We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places”

Peperoncino Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 318 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Situated in an old town house in St Julian’s, Peperoncino has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.Inside is decorated in a traditional manner with limestone walls and elegant décor, while the outside terrace area offers fantastic views over Balluta Bay.The food is a blend of Maltese, Sicilian and Italian with other international flavours merged, so combinations are both varied and interesting.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best places”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

One of the best restaurants in Malta. Delicious food, amazing and professional service, great atmosphere. They even do my favorite italian Aperitif. I would recommend it to everyone !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amyszen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    276
    78
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rutland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect Peperoncino”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Really lovely restaurant - excellent food, service and ambience. Very reasonable prices too. Highly recommended - what else do you need?!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinkcatsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant experience”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Peperoncino was one of the best restaurants we visited while in Malta. The service and food were genuinely excellent and overall the evening was very enjoyable. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QuantockWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Best Choice in Malta”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We saw on Tripadvisor last week, that Peperoncino is one of TOP Maltese restaurant, and we have to say that it is ABSOLUTELY TRUE!
Foods are fresh, really tasteful, waiters are kind and polite. The hospitality is one of the best we have ever had.
You can choose the fresh fish, what you want. They show them to you before the order.
Everything was amazing from the starters to desserts.
The best choice to have a dinner there.
(We were absolutely satisfied with everything, so we returned there twice)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HakkaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Truly One of the Best Restaurants in Malta......”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Sunday morning I opened the local newspaper on the food section ( my favourite few pages) to find that one of the best food reviewers in Malta went to eat at Peperoncino. His review was very highly of this place , so straight away I persuaded my wife that we have to try it out.
Being that both of us are foodlovers I booked staright away for the next day. Out side they have a lovely terrace which makes you feel cut off from the street.
We were greeted by the manager ( later we found out that his name is igor) who passed us trough a very professional Maltese host and restaurant supervisor (Bernard ) who with a professional flare and with lots of passion for what he does ,sat us down and told us the specials of the day. By this time we were already blown away by the friendliness and welcome that these people offer. For starters I had pasta with fresh tuscan sausage and my wife had fresh local prawns cooked in oriental spices. SIMPLY AMAZING .... for the mains I was suggested to try one of the daily specials the sucking pig that Chef Anton prepares so well and my wife had the fresh local gamberoni... I rarely say this but it was one of the best meals I have ever had . The pig was so nice and tender and my wifes gamberoni was to die for. We were taken on a ride of friendliness , and very dedicated and passionate staff to an extremley fresh and well prepared food. This restaurant have a feel and love for what they do and believe me it really shows. I Highly recommend it to locals and also tourists . Truly one of the best in Malta

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gringoluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peperoncino Restaurant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Peperoncino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing