We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for exploring this wonderful Island”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Julian's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Diamond Suites on Malta
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location for exploring this wonderful Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Diamond suites are part of the Intercontinental hotel situated in the busy nightlife area of Paceville, we loved the buzz of walking through this area in the evening and never felt threatened by the large groups of friendly youths out for a good time. During the day Paceville is a lot quieter and perfectly located to explore, being near the bus stops and taxi ranks. It is also close to the local supermarket. The suites themselves are very well furnished, the beds very comfortable and the kitchens perfectly acceptable,( although there is no oven, there is a four ring stove top which we found suited our needs.) The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and we used them to book two day trips which we found good value and well organized. Guests at Diamond suites are welcome to use the hotels many wonderful facilites, the outdoor pool looked fantastic,but was too cold to use at Easter, we did not use the indoor pool although it looked very pleasant. We had requested a room on a high floor, away from the elevators and this wish was fulfilled perfectly. Our two bed-roomed suite had two bathrooms and a large balcony and the diamond resorts staff had an office where you could borrow books or DVDs at no charge, which was great. We had a fantastic time, Malta has a great climate and an even better history,too much to do in one week so do your research before you come. Must see's are Valletta,Mdina and Gozo

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens, they are much nicer than those overlooking the road. Rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbaines46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Diamond Suites on Malta, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We are very pleased to read your review - thank you for your words of appreciation! It is our goal to ensure that all our guests can spend their time in a relaxing, home-like atmosphere and we hope this is just one of many visits yet to come. We are looking towards the next opportunity to be of service to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

When we arrived at Diamond Suites reception area we thought it was a nice hotel, staff were friendly, but it all changed once we got out of the lift the corridors were dark and dingy it felt like we were walking through a rabbit warren, the room was a nice size but did need updating, towels were hard and worn, pillows on bed were old, we found a cockroach in the wardrobe. We did overlook the garden so it was quiet no noise from the busy road in front of the hotel. We did not use the kitchenette because we eat out every night, if you want a lovely Maltese family run restaurant we would recommend Kandles inside its plastic tablecloths nothing fancy but the food makes up for it and its not expensive, you will find local people eating here so it had a nice atmosphere. Overall the hotel was disappointing but we made the most of it by going out everyday sightseeing, we would not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelqueen1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Diamond Suites on Malta, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We’re really sorry to read that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the Diamond Suites on Malta. The resort is currently undergoing extensive refurbishment, which will bring the accommodation back to the standard which you have every right to expect from a Diamond Resorts property.

We appreciate that holiday resorts located in warmer climates can suffer from the occasional appearance of insects from time to time. We do operate rigorous cleaning as a matter of course, however, and we’d like to reassure you that this is monitored on a regular basis by the resort staff.

We really hope that you’ll choose to return here in future, and we feel sure that if you do return, you’ll appreciate the difference. We hope to see you again!

Regional Resort Manager
Sandrine Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

South wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Tha Diamond Suites are in an annex of the Intercontinental Hotel in St Georges Bay. Despite the network of corridors and lifts the apartments do feel like part of the hotel. The hotel itself is impressive and very big. A lovely reception area with very attentive staff, a choice of bars and restaurants within the complex and a beautiful roof top pool with plenty of sunbeds.
The hotel also has a section of the beach dedicated to its clients, although beds and towels are available to the general public at a charge.
The 2 bedroomed apartment was adequate in size with 2 bathrooms, a small kitchenette and dining table - it was plenty of room for the four of us sharing it. There was individual air-conditioning in each room and three doors leading on to a balcony which was also large enough to dine on. Unfortunately this balcony overlooked an interior quadrant of the hotel and never received any direct sun. The quadrant was beautifully landscaped with ponds and foliage, but the waterfall features were quite noisy, although they were switched off at night. The room was cleaned daily with regular changes of towels and linen.
Now for the resort itself. The sandy beach was about 150 -200 metres wide and was at the end of an inlet, so bathing was relatively safe and there was a life guard in attendance. Being part of the Intercontinental clientelle we were able to make use of the "elite" section of the beach with sunbeds and parasols. Beware - if you are in this section, you are not permitted to have your own food and drink.
And now for the down-side. This area of the island is home to at least two language schools for youngsters. Therefore the whole area, especially the bars, is geared up for the late teens age group. This means that the beach gets pretty full as does the water. To the best of my knowledge, the behaviour of the kids is fine, but there are just so many of them and in the evenings the steps and paths became uncomfortably crowded.
It would be wrong of me to go on at length about my personal preferences, but I've never been to such a congested resort. It was great to see the youngsters having so much fun, but I found that the constant noise of screeching tyres, heavy vehicles and motorbikes meant that the beach was not the relaxing experience I was looking for.
The town offers a great selection of restaurants and bars suitable for couples and families. Compared to other Mediterannean countries, eating out was not cheap and spirits measures are certainly not as good as Spain. We did have pleasant meals in "The Avenue" and the "al fresco" restaurant in the hotel. On our last night we went to the Paranga Beach Restaurant (operated by the hotel and booking is necessary). This was disappointing on several levels. Although the restaurant overlooks the bay, with some tables on the beach, service was desperately slow (2 hours before we received our second course - two other tables in our vicinity complained), the food was bland and very expensive and, to top it all, every five minutes there was the screaming coming from the white-knuckle bungee ride across the road. There is no way I could recommend this restaurant.
We enjoyed the open-top bus ride aound the island and the free harbour cruise that comes with each booking. Valetta is such an intersting town - we did the Lascaris War Rooms and found it fascinating. Local buses offer good value at €2.60 for a Day Ticket and the network covers most of the island, although progress can be very slow with the heavy traffic and the drivers being constantly bombarded with queries.
So in summary, if you have a teenage family or if you are a young couple or friends, this resort may be suitable, unfortunately for a middle-aged old f*rt like me wasn't.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Dipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Diamond Suites on Malta, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your review – we’re glad to read that that your accommodation at the Diamond Suites on Malta was to your liking!

We would advise that this resort is very popular with families, especially during the summer holiday period, and we’re sorry for any disruption caused to you by other guests at the resort.

The circumstances you describe at our restaurant are definitely not normal for this resort, and we hope that this hasn’t dissuaded you from returning in the future.

We hope that you’ll choose to return to the Diamond Suites on Malta in the future, and we look forward to being of service to you again.

Regional Resort Manager
Sandrine Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Room was very poor. Dark decor, damaged furniture, missing crockery and an overpowering smell of cigarette smoke. Clearly no smoking ban in Malta. Apartment was over the entrance to the underground car park on the main circuit for the boy racers with the 'sports exhaust'. My special thanks to the blue Impreza advertising the radio station with speakers so loud it vibrates the whole hotel and sets off the car alarms.

No rep on site but a phone call from Diamond Resorts in Italy. Advised to ask reception for a deep clean of the room which they did the next day. Moderated but did not eliminated the smell. Baled out for the last two nights to the Knights in Malta B&B in Naxxar which I can thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Innes J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

We went to the Suites for a week in October before moving on to another resort in Malta.
The good side is that this was better then the second place. Getting to the suites is a little complicated as it is part of the intercontinental hotel and you have to go to the 7th floor along a corridor to another lift and then get to the floor your room is on. Our room was overlooking the garden and was quiet I'm glad we were this side not over the road. There was a musty smell on entering the suite but once in you forgot about it. Apartment clean but dated and looking tired.
The hotel has good facilites and the roof top pool is lovely but can be noisy from traffic overthe weekend. Used the Asian restaurant twice and it was really nice and we got a 20% discount as we were residents.

Other restaurants around were good especially if you went off the main drag a little. Was very close to club land but no noise and wasn't a problem.

The Gym was excellent as well as the indoor pool. I would go back to the place but not in a hurry.

Room Tip: Request rooms with a garden view as quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Huntsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

My wife and I had booked this resort a few years ago and then found out that all Diamond Suites were above the road so we cancelled immediately. This year we wanted to go to malt and had already cancelled booking at Golden Bay for reasons beyond our control and we were a little bit dubious about noise. I had also read on review about musty smells and bad accommodation but wwas prepared to give it a go and I have to say that we have no regrets and would happily stay there again.

We arrived on a Saturday evening at about 8.00pm, check-in was quick and we found our way to the apartment, Suite 778, facing the road. On entering the apartment there was definately a slight musty smell of damp and a dehumidifier running, surprising but not too bad and the apartment was a good size, although not 5 star accommodation.

I opened the door to the balcony, which was actually two double glazed doors and the noise hit me from outside, a good job we had some idea what to expect. The bedroom was actually internal to the main apartment and when the door was closed there was no noise, except from the air conditioning.

We were in need of food and went walkabout and found a fantastic restaurant not far from the top of the steps at 'disco land' - not as bad as it sounds it was just were all the bars were to attract younger people and I have to say that there was no fear walking through here as we did not see any propbelms, the steps are a bit steep though.

Having eaten a good meal we bought some wine and went back to the apartment and sat on the balcony watching the traffic below. It became apparent that all of the vehilces were driven by locals who just appeared to like to show off and make some noise. They would hang back from vehicles ahead then rev hard and drive for about 50meters but could go no further. It would be quite simple to stop this by intalling traffic calming mearures about every 20 meters this would make it quiter for hetel residents but also safer for the many people using the area. It would just need all of the businesses to get together and push the local authority.

Sunday night was similar but the noise from vehicles stopped earlier as the locals had to get up for work next morning. The rest of the week was ok as well so only Saturday is bad.

We didn't hire a car for this holiday but used local busses which were very cheap and frequent. I would also recommend the sight seeing bus tour and the harbour cruise.

The Diamond Suites are in a fantastic location with many good restaurants neraby and I would certainly be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank CPD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburg, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite in the "Diamond Suites on Malta" which are located on certain floors of the InterContinental hotel. I will admit that the rooms are probably 4 star and not 5 star like InterContinental's other rooms, but we had a pleasant experience. Our room consisted of 1 bedroom, 2 bathrooms, living room/dining area, kitchenette, and balcony. There were flat screen TVs in the living room and bedroom. The bathroom attached to the bedroom had a tub/shower combination and the bathroom off of the kitchen had a shower only. There was a set of wardrobes in the bedroom, as well as 2 sets next to the 2nd bathroom. Our room was bright and cheery (room 875) and overlooked some sort of waterfall and coy ponds. The kitchen did not have a dishwasher nor an oven, but did have a small fridge, stove top, microwave, toaster, and the usual dishes/utensils, I also think it had a blender. A bottle of water and carton of milk were given to us (which I found odd) and if you would like, you can call the hotel in advance and have some food supplies (orange juice, bread, butter, jelly, eggs, milk...) awaiting you upon your arrival for €18. We may do that next time.
The hotel is not directly on the beach, but has it's own beach area about half a block to a block away. The staff will bring you drinks here if you'd like. I must note that for American travelers: this is a family beach, but there will most likely be a handful of topless sunbathers. Just a warning in case you do not want your children exposed to that. The same is true of the rooftop pool (which is VERY nice), but the indoor pool obviously doesn't have that problem. on one side of the hotel there is a movie theater (English movies yay) and on the other side is a strip that is lined with bars/lounges/night clubs/strip clubs that are open practically all night. We did not hear any noise from the strip, but we did hear a couple complaining to the front desk about the noise. Across the street is an outdoor mall with shops and restaurants. DO NOT GO TO THE HARD ROCK CAFE ACROSS THE STREET. It was the worst experience I have had at a Hard Rock ever. There are many restaurants within walking distance, including those at Spinola Bay (this hotel is on St. George's Bay and Spinola is very close). There are also several restaurants within the hotel and there is pricey room service.
You do have to pay for internet use, and there is not a hotel airport shuttle, but you can purchase a roundtrip ticket for the malta transfer service at the airport for €14 per person (a cab is €21 each way)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank beeeechbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Suites on Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Suites on Malta

Property: Diamond Suites on Malta
Address: St Georges Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Suites on Malta 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Diamond Suites On Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing