We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Al Molo - CLOSED

Al Molo
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Al Molo is Malta’s newest and most celebrated eateries. Passion for food joins these two well-known restaurant brands (Pane E Olio) which have a reputation for providing an unmatched menu of delicious dishes prepared by chef Andrew Pace. Served with sophistication and in chic surroundings Al Molo is located in the picturesque yacht marina. The menu is predominantly fish based, yet we are also renowned for our melée of dishes, with something to suit all palettes – from hearty vegetarian meals to delectable end-of-meal treats. Join us in the experience. You will simply love it. Al Molo, Level -5, Portomaso.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

It was a special occasion and we expected a good meal out of our visit. And so it was! We chose the fish carpaccio and steak tartare for starters. Both were very well done, well presented and had loads of good flavour. The main dish of fish and veal cheeks were also full of flavour and well done. Desert was nothing out of the ordinary but the coffee was good. All in all it was a pleasant Italian dining experience, coupled with excellent service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonHenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    24
    10
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overrated”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were expecting much better from this place. The food (the scraps of it we got on our plates) was bland. The rabbit tasteless, the risotto nearly so. Prices exorbitant. This is the kind of place which gives a bad reputation to Malta as a 'rip off destination'.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AZE1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went there for lunch, and the first thing we said is that we should go again in the evening since portomaso will be evern more amazing. the service was great, the wine choice extensive and the food - the best thing there was! the mille foglie dessert is to die for!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobbiiie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic Setting, shame about the service and the food”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and I (including 13 year old and Grandad) went to Al Molo on 1st January, having been there before the previous summer. I appreciate January is out of season but I was disappointed by the very limited menu (just printed off a computer on A4 paper). The service was very tired and the food just the same. My husband chose a wine from the wine list and instead of the wine coming, the waitress sent the sommelier over who proceeded to tell us all about the wine and why it was good without asking if we needed any help or what we were intending to eat it with. When my husband told him he knew about the wine, the sommelier still seemed reluctant to get it. After opening it, the sommelier sniffed it several times as though there was something wrong with it (there wasn't when we tasted it) before pouring it. My hsuband asked him to suggest something to go with his semi freddo dessert and the sommellier went off to get it. We sat there for sometime whilst my husband's pudding melted onto the plate before he gave up and ate it. When questioned the sommelier said he hadn't been able to find any dessert wine which was suitable so hadn't brought any over. When asked why he hadn't told us this, he just shrugged indifferently!

This is an expensive restaurant which used to be really good (we had prevously ate in there several times) but sadly isn't any longer. If the setting is important but the food isn't, this is the place for you (as long as you don't paying heavily for it).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfd40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal Ghaxaq
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good, great atmosphere”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were lucky to find a table on the side with a nice view of the portomaso marina which was free. The service is five star and the food! oh my gosh the food is excellent! We had antipasto as starter and red mullet and pappardelle as mains, cooked perfect, ordered a bottle of white wine which was perfectly chilled. The dessert was also very good and we were offered mini sweets with our coffee. Well done, this is a very good restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Molo also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing