We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise and Delight”
Review of Wigi's Kitchen

Wigi's Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A little family run restaurant named after Louis, set in the heart of the popular Balluta Bay, overlooking the water as located just above street level. We offer FRESH ingredients, FRESH fish & FRESH meat steaks offering different ideas & recipes complimenting the daily change of the lunch & dinner menu. The aim is to make one's meal a memorable one every time one dines at Wigi's!
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Surprise and Delight”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Malta and Wigi's was one of the best meals we had while on the island. We stumbled across Wigi's while wandering from St Julian's along the waterfront and were impressed by the friendly staff who provided us with beautiful fresh options that looked like they had just come from the markets. The vibe was a buzzy mix of locals and tourists. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area, and if you aren't I think it is worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,215
    247
    55
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

A bit difficult to find, but when you've finally got there - what a treasure!
Wigi's lies upstairs not far from the waterpolo pool in Balutta Bay. We arrived early and met a very friendly owner who served us a delicious appetizer right away - consisting of calamari and cream. The white wine was perfect, and the risotto with trufle oil and mushrooms was the best food I'd eat in Malta. We ordered tuna and pasta as well, and both exceeded our expectations. Everything for a very reasonable price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sindre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dining Experience”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have just returned from a stay in Saint Julian's and I am happy to share the wonderful experience of dining at Wigi's Kitchen. I had read the reviews and was delighted to find that the restaurant was just minutes away from Le Meridien Hotel where I was staying.
I can recommend the delicious risotto and the fresh fish catch of the day which was cooked to perfection. The owner and his staff were quite charming. Prices were reasonable.
It was certainly an experience we would love to repeat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suegrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb quality... in a lovely atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were a group of 8, and booked after reading other reviews on trip advisor.
and this definately lived up to those reviews.
The food was absolutely delicious, reasonably prices and plentyful.
For starters i has the rabbit ravioli = delicious.
my main was Rib eye steak = deleicious.
The staff were very nice and even gave us a bottle of home made lemoncello on the house.
If i visit Malta again, i would certainly be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank don_ants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
195 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good Small Family Owned”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very pleasant and attentive service with a good location overlooking Buketta Bay.
Although the menu is small the chef obviously only prepares seasonal and fresh ingedients.
We had the calamari starter with a lovely fresh homemade tartar sauce. Potatoes was ecellent with the main courses of fresh Salmon and Stuffed Quail.
The only negative is that the winelist is overpriced especially for the selection of local wines.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JacoCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wigi's Kitchen also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Wigi's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing