We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expect what you paid for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Julian's Bay Hotel
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Expect what you paid for!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from Monday 4th until Friday 8th February and I really have no complaints. I paid £68.00 for 4 nights and got exactly what I paid for. I have listed some key points below.

1. Rooms basic but not unclean.
2. Room cleaned everyday and fresh towels daily.
3. Sea front location (5min walk to pubs and clubs)
4. Reception and staff friendly.

I wouldn't suggest staying here for a honeymoon or anniversary but if you are looking for somewhere to put your head down and relax that doesn't cost the world this is the place! I would stay at this hotel again.

Enjoy your travel folks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    156
    221
    128
    157
See reviews for
68
285
58
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have just got back from a seven day stay at the St. Julian Bay Hotel. 5th - 12th Feb 2013. We found the hotel exactly what we expected nice sea view balcony, room cleaned every day so no complaints. However what spoiled it was the apology to a breakfast provided in the grubby restaurant at the front of the hotel. A coffee machine that worked occasionally, when there were cups! Cooked meats kept in a fridge that required extensive cleaning. Really, the management of the hotel need to look at this arrangement and appreciate how it pulls the quality of the hotel down.

As for location we found it good for the buses, buy the 12 euro seven day pass which is great value to get about the island. disappointed there were no small shops to buy Papers, fags etc. that we could find. Try Cafe Ole round the corner for a snack and coffee. City of London pub is good for a pint.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHM_Management, Manager at St. Julian's Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your review.. We are sorry that the breakfast was not up to satisfaction, in fact we have reacted on recent comments and have now opened our very own new breakfast room serving a selection of warm and cold foods. Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazz101Kazz101
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Beautiful bouique hotel, friendly staff, very clean. We stayed in a sea view with balcony it was so lovely just to sit and watch the world go by .breakfast was buffet style and really tasty. Local bus can take you to city centre . Will most certainly stay here again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kazz101Kazz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I just got back last night from this hotel, I booked then read the reviews was very worried what I was letting myself in for. When I arrived the staff was friendly the place was very clean, room was clean view was amazing in room 202, cant complain bath room was small but clean. was cheap, clean and friendly what more could you want.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beagle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cahors, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

The wrong order is to book first and then read the reviews, which I did. So after all the horror stories hereunder my wife and I reluctantly started our seven day journey to (what we were made to believe) the darkest corner of hell. We had booked a front seaview room with balcony and after checking in with the very friendly Martin, blessed with a good sense of humour, were sent to room 303. Pleasantly surprised we found the room exactly like the ones in the pictures on the website, in spite of what is mentioned by other reviewers. Apart from a few minor things like a small shower and little toilet space we were happy with the reasonably large room with a beautiful view over the bay. Being on Main Street you can of course expect noise from the traffic below, but it didn't keep us from sleeping well. The room was cleaned every day, fresh towels provided. So, no problems at all? Not really. The breakfast served nextdoor is minimal, but hey, what do you expect for € 3.50? We were told that a breakfast room is being prepared in the hotel itself. Overall we found the price/quality very good and can't see any reason to tell anyone to avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Front seaview and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Henny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamrun, Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

It was our first time in the St. Julian.s bay hotel and we're looking forward to go again as its cheap but the hotel and the rooms are very clean, the view from our room was amazing and it.s very easy if you want to go and eat somewhere as there.s different types of restaurants near, pubs for some drinks and even a promenade for a long walk .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielaMallia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

This perfect located hotel still have things to learn especially when it comes to maintaining the rooms. They were beautiful but worn down, the cleaning was al right when we arrived but during our stay it did not really met my standards.

Do not, never ever, eat the breakfast buffe! It's a joke consisting of cheap jam, toast bread without a toaster, rocket ghat eggs and an instant coffe machine. If you'd like English breakfast there is a restaurant just outside that serves it.

However the staff is lovely and we were wery well treated here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.7 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#22 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#21 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#15 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Julian's Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Julian's Bay Hotel

Property: St. Julian's Bay Hotel
Address: 48 Main Street | St Julians, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ1017, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Julian's Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Julians Bay Hotel Malta is a modern three star hotel fantastically situated on the seafront of St Julians Promenade, a short distance to the popular night spot Paceville as well as a short walk to Sliema Centre. The hotel has 85 rooms including 15 seafront balcony rooms with exquisite sea views. All rooms have a private bathroom or shower, finished in a modern style and to high standards. The hotel is complimented by a lovely lounge with an internet cafe and free WIFI is offered throughout the hotel. Guest rooms at St Julian's Bay Hotel, are individually decorated in soft colour tones with complementing soft furnishings and artwork. Elegant in style, with modern wood furnishings, rooms at St Julians Bay Hotel are airy, comfortable and functional with single, twin or double beds, large work area and desk. You will find quality features in all rooms including free WIFI, TV with satellite, room safe as well as air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Julian's Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julians Bay Hotel
St. Julian's Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing