We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average /good hotel, in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Julian's Bay Hotel
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights, during our recent visit in malta, good location, walking distance to major restaurants, and clubs, but far enough not to hear them...
Pool up front the hotel is extra paid, what is stupid, no good beach in the area, strongly recommend rent the car, but be careful, they are driving on the left side, and streets are very narrow.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
There are newer reviews for St. Julian's Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 769 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Customer service is pretty bad, they make you leave the key in reception which I don't like as half the time i went past the desk nobody was on it and anyone could have took a key and ransacked the room.

wifi doesnt work, maid service is beyond terrible. paper thin walls.

Would never return to this dump

Room Tip: AC units are decent
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel was old, but it was what I expected it to be like. The breakfast wasn't that good, but was eatable.. The worse part about my stay was that the room having paper thin walls. I was up for 3-nights having to listen to the couple next door in the "throws of passion" and I was none to happy about it. I complained to the front desk, but they did nothing about it. The hotel is right across the street from the Neptune pool and getting woke up early every morning to the whistles of swim practice after not getting any sleep was kind of rude. But hey, what can ya do about it.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony/sea view, it makes the stay much nicer..
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraVan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Went here in May with my bestfriend.
Have to say , it's a great hotel for some teenagers who go on vacation only for the booze.. But for the adults it's not so great. All the elavators were broke during our 10-days vacation.
We had to shower in ice cold water for 4 days.. Even tough we already complained at the Servicebalie. Our room was ok.. But the beds were AWFULL.. And they really need to adress on their website that "THE PARTYSTREET" of Malta is right around the corner. So if you want to go to bed early.. GOODLUCK!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked 9 nights at this hotel for our stay in Malta thinking that it will be nice and comfortable...We were wrong. This hotel doesn't feel like a hotel at all. Be cautious when selecting a side sea view room as the view of the sea is really limited. The buffet breakfast is not really impressive. They supply some cereals, bread, cheeses and cold meats.The restaurant where breakfast is served has a depressing vibe to it and is not welcoming at all. For the price we have paid to stay here, we are extremely disappointed and feel totally ripped off. There is no safe in the room as well so locking valuables can be a problem, especially when the sliding balcony door in our room could be opened even when it was locked. Very concerning and doesn't allow piece of mind when your are out exploring, The air conditioner in the room is on a motion detector timer which means when your sleeping at night the aircon turns off. Not ideal in the middle of the hottest period in Malta (JUL/AUG). Also we arrived at the hotel to check in at 3pm and our room was still not ready. We waited 45 mins in their lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at St. Julians Bay Hotel in november 2012 - and offcourse now that we were going back we wanted to stay at the same place - since we knew it was remodeled since last year and even breakfast restaurant has been made!
The hotel itself was great when you consider the cost - and we were happy to be greeted by our wellknown friendly receptionist Martin - but other than him - the rest of the staff was not very friendly! All the familiar faces from november had left and Martin mostly worked nights - so, whenever we approched the reception with a problem we were met by very little service. Even by the manager himself!
I think that next time we go to Malta, we will prefer to find a different hotel!
A hotel is more than the rooms and the breakfast buffet - its about the people who works there also!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A while ago, in the middle of June, I moved over to Malta with my fiance. While we were looking for an apartment we had to stay at a number of hotels. This one was by far the worse - not so much for their ammenities, but for the service of the staff. Looking online we managed to find this hotel and find a room that was in a decent price. We headed to the hotel and after a brief discussion with the receptionist, while he pretended to look for a free room on the computer (I was standing right next to him and could see that he was just moving the mouse around, never clicking on typing anything..) he refused to accept the offer that we had seen online and tried to charge us almost double the amount of the offer. Thanking him for this time, we stepped outside, and went online, booked the room online and went back in with a ready booked room.

The receptionist was obviously (?) not pleased and he made sure to show it. Grunting and almost in a reluctant way, he handed us the keys for the room went back to reading his newpaper and we headed up to our hotel room.

When we got up there, the sliding shower door was broken and quite hazardous, especially in combination with the wet water that was leaking everywhere when the shower head ran.

The balcony had a lovely view, but the damaged walls and unsteady railing made the 20-30 meter distance to the road look really dangerous.

We decided to just rest and end the day there and everything went well.

The next day, while checking out, the receptionist, a different one, was informed about what happened the day before, and instead of actually apologizing, they demanded that we never do that again (book online instead of there..) and bid us farewell.

Would never get a room there again, nor would I ever recommend this place to any of my friends and relatives.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#23 of 33 in Saint Julian's
981 reviews
0.7 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#22 of 33 in Saint Julian's
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#11 of 28 in Sliema
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#19 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#17 of 33 in Saint Julian's
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Julian's Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Julian's Bay Hotel

Address: 48 Main Street | St Julians, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ1017, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $31 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Julian's Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Julians Bay Hotel Malta is a modern three star hotel fantastically situated on the seafront of St Julians Promenade, a short distance to the popular night spot Paceville as well as a short walk to Sliema Centre. The hotel has 85 rooms including 15 seafront balcony rooms with exquisite sea views. All rooms have a private bathroom or shower, finished in a modern style and to high standards. The hotel is complimented by a lovely lounge with an internet cafe and free WIFI is offered throughout the hotel. Guest rooms at St Julian's Bay Hotel, are individually decorated in soft colour tones with complementing soft furnishings and artwork. Elegant in style, with modern wood furnishings, rooms at St Julians Bay Hotel are airy, comfortable and functional with single, twin or double beds, large work area and desk. You will find quality features in all rooms including free WIFI, TV with satellite, room safe as well as air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Julian's Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julians Bay Hotel
St. Julian's Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing