We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of ZEST

ZEST
Ranked #43 of 312 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: For over a decade, Zest has pioneered the Asian fusion culinary concept in Malta. Boasting some of the best Asian and Continental cuisine on our islands, including exquisite sushi made with fresh, local seafood, Zest's menu will take you on an exciting culinary journey. Every plate perfectly balances Eastern and Western influences-even dessert! Get swept off your feet with delectable dishes from Balinese curries, Indonesian noodles, Japanese teppanyaki and Cantonese dim sums to French lamb sous vide with mango salsa and crème brulées of mandarin and fresh chili. At Zest, no attention to detail is spared including the décor and design that elevates one's dining experience from ordinary to extraordinary. Original architectural details and attractive features, including an open wine cellar and a live-cooking sushi bar, are sure to leave a lasting impression. Zest also enjoys the added bonus of an open-air terrace overlooking romantic Spinola Bay, for which reservations are highly advised-only 14 seats are available in this exclusive location. Year after year, Zest has been voted one of the most popular "best ambience" and "best service" restaurants in Malta by its discerning guests. On these award-winning foundations, Zest has also built a reputation for professional, creative and impeccable outside catering. Whether you are throwing a dinner party for friends at home, a lavish wedding reception for hundreds of guests or an inspiring corporate event, our blend of experience, planning and bespoke attention to detail ensures a successful occasion every time. All this begs the question... Whether for an elegant evening out in the heart of Spinola, or a memorable private event, why not add a little Zest?
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

For a very special dinner you have no choose but to choose this restaurant. Food, service, location and atmosphere are amazing. They consider everybody as a VIP, and offer you all that you should desire for a very emotional night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PiruC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    192
    77
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Truly lived up to the high expectations on the recommendation of others. The Asian food we selected was excellent. Service was first class. A truly enjoyable experience. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Reasonable food but nothing special”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The restaurant was recommended and while it has an interesting decor and ambiance we were inside with no view and I found the kerosene smell of the oil burning 'candle' unpleasant. The food was average and I agree with another reviewers comments about the rubber duck roll starter! Would probably not recommend the restaurant but this is because I think we had much better experience with other recommendations. I thought it was expensive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GCR484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Has potential but ultimately failed to deliver.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the better places we ate at in Malta, but our experience of food in Malta has been average, so although I've given it 4* here (as it was by Malta standards) it would be only 3* compared to what I can get in London. First of all, it was expensive, but so us dining out in general in Malta. Our evening started off well with a selection of breads which were served, East meets West style, with some very nice sweet chilli sauce (I think I tasted a drop of rosewater), and delicious, more-ish peanut sauce - doesn't sound like it should work, but my boyfriend and I couldn't stop picking at the paper thin flatbread and smearing it with the peanut sauce/ sweet chilli. The next set of dishes left us happy as well - a very tasty, sweet, peanutty pad thai, and tempura vegetables which weren't 100% perfect, traditional tempura, but was still pretty good. We then had sushi, which was so-so - my boyfirend's vegetarian roll was supposed to have mango in it, but this was missing, and my sushi roll came with smoked salmon, which was not mentioned in the menu otherwise I would not have ordered it. The dessert was the final disappointment - a banana tarte tatin came out with what looked like dry banana chips atop the pastry - we sent this back and they took this off the bill for us. They also gave us two complimentary shots although the ? Limoncello seemed like a very cheap (and nasty) parting gift/ shot if there ever was one!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank giddy2g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
159 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“ZEST - great location, good service, OK food - a bit of a mixed bag!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Zest is the restaurant within the St Juliani Hotel which sits at the end of Spinola Bay in St Julians. As hotel guests we got a 10Euro discount in the restaurant, so it seemed silly not to give it a try; here's how it went....
A very warm welcome was followed by a great table on the balcony overlooking Spinola Bay, a lovely view and environment provided the 'boy racers' have a night off on the road outside. The menu was, as advertised, an East meets West affair, and we chose a selection of both. Service was good, the waiter suggested a good alternative to a wine which they didn't stock, and starters were preceded with a small tasting platter to get the gastronomic juices flowing....not a bad start at all. However, the duck roll starter was a little-odd, as the rolls were pre-made and steamed - unlike any crispy-duck roll that I've ever come across - and positively 'rubbery' (avoiding the obvious Chinese joke at this point). The teppanyaki beef, whilst a good cut of meat, was cooked in the kitchen rather than teppanyaki-style in front of the guest - it could have been cooked in a frying pan for all we knew! That's the down side; the other starter & main was good and both desserts were great - hence my 'mixed bag' comment. Ultimately, however, this is one of the more expensive restaurants in town and therefore I would suggest that a 'mixed bag' probably isn't good enough?
So, overall, a restaurant in a good location (provided you get/book one of the 6 balcony tables - otherwise you could be anywhere on Earth!!), attentive service and a some-what confused, and to be honest, average menu....there are other better, and considerably cheaper, options in St Julians....the TripAdvisor list is a good place to start!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZEST also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to ZEST? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing