We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pasta, large portions.”

Ir Rokna Restaurant and Pizzeria
Ranked #21 of 307 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Is it possible to change our price from to Euro 12 to Euro 26 instead of Euro 26? Thank you
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pasta, large portions.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Extensive menu, billed as Malta's oldest pizzeria but plenty of pasta, meat and fish options also.
Wonderful food, massive portion of pasta for main course.
Great wine at good price.
It was very popular and you may need to wait for a table.
Went twice during the week, great food both times.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    295
    92
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great Pizza in St Julian's”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We ate at Ir Rokna three times during our week in St Julian's recently. We had eaten there when we were there 2 years ago, so we were keen to go back.

First visit of the trip was in the afternoon (some other places close in the afternoon, but Ir Rokna seems to stay open right through). We had bruschetta, salad and some wine. Just a snack to tide us over until dinner. Quiet time of day, so it was very peaceful and service quick. Second visit was for dinner, when the restaurant was more bustling and lively. Both had pizza, good. We returned again for a late lunch the day we were leaving, so we had pizza and a pasta and split these between us, and some wine again (we enjoyed the house wine). Good food again. Same girl served as as the first time. Again very quick service and peaceful atmosphere due to the time, which I liked. I guess no-one eats at 3pm in Malta. :) If we're back in Malta (which is likely) we'll be back at Ir Rokna.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesley1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Libya
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place for Pizza & Pasta”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Staff is very nice. Service is Great, Food is Great, Location also Great, and that goes to all - Family, Couples & Solo. one of the best places I ate at in Malta.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ladees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really clean, friendly family run restaurant.”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great value and a large selection of choices, with very friendly, family service. We ate there on a couple of occasions. They also offer menu specials. I ordered the fresh salmon and it was beautiful.In May 2013 fish was priced at 5 Euros for 100grams. My portion was enormous and was 15 Euros, much cheaper than elsewhere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barmouth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good memories”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Been going to Ir Rokna for many years and always get a good meal, also its value for money and the owners and staff alike always make you feel welcome.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ir Rokna Restaurant and Pizzeria also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Ir Rokna Restaurant and Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing