found the room provided almost every thing we needed.

We were given suite 777. This suite had a large living/dining room, 2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, a large balcony that spanned the entire suite and a kitchenette. The kitchen included a small fridge, 4 burner hob, coffee maker, electric kettle, microwave, pots & pans and all the dishes and utinsils. There were TVs in each bedroom and the living room but the english stations were limited to 3 news stations. If you want free internet then go to the 7th floor pub on the first day and get the wifi code because the suites don't provide wifi.

While other people complained about the noise we didn't hear a thing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OshawaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

If you are staying here in one of the two-room apartments for up to four people, be aware that these are all on the street side and overlook the very busy Eden Centre cinema and bowling alley complex. Ours had a wonderful view of the huge blank wall of this building. If you are staying as we were in an apartment assigned to Hapimag members then there is no choice of a garden or inward facing apartment.

We unfortunately arrived late on a Saturday night when the street noise and nightlife crowds were at their worst - or best, possibly depending on your holiday requirements! Despite a warm and welcoming team on the Hotel InterContinental reception desk, it soon became evident that the Diamond Suites operation is completely separate from the hotel. They had no knowledge of the room orientations - ie street or garden side - and any issues had to be taken up with the Diamond Suites rep. She was in fact very helpful but it was surprising to find that all room allocations are controlled from an office in Italy and nothing could be done to move us to a quieter inward-facing room.

As it turned out, the main problem was a faulty set of balcony doors, which did not shut properly. Once this was mainly fixed a couple of days later the street noise was reduced somewhat, but at no time would you want to use the balcony. The room was a good size and well equipped, but if you were a party of four and wanted to sleep on the convertible bed in the living/dining room you would have had a disturbed night with the noise from the fridge.

You have access to all the facilities in the hotel, which are extensive and comprehensive, with a huge swimming pool and sun lounger area on the roof. Inward-facing leafy courtyards provide pleasant green and more peaceful areas and opportunities for outside dining.

But fundamentally if we had wanted an apartment facing a busy street and a balcony facing a huge blank wall we could have found one elsewhere at far lower cost.

Room Tip: The higher up the better, floors 8 or 9, but not higher up the steet, which overlooks the car park e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Diamond Suites on Malta, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We’re sorry to read that you were disappointed with aspects of your recent stay at the Diamond Suites on Malta. Please be advised that as this resort is not managed by Diamond Resorts, we don’t currently have a full-time representative on site, and as such, administration is handled by the closest DRI-managed resort to the property.

We will make every effort to find an alternative apartment if our guests request one, although please be advised that whether we’re able to do so will depend on whether there are any suitable unoccupied apartments available at the time. We’re sorry that it wasn’t possible for us to provide you with alternative accommodation on this occasion.

We try to make as much information as possible available about the resort at the time of booking, and it should have been made clear to you that the resort is located in a lively area and some noise should be expected during your stay, and that some of the apartments are facing a road. We are sorry if for any reason you weren’t advised of this, however.

We regret that you didn’t have a more enjoyable stay on this occasion, but we sincerely hope that you’ll give the Diamond Suites on Malta another try in the future.

Kind regards
Sandrine Hill
Regional Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Diamond suites are part of the Intercontinental hotel situated in the busy nightlife area of Paceville, we loved the buzz of walking through this area in the evening and never felt threatened by the large groups of friendly youths out for a good time. During the day Paceville is a lot quieter and perfectly located to explore, being near the bus stops and taxi ranks. It is also close to the local supermarket. The suites themselves are very well furnished, the beds very comfortable and the kitchens perfectly acceptable,( although there is no oven, there is a four ring stove top which we found suited our needs.) The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and we used them to book two day trips which we found good value and well organized. Guests at Diamond suites are welcome to use the hotels many wonderful facilites, the outdoor pool looked fantastic,but was too cold to use at Easter, we did not use the indoor pool although it looked very pleasant. We had requested a room on a high floor, away from the elevators and this wish was fulfilled perfectly. Our two bed-roomed suite had two bathrooms and a large balcony and the diamond resorts staff had an office where you could borrow books or DVDs at no charge, which was great. We had a fantastic time, Malta has a great climate and an even better history,too much to do in one week so do your research before you come. Must see's are Valletta,Mdina and Gozo

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens, they are much nicer than those overlooking the road. Rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbaines46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Diamond Suites on Malta, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We are very pleased to read your review - thank you for your words of appreciation! It is our goal to ensure that all our guests can spend their time in a relaxing, home-like atmosphere and we hope this is just one of many visits yet to come. We are looking towards the next opportunity to be of service to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

When we arrived at Diamond Suites reception area we thought it was a nice hotel, staff were friendly, but it all changed once we got out of the lift the corridors were dark and dingy it felt like we were walking through a rabbit warren, the room was a nice size but did need updating, towels were hard and worn, pillows on bed were old, we found a cockroach in the wardrobe. We did overlook the garden so it was quiet no noise from the busy road in front of the hotel. We did not use the kitchenette because we eat out every night, if you want a lovely Maltese family run restaurant we would recommend Kandles inside its plastic tablecloths nothing fancy but the food makes up for it and its not expensive, you will find local people eating here so it had a nice atmosphere. Overall the hotel was disappointing but we made the most of it by going out everyday sightseeing, we would not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelqueen1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Diamond Suites on Malta, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We’re really sorry to read that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the Diamond Suites on Malta. The resort is currently undergoing extensive refurbishment, which will bring the accommodation back to the standard which you have every right to expect from a Diamond Resorts property.

We appreciate that holiday resorts located in warmer climates can suffer from the occasional appearance of insects from time to time. We do operate rigorous cleaning as a matter of course, however, and we’d like to reassure you that this is monitored on a regular basis by the resort staff.

We really hope that you’ll choose to return here in future, and we feel sure that if you do return, you’ll appreciate the difference. We hope to see you again!

Regional Resort Manager
Sandrine Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Tha Diamond Suites are in an annex of the Intercontinental Hotel in St Georges Bay. Despite the network of corridors and lifts the apartments do feel like part of the hotel. The hotel itself is impressive and very big. A lovely reception area with very attentive staff, a choice of bars and restaurants within the complex and a beautiful roof top pool with plenty of sunbeds.
The hotel also has a section of the beach dedicated to its clients, although beds and towels are available to the general public at a charge.
The 2 bedroomed apartment was adequate in size with 2 bathrooms, a small kitchenette and dining table - it was plenty of room for the four of us sharing it. There was individual air-conditioning in each room and three doors leading on to a balcony which was also large enough to dine on. Unfortunately this balcony overlooked an interior quadrant of the hotel and never received any direct sun. The quadrant was beautifully landscaped with ponds and foliage, but the waterfall features were quite noisy, although they were switched off at night. The room was cleaned daily with regular changes of towels and linen.
Now for the resort itself. The sandy beach was about 150 -200 metres wide and was at the end of an inlet, so bathing was relatively safe and there was a life guard in attendance. Being part of the Intercontinental clientelle we were able to make use of the "elite" section of the beach with sunbeds and parasols. Beware - if you are in this section, you are not permitted to have your own food and drink.
And now for the down-side. This area of the island is home to at least two language schools for youngsters. Therefore the whole area, especially the bars, is geared up for the late teens age group. This means that the beach gets pretty full as does the water. To the best of my knowledge, the behaviour of the kids is fine, but there are just so many of them and in the evenings the steps and paths became uncomfortably crowded.
It would be wrong of me to go on at length about my personal preferences, but I've never been to such a congested resort. It was great to see the youngsters having so much fun, but I found that the constant noise of screeching tyres, heavy vehicles and motorbikes meant that the beach was not the relaxing experience I was looking for.
The town offers a great selection of restaurants and bars suitable for couples and families. Compared to other Mediterannean countries, eating out was not cheap and spirits measures are certainly not as good as Spain. We did have pleasant meals in "The Avenue" and the "al fresco" restaurant in the hotel. On our last night we went to the Paranga Beach Restaurant (operated by the hotel and booking is necessary). This was disappointing on several levels. Although the restaurant overlooks the bay, with some tables on the beach, service was desperately slow (2 hours before we received our second course - two other tables in our vicinity complained), the food was bland and very expensive and, to top it all, every five minutes there was the screaming coming from the white-knuckle bungee ride across the road. There is no way I could recommend this restaurant.
We enjoyed the open-top bus ride aound the island and the free harbour cruise that comes with each booking. Valetta is such an intersting town - we did the Lascaris War Rooms and found it fascinating. Local buses offer good value at €2.60 for a Day Ticket and the network covers most of the island, although progress can be very slow with the heavy traffic and the drivers being constantly bombarded with queries.
So in summary, if you have a teenage family or if you are a young couple or friends, this resort may be suitable, unfortunately for a middle-aged old f*rt like me wasn't.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Dipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Diamond Suites on Malta, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your review – we’re glad to read that that your accommodation at the Diamond Suites on Malta was to your liking!

We would advise that this resort is very popular with families, especially during the summer holiday period, and we’re sorry for any disruption caused to you by other guests at the resort.

The circumstances you describe at our restaurant are definitely not normal for this resort, and we hope that this hasn’t dissuaded you from returning in the future.

We hope that you’ll choose to return to the Diamond Suites on Malta in the future, and we look forward to being of service to you again.

Regional Resort Manager
Sandrine Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Room was very poor. Dark decor, damaged furniture, missing crockery and an overpowering smell of cigarette smoke. Clearly no smoking ban in Malta. Apartment was over the entrance to the underground car park on the main circuit for the boy racers with the 'sports exhaust'. My special thanks to the blue Impreza advertising the radio station with speakers so loud it vibrates the whole hotel and sets off the car alarms.

No rep on site but a phone call from Diamond Resorts in Italy. Advised to ask reception for a deep clean of the room which they did the next day. Moderated but did not eliminated the smell. Baled out for the last two nights to the Knights in Malta B&B in Naxxar which I can thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Innes J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Suites on Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Suites on Malta

Property: Diamond Suites on Malta
Address: St Georges Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Suites on Malta 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Diamond Suites On Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing