We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lulu Restaurant

Lulu Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oslo
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Not very impressive. Overcooked food served with an I know best attitude. I guess the low price combined with the delivery deserves a better rating than one but as we had expectations of a nice night out it was ruined. Compared to i.e Zest down the street this place falls very short.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Egil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    733
    232
    56
    26
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The welcome was warming. The attention to our table was good and it was polite. The food was excellent. This restaurant has a set menu, but with different choices for each course, so it is possible to compose ones own combination. The wine that we drank was a local white wine which was very nice. The price level compared to Norwegian prices was very favourable. We paid appr. € 145.-- for a 4 course dinner for 4 people including 4 bottles of wine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pieter-Doyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent prices and courteous staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went there yesterday, quiet evening considering it was a Tuesday evening. The ambience is calming and perhaps the background music is a bit repetitive but the food is to die for. One of our party asked about the ingredients in the prawn risotto due to a condition of hers, the chef, a young lady, came to explain about the ingredients and how they are put together. We were surprised by how well mannered and friendly this young chef was. For main course i recommend the Lamb shanks, juicy and full of flavour. The other main courses looked very well presented too and everyone agreed for a quick return next time round :-) Finally we were given a complimentary aperitif together with the bill, which surprisingly was cheap considering the food, service and location!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rcaruana_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, with fresh and well presented food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Celebrated my birthday with a lovely dinner, made from fresh ingredients, and well balanced. I chose the artichoke risotto for the 1st course and for once a creamy risotto was served and not anything but! Having this ingredient on the menu reflects the chef's attention to fresh and seasonal ingredients and not ingredients coming out of the freezer. The wine list was vast, but disappointed when after choosing the bottle we wanted it was not in stock! This is something that happens often in Maltese restaurants. On the whole the experience was very nice and romantic, the service was good. I would recommend this restaurant to my friends.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DoraMalta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience in the heart of St. Julian's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Visited Lulu's through a recommendation. The restaurant was easy to find, reservation through emails which are promptly answered.
The service excellent.
The food is generally good to very good with a good choice in the menu. The price of food is fixed for the 3 courses.
We had spaghetti with truffle oil as a starter, which was well prepared and the taste was good. As a main we had a rib eye steak which was excellent in taste and cooked medium rare perfectly. The duck too dry and lacked taste. Desserts were good especially the tiramisu. The creme brule had just about too much vanilla in it but was still tasty. Wine is of average price. The decor is modern and tasteful and ambience very de-stressing. Very enjoyable night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Albatross65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lulu Restaurant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Lulu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing