We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you paid for.”
Review of Tropicana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropicana Hotel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You get what you paid for.”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The prices is very cheap for a single apartment. And the location is great. Those are the only good things about this place. There is no free internet, the room wasn't very clean, the bathroom was old and full of ants. Some of my t-shirts were full of holes in the morning, apparently it was a snack for some kind of night creature. The front desk staff are not very helpful, it is like they think they are doing you a favor to let you stay at the hotel. If you have a low standart and want to pay as little as possible, this is a good place for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    91
    96
    45
    47
See reviews for
14
91
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Arrived Malta at late night around 2am, I was planning to book a hostel for saving money because just a few hours stay and would be moving out in the following day. Found this hotel for costing only €15 for a single room with bathroom and breakfast! So I had no hesitate to book it! Actually it's not really bad, the room is very very basic with a tv and air-con (but cannot switch on!)!! The window cannot open as well! luckily it wasnt very hot that night, but I couldn't sleep very well since the bed wasn't comfortable at all and quite dirty.......
Anyway, I got up very early in the next day coz I just wanna leave there ASAP.
P.s. the breakfast is okay...very simple

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennixnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed here for 10 nights. Room was dirty, the hallways were filthy and never vaccumed. The room looked like it had not been cleaned. Dirty toilet and shower door hanging off. The air con kept failing and so was hard to breath in the room. There were groups of young men partying all night in the room next door and messing about in the hallway all night with the fire extinguisher and throwing stuff down the hall. Playing loud music and slamming doors. Knocking on doors. I called reception to complain on the second night this occured and was told it would be sorted. 3 hours later when I heard the fire ext being messed with I called reception again and they never answered! It was a very scary experience as the rooms allowed smoking and these lads were very drunk and could have started a fire for sure.The next day upon checkout I told the manager and the response was 'what do you want us to do,,, chase them down the hallway to catch them' The manager was not helpful and offered no apology. The only positive thing about this hotel was the free breakfast but even then the bread was rubbish and milk was warm, the waiters were miserable and the manager was shouting at his staff infront of guests. Would rather take sleep on the beach than in this hotel again.

Room Tip: no room is worth a penny in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

As you can see in the scores, this hotel is not too bad. Except for one thing, they will cheat you out of your money at every opportunity.

I bought a ticket for the internet in the weekend. Now this ticket was only for 2 euro, but this is about the principle. At mondays, when I wanted to go on the internet, I could do nothing with my ticket since there was another starting screen from a different operator. They told me that they 'changed the system'. Well that's fine I thought, please give me back my money or at least the value that was left in my ticket. This is when the arguing started, with nonsense arguments like the money is with the previous internet operator. If you ran such a business, would you let the internet operator immediately receive the money of tickets you've sold? Of course not, the operator will get the money as soon as the clients have actually used the tickets. And even if this were not the case: it's their mistake, not mine.

Like I said, this is about the principle. I don't care about 2 euro, I do care about not being cheated and treated like dirt. How retarded must one be to cheat over so little money, thereby assuring customers won't return? What will they do if they can cheat you out of substantial amounts of money? This is a no brainer.

And that's also my final conclusion: it's a no brainer!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bart1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I stayed with 2 friends for one week in this hotel. It was very nice, the room was big and clean. Breakfast was simple but good. It is ideal for young people, because it is in the centre of Paceville.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed with a friend 3 days in this hotel and considering the price, we thought it was really really nice !

the room was ok, ovviously nothing special but it's right next to all the nites club so the location was really good.

U need to leave 10 euro deposit to get the remote control for both tv and air conditionig.

breakfast was included: toasts w butter, jams, ham, cheese, fruit juices and cereals!

the restaurant is very big, and very very nice! the food was very good too!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valentina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Unlike other reviews I did not have a problem with noise in this hotel. The rooms were clean, apart from the linen which had a lot of suspicious stains on it. Staff are not very friendly or helpful and will hassle you every time you try to go to your room day or night to make sure you are a guest. I couldnt find a remote for the tv so was unable to change the chanel from static. Wouldnt really bother about breakfast, one choice of ham slices, cheddar cheese slices, cornflakes, bread and water hardly get the day off to a good start, but dont really expect too much more for £17 a night!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#21 of 32 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#22 of 32 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#15 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.1 mi away
Astra Hotel
Astra Hotel
#21 of 28 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Hotel

Property: Tropicana Hotel
Address: Ball Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropicana Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tropicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing